We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel I have ever been”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SENTIDO Aegean Pearl
Ranked #8 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The worst hotel I have ever been”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is small, the rooms are very small. The WC are very small, the bathroom is opend and there is no door, it's an open space room.
The team is very rude.
No air conditioner, it's a central air conditioner, so when we wanted to switch to cold they said "sorry you can't". There is no connection between the pictures to the reality. No wifi at the rooms!! Don't waste your time and money.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Tomcohen1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IANNIS K, General Manager at SENTIDO Aegean Pearl, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your opinion with us.
In our hotel description you can inform yourself about the size of the hotel and see photos.
We have 110 rooms and the normal standard rooms are 25 m2 big.
Most of them have an open bathroom integrated in the room, but we also have nice rooms with a separated closed bathroom.
The reception staff does always their utmost to meet the needs and to satisfy our guests, room change upon availability, included.
The period you visit us, at the beginning of the season, the weather was cold in the evenings so as the A/C it is central system, was put on heating.
Moreover, we like to mention that the score of our service in holiday check is 5.7 of 6 and in trip advisor 4.5.

Best regards
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    201
    44
    19
    3
See reviews for
145
396
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Me and my husband stayed at the Sentido Aegean Pearl for two weeks in October and we really had a wonderful and relaxing time! The hotel is fresh-looking and clean, the atmosphere warm and welcoming. All of the staff we came in contact with were very helpful and really nice. We were always met with excellent service and friendly smiles.

Our double room had a poolside view, and was tastefully decorated. We appreciated the open floor plan and the lovely paintings. There was just enough storage space and the beds were comfortable. The shower cubicle was stylish but impractical, since some of the water poured out through the gaps and wetted down the floor by the sink.

The breakfast was to our complete satisfaction, and the prices in the restaurant and bar affordability. At this time of year we felt that the water in the outside pool was a little too cold for our taste, but on the other side there was no problem to get sunbeds.

This vacation fulfilled all our expectations by a broad margin, and we are longing to return.

I would definately recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anci2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

From the moment we arrived at the famous Rethymnon beach promenade we were made very welcome by the fantastic staff at Sentido Aegean Pearl 5*. Only the beach promenade separates our hotel room from the sandy beach with 100 meters to local shops, bars, restaurants, taverns, cafes. Because the hotel is within -just a short- walking distance of the attractions and activities in the heart of the town a great night’s sleep was always had. Luxurious rooms cleaned daily by more lovely staff. Breakfast served in the airy conservatory, continental style but ask for the omelette, the lovely lady is more than happy to oblige (sorry we don't know your name, but you know who you are!) Rethymnon itself is so lovely to stroll around at any time of the day or night, lots of tiny streets to get lost in, but lots of taverns to cool down in! Only regret we have is to not be there for two weeks instead of one.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RonvdG v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Santido Aegean Pearl is indeed a pearl. We spent two weeks there in November 2013. Our room was gorgeous, stylish, modern with a nice view over garden as well as beach and morning sun! The room was very clean - from sheets, floor, bath, everywhere! Roomservice every day. Space enough! The breakfast and dinner was amazing: a large buffet with everything you can imagine! The stuff was very friendly and and what every you asked for, you got it. The poolarea and the beach (10m) was nice, clean, with free towels and sunchairs! Nice gym , Spa and very good massage!
The whole area, with all facilities was very clean all time.
The hotel has a nice atmosphere and is quiet, which was perfect for us!
We actually have nothing bad to say about "the pearl" and we gladly return!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jutta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is by far the best hotel I have ever been too!!!!

We have been for the last 4 consecutive years, and the customer service never sesses to amaze me.

I have travelled all over the world and not one of the hotels I have been too, have even come close to this.

The food is outstanding with a wide range of vairety from all parts of the world. There is always a new delight to sample and it is always prepared and presented to the highest possible standards.

The staff are excellent and cannot do enough for you, from the pool side staff to the senior management constantly greeting customers and ensuring ever request is treated with the upmost importance!

I would highly recomend this hotel for any ages or groups who simply want to be waited on hand and foot and treat like they are the only guest at the hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

12 days at Sentido Agean Pearl from 8th to 20th October proved to be a wonderful relaxing autumnal holiday, arranged through Jet2 Holidays. Jet2 provided the flight, transfers and hotel and the rest was up to us. My husband and I were in desperate need of some rest and relaxation and that is exactly what we got. We could not fault any part of this holiday. All the staff at the Agean Pearl were helpfulness itself - and I definitely mean all the staff with whom we had dealings - the reception, the bar, the chambermaids, and most definitely the restaurant staff, were helpfulness personified. I cannot rate them highly enough.

The food in the restaurant, both breakfast and evening meal was very good indeed. I am not a fan of buffet style eating, but really our experience here had to change my mind somewhat. The food was constantly replenished, temperatures checked and in the evening there was always something freshly cooked at the grill. There was a vast array of food - meat, fish and vegetarian - no-one went uncatered for. Senior management were on hand at both breakfast and evening checking the food and circulating around the tables wishing us "bon appetit" and ensuring that we were happy.

Our room - 907 - was all that we wanted. We were on the second floor in the main building and had a balcony with a side sea view. There were no problems whatsoever with this room. The bed/s (two twins set side by side) were extremely comfortable. Slippers and bath robes and toiletries were provided. There was also a hospitality tray and a fridge. The bathroom, as has already been stated many a time in reviews, was "open plan" somewhat, but not the first time we have experienced this, and really no problem at all - although as a married couple for 43 years, it would have been surprising if there was a problem! The subdued lights that some people had mentioned in previous reviews as being a disturbance to them did not affect us - if you look for a switch you will find one! However, we left the lights on, and they did not disturb us at all or prevent us from sleeping, but were a great help during the night when one had to use the bathroom, and apart from being useful then, we actually found them attractive and to our liking! My husband is now thinking about installing them at home!

The hotel was still busy despite it being end of season - I understand the season ends in mid November - and in the resort of Rethymno itself, shops and attractions were still open and the temperature actually reached 33 degrees C on a couple of days, and never below the late 20's. Perfect and unexpected! The 5 Euro taxi rides into the town were still in operation - it was definitely too far for us to walk - and we used this most days.

There were excursions to be booked if you wished to venture further afield - may I recommend Maria's Travel Agency in the street around the corner from the Sentido - Andrea, in particular, was most helpful and described the trips in detail, giving us leaflets and written information and leaving us to choose in our own time what we would prefer to do. We chose four trips and everything was well organised.

The entire holiday was a superb experience and one we hope to repeat - our first time on a Greek island was one which we shall not forget in a hurry and we can most definitely recommend the Sentido Agean Pearl. This review, of course, is based on our holiday in the late season - and we cannot comment on a holiday in the height of the season in July and August as we have not experienced that, but we doubt that you would be disappointed in any way by this hotel in the "shoulder" seasons.

Room Tip: This is not a high rise hotel and rooms are spread throughout on a low level. We liked our room - 9...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hortenseLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Sentido Aegean Pearl.From the moment we booked in to our departure we can honestly say the staff in every department were outstanding,efficient ,friendly and gave the impression of wanting you to enjoy your stay.We had a lovely room overlooking the sea and everything in the room worked well.We appreciated the added facilities of a DVD,tea making facilities and a music centre.I'm not sure about others comments about the star system but I do know we had absolute value for money.The food was varied and well presented.Drinks in the hotel were reasonable for a hotel of this status but we visited a local Taverna,Mio Gusto,on a couple of occasions for lunch which I would recommend,its about 4 doors down and it was good to get away from the Hotel to do this.The hotel is very well situated and we enjoyed being able to use the beach and the pool,both were very well kept and we enjoyed walking the 35 minutes into Rethymnon daily to browse and to look around the town.Taxis were used on a daily basis to return and we were always charged 5 euros with noone taking advantage.It was very refreshing to have this experience.I would definately not hesitate to book this hotel if I were to return to Rethymnon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JANICE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.0 mi away
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
#13 of 175 in Rethymnon
584 reviews
2.5 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.7 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#11 of 175 in Rethymnon
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
602 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#9 of 175 in Rethymnon
1,066 reviews
3.3 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#10 of 175 in Rethymnon
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Aegean Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Aegean Pearl

Property: SENTIDO Aegean Pearl
Address: Afstralon Polemiston Str 28 | End of Beach Road, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece (Formerly Aegean Pearl)
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#12 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SENTIDO Aegean Pearl 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SENTIDO Aegean Pearl is located on the Greek island Crete and is ideal for beach lovers who want to relax at the beach. The hotel is in the city Tethymnon on the island Crete. Next to the hotel there are many different shops, bars, restaurants and cafes. The beach promenade directly by the hotel, and is ideal for walks. You have got the possibility to take your breakfast at the main restaurant of the SENTIDO Aegean Pearl where a buffet is prepared to each meal. Moreover, you can enjoy your lunch at the snack bar which is directly next to the pool. In the evening you have got the possibility to choose between the buffet or the A la Carte-Restaurant. At the bar you can enjoy the sunset with a tasty drink. Many different watersport activities were offered next to the beach. The SENTIDO Aegean Pearl is in cooperation with the diving school where you can schedule diving lessons. Furthremore, in the evening the hotel offers entertainment shows. The SENTIDO Aegean Pearl offers 4 different types of rooms: Comfort double rooms; Double rooms with private pool; Family suites; Suites with sea view ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your SENTIDO Aegean Pearl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Aegean Pearl Hotel Rethymnon
SENTIDO Aegean Pearl Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing