We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly, wonderful, place”
Review of Faros Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Faros Beach Hotel
Ranked #20 of 46 Rethymnon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

An extremely good place in the heart of Rethimnon old town overlooking the old port and lighthouse. There is a breakfast room and lounge with facilities for cooking your own food and large, comfortable, bedrooms. Sally and George who run the hotel speak english very well and are kind and extremely helpful. I spent 7 days there and regretted having to go home.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife just stayed at the Faros beach hotel for 1 night .... perfect location on the harbour front. The building dates back 800 year's we were informed. The owners are a really friendly couple who will help you in any way they can. If you are looking for 5 star this is not for you ... If you want a quaint place in a great location then this IS the place .. Thanks to Sally & George.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
10  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We booked this hotel with some question in our minds. All our hotels on this trip were upscale 3-4 star properties. It looked quaint yet a bit dated on the Internet sites. Wow - we LOVED it. It is quaint, a bit dated and like me - it creaks and groans a bit with it's age.

But it was WONDERFUL. It has true Cretan character that is so hard to find in many modern hotels. It is clean and the location cannot be bested. Right on the harbor. Our room had a quite splendid view. Dramatic sunrises and sunsets. Loved it. Paradise FOUND!

The owners, George and Sally are 2 of the best people you will ever meet. They are always in the lobby for good advice and great conversation, even to the late night hours.

We fell in love with the owners, the hotel and the Cretan people.

The price is very hard to beat for this stay. A real value. Yes, the beds are hard for what we Americans are accustomed to, the shower head a bit leaky, the water may run cool at times but you will love this quaint old Venetian building, you will love the harbor, you will love Rethymno and you will love the food, the atmosphere and the owners!

Thank you for such an enjoyable stay and great conversation!

Room Tip: Harbor view with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank roadgypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was a nice hotel in many ways -- friendly staff with a decent location. The area is very active at night so it is a bit noisy. Also, the beds were like concrete. I am surprised that we were not crippled the next morning! There is no nearby parking if you drive your own car so beware.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaensta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Faros Beach Hotel. A place with plenty of character and very nice owners. There is a great rooftop deck and the location cannot be beaten. It is right on the Venetian harbour. When I entered our room, it did take my breath away a little. Our room overlooked the harbour and we almost could have cast a line out! Walk out the front door and you're in the heart of the old town. A lovely beach is a 10 min walk around the boardwalk. The only slight critique relates to the showerhead - oh, who cares when one can almost fish from their window. Recommended.

Room Tip: A room with a view over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed in Faros Hotel 2 nights. Wonderful experience, hotel is located in the old town. We had very nice walks in the area at night. All the shops, bars, restaurants are literally around the corner. Owners are very helpful and make you feel really welcome.

Hotel features it's own rooftop terrace. Bathroom was a little small, but the location of the hotel compensated this drawback :)

Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank wrc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

George and Sally are fantastic hosts! The hotel has an excellent location and they offer good rooms at a fair price. With the kitchen and dining room area to use, the hotel is almost like a hybrid of hotel and hostel, but without the dorm rooms and mass of young backpackers (that's a good thing!).

**The hotel doesn't advertise it's phenomenal sunrise view! The sun rises early in Rethymno, but if you wake up for it, the roof offers a great sunrise view - over the water and right next to the old lighthouse. George and Sally - tell people about your beautiful sunrise view!! :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank TrentH39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 175 in Rethymnon
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rent Rooms The Sea-Front
Rent Rooms The Sea-Front
#10 of 46 in Rethymnon
83 reviews
1.2 mi away
Filoxenia Beach Hotel
Filoxenia Beach Hotel
#4 of 46 in Rethymnon
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Afroditi Hotel
Afroditi Hotel
#3 of 46 in Rethymnon
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faros Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros Beach Hotel

Address: 88 Eleftheriou Venizelou | Venetian Harbor, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Rethymnon
Price Range: £31 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Faros Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the picturesque Venetian harbor of the Old Town of Rethymno, Crete, Faros Beach Hotel features a rooftop terrace with breathtaking views of the harbor and the Aegean Sea beyond. The Hotel enjoys a central location within the Old Town and is ideal for those who wish to explore Rethymno's historic quarter with its narrow streets and traditional tavernas. The hotel offers cosy rooms and suites with private or shared balconies offering panoramic views of the harbor and the Aegean Sea. All units are equipped with air conditioning, a 32-inch HD flat screen TV and a mini fridge. Complimentary Wi-Fi offered throughout the hotel is consistently rated as 'excellent' by our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Faros Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faros Beach Hotel Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing