We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hostel type room at hotel prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vecchio Hotel Apartments
Ranked #19 of 44 Rethymnon B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“hostel type room at hotel prices”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

this low quality hotel has bad service and no hot water. they only have warm water between 7-9 pm. To get the "free" internet you have to be standing at front desk. A sad breakfast included to round out this disapointing hostel its no hotel The A/C sucks as well I stayed at a downtown Athens hotel for half the price of this place and it was like a 5 star in comparison
KEEP LOOKING you can find better value for your money

Room Tip: dont stay here and u will get a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCAZMOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    25
    6
    6
    0
See reviews for
11
32
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Chose this hotel because it is one of the few in the old town with a pool and a reasonable price. Excellent location right in the middle of everything (but a long walk from the bus station if you have bags - 5 Euro taxi). The hotel is used mainly by travel agencies (seemed to be German), who take the best rooms with balconies, so if you go in high season as an independent traveller, be prepared you will likely get one of the worst rooms. The hotel is smoking througout and some areas smelled stale as a result. Manager George was hospitable and took an interest in guests. Although the rooms were clean enough, they are somewhat dated and bathrooms do not have proper showers, only a handheld hose, which seems odd for a hotel of this standard. Needs an upgrade. Breakfast offered something for everyone.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are useful if you like sitting outside because the common pool area does not have enou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carpediem70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2013

this is a hostel and not a hotel as opposed to it's title.
No wifi on the top floors (I was in room 146), No hot wated in the shower, the A/C took a whole day to start cooling the room.
the look of the place and rooms are nice and compertable and brakefest was good.
50 euro a night, too pricey for what you get.

Room Tip: pick a room on the bottom floor facing the pool. people there where more satisfied then me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crete, Greece
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

If you enjoy wandering narrow streets with shops, cafes and homes, you couldn't ask for a better location than Vecchio Hotel. The rooms are small and tidy, most have a patio or balcony that look over the crisp blue pool in the courtyard. Was nice to wander town then return for a dip in cool water and then sunning on a chaise. Breakfast was nice and light- fruit, boiled eggs, breads, yogurt and a variety of beverages.

The colors, the architecture, the potted plants- it's a romantic, quiet slice of serenity in a hopping city. We will definitely come again!

Room Tip: Most rooms overlook the pool- only a few don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xristine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Super hotel in the centre of Rethymnon just minutes from the fountain and restaurants and cafes. Lovely pool in the courtyard, all rooms/apartments look out over the pool. Very friendly and helpful owner, good breakfast including yoghurt, honey and eggs. We have stayed here twice now and would stay here again. Although it is in the middle of Rethymnon the hotel is quiet and private.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarylDek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Unfortunately, our camera died, we really wanted to take a picture of this hotel. You enter the hotel through a door on a pedestrian only street, just 2 minutes from the Rimondi fountain, and it's like entering the 15th century, with a lovely courtyard with a pool The buildings surrounding the pool are in that style.

The room was large and comfortable, the bed was not great.
The staff at the front desk were very nice. We paid 45E. The breakfast was fairly mediocre (why would anyone in Crete not serve fresh orange juice?).
There was no internet, which seems stupid given that the owner had internet in his office, and by attaching a router, could have easily provided it around the pool.
We had to go around the corner to a cafe and use theirs.
There was no hot water at all at 11:00 at night, and the water was tepid in the morning.
However, given all that we would probably still come back, it's a special place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor by the pool are great. 5 steps and you are in the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.1 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 165 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ideon Hotel
Ideon Hotel
#15 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palazzino di Corina
Palazzino di Corina
#21 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence
0.0 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 165 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vecchio Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vecchio Hotel Apartments

Property: Vecchio Hotel Apartments
Address: 4 odos Daliani, Rethymnon, Crete, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vecchio Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecchio Hotel Apartments Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing