We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faros beach hotel - great quirky hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Faros Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Faros Beach Hotel
Ranked #10 of 42 Rethymnon B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Faros beach hotel - great quirky hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Stay period: 1 night

Exceptionally friendly staff.
The older chap was very friendly and helpful. He insisted on taking my luggage up, I felt too guilty for him to take it up.

Bedroom:
Air conditioning and heating fully functional
The bedroom has the feel of a cabin room and opens onto a small corridor, with an openness that looks into the dining room and overlooks the sea.
Perhaps a little dated, but for the price, you simply cannot go wrong.

Comfortable beds.
Fridge in the room

Balcony/dining area:
Great view of the sea.

Bathroom:
En suite, toiletries provided at teh start of our stay.

Parking:
The owner advised us where to park our for free.

Kichenette:
Shared between all guests.

Internet:
Computer available for guest use.

Hotel absolutely excellent for it's location and very easy going staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
31 Thank TripMember_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    29
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
68
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Just back from a great fortnight in lovely Rethymnon in Crete. Was a little worried before going as I had booked this hotel mainly because it was much cheaper than others within the central location it held, and I could not find much info about it online. I needn't have worried. It was just wonderful.
The location- Faros beach is set right at the harbour and central to everything. Just around the corner is the beautiful Old Town. Go the other way and you can venture to the bars and tavernas that line the beach as far as the eye can see!! Location? You just can't get better.
The Room- This is three star Greek accommodation so be realistic. Small room with a comfortable bed. We had a great balcony that looked down over the harbour. Was great watching all the people come and go. Lovely views out to the sea also. Room was kept spotlessly clean (will get onto that shortly) and new towels/ bedclothes supplied every couple of days. Room was cleaned every day. Room had a fridge (great asset in 40" heat) and a TV (basic channels). Bathroom small, but ample for what was needed. Think decor in room (throughout) required updating, but it is an old building and I know they have plans to address this over the winter. FREE air con.
Hotel Facilities- Again simple, but ample. There is a kitchen available for guests with fridge, cooker, microwave and other basic kitchen essentials. We did not use this as the city had so many great places to eat. There is also a communal seating area here where FREE WiFi is available. Great asset. We were also able to pick it up on our balcony. There is also a roof top terrace which gives amazing panoramic views of Rethymnon. Again this area could be improved by some investment in good sun loungers/chairs/tables etc. However what is there is fine without being luxury. Have to say that bearing in mind the cost of this hotel compared to other similar hotels, and the fact that you have free air con and WiFi, you have to overlook a little outdated furniture. Just a small thing really, but may be important for some.
The Staff- This is what I will remember most about my stay in Faros. I called them the "heart and soul of Faros Beach". Sally, who is English never stops. She goes out of her way to make you feel welcome, and constantly cleans and sorts all problems straight away. She was magnificent. Whatever she is being paid its not enough.
If Sally is the heart then George is the soul!!!!!!! George is a Greek gent who is full of stories about Crete, and has great knowledge of the local area/tavernas. He always has a story and is genuinely dedicated to ensuring you enjoy your stay. Thank you so much to Sally and George for everything. You both were the icing on a very enjoyable Greek cake. Book it already!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
31 Thank goincali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

This small hotel overlooking the old venetian harbour has the best location in Rethymnon. Lovely views of sunrise at front and within walking distance of a long sandy beach. In the old town with narrow streets full of good restaurants and shops. Rooms basic but clean. Sally and George are very nice and helpful. Rooftop terrace and balconies to enjoy the scenery. Went with grown up family and friends. Rooftop terrace not suitable for young children unless supervised. There are narrow spiral stairs or lift available. No hesitation in recommending a room on the front side of this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the hotel get the sun and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
28 Thank ray527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Already during the booking process I fell in love with this little hotel. The pictures, the views, it all called for a nice stay in the hotel. And so it was. The hotel looks exactly like in the pictures, it has a very central location (cant be more central), right next to the Venetian Lighthouse. Faros Hotel also has a terrace where you can enjoy your breakfast (kitchen and computer with internet included) and a rooftop with sunbeds and umbrellas - all providing the amazing views. The room itself was nice&clean and we had a small balcony overlooking the harbour and the beach. Really, I can just recommend this place to you, you wont regret it. Central location, proximity to the beach, amazing views, very friendly staff, good price - it is a very good value for your money overall.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
32 Thank Miss_Julie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

we are regular guests to this small but excellent hotel .
There are no better holy days than to seat summer nights in faros hotel balcony with bottle wine in your table and enjoy the Venetian Harbor activities.
I think this little hotel can compete big chain of hotels in service in cleaning by most old friendliness .

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
35 Thank petrosgalloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.1 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#6 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faros Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros Beach Hotel

Property: Faros Beach Hotel
Address: 88 Eleftheriou Venizelou | Venetian Harbor, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Faros Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the picturesque Venetian harbor of the Old Town of Rethymno, Crete, Faros Beach Hotel features a rooftop terrace with breathtaking views of the harbor and the Aegean Sea beyond. The Hotel enjoys a central location within the Old Town and is ideal for those who wish to explore Rethymno's historic quarter with its narrow streets and traditional tavernas. The hotel offers cosy rooms and suites with private or shared balconies offering panoramic views of the harbor and the Aegean Sea. All units are equipped with air conditioning, a 32-inch HD flat screen TV and a mini fridge. Complimentary Wi-Fi offered throughout the hotel is consistently rated as 'excellent' by our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, TravelUp, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Faros Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faros Beach Hotel Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing