We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SENTIDO Aegean Pearl
Ranked #7 of 167 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel with great staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is really great, food fantastic with plenty of choice so should accommodate all tastes. The only slight negative was the sunbeds around pool area. Residents from sister hotel were booking loungers that they were not supposed to do as the area was for Pearl Hotel patrons only. This was brought to attention of management who promised to address the situation. This was our first visit to Crete and it won't be our last, great holiday destination.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank On A Roll K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IANNIS K, General Manager at SENTIDO Aegean Pearl, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello from Crete!

Thanks a lot for this excellent review!!
It is always very motivating to read that our efforts are appreciated!
It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again in our SENTIDO Pearl hotels whenever you are ready for another stay on our beautiful island.

Sunny greetings
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    196
    41
    15
    3
See reviews for
141
376
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crete, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

First holiday in Greece came here for wedding & had a really good time
Hotel is beautiful, staff are very helpful & friendly
Food & drink very reasonable, literally across the road from the beach
Spacious open plan rooms (yes including the bathroom) cleaned daily
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff
Certainly come back again

Room Tip: Lower rooms at the back of the hotel have a private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed at the Sentido Aegean Pearl for 2 weeks from the 3rd June 2014. We arrived 2 hours late due to a problem with the flight and was greeted as we departed from the coach by a member of staff to take our suitcases into the hotel. Warmly welcomed by the manager, it was now 1 a.m., who gave us cold towels to help us freshen up. A meal was also made available to us. Baggage taken to our room rather than having to take this ourselves - this was very welcome after a long tiring day.The hotel was fantastic, cannot fault the food and the staff were just un believable, nothing too much trouble. Swimming pool is a bit small for the number of guests but if you could not get around the pool then free sun lounges and parasols were available on the beach. There was never a day when we couldn't get around the pool at some stage. Special mention to the waitresses in the restaurant, the holiday concierge, reception staff who were always very helpful. Must mention Ralph for his guided walk in the countryside and also Alexndria for her guided tour of Rethymnon by night. Booked again for next year. We are a couple in late 50's.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaret Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

As with other reviews the welcome was nicely done. The room was as we expected from the photos and quite funky which we liked. The open plan bathroom was not a problem. They were cleaned very well every day. The service from most of the staff was good but some seemed almost robotic and their smiles forced, however none of them were rude. We were disappointed with the evening meals, they were very similar most nights and the food was only just warm. As with most hotels the drinks were quite expensive. The beach is sandy then pebbles as you go in to the sea, we bought shoes from the local shop which made it easier to get in the sea. Free sun beds & parasols, oh & free safe in room which is a nice touch. The pool is lovely, however lacks sun beds. There are some 100 or so rooms and 30 beds. You can't put you towel on the sun bed before 9am unless you stay on it. If you leave your bed a member of staff puts a card on your bed with the time they found it vacant, it says you have to return in 2 hours or your towels will be removed. I was not happy about this. It felt a little like school! The old town is amazing, it is a maze of alley ways with shops & tavernas. 2.2km is a long walk in the heat bug €5 each way in a taxi but we'll worth it. We also saw some lovely sun sets right across the bay. I don't think we would return but never say never.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room & forget the half board
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynns S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was our first trip to Crete and we didn't realise it was such a large island, there were so many things we could have gone to see and just wish we were there for longer than a week. We visited Gramvousa and Balos, both of which were beautiful!

On arrival at the hotel (about 1am), we were extremely tired as our flight was delayed etc. and we couldn't have asked for a warmer welcome. We were offered cold face towels and juice, the staff were very friendly from the off.

The hotel room was exactly how it was described/pictured, we loved the open plan layout and it was very comfortable. The room and hotel was exceptionally clean, the maids did an excellent job.

Me and my boyfriend were staying on a bed & breakfast basis, there was a good choice of food, however we have both had better from other 4/5* hotels. The staff though were very attentive and helpful. One evening we decided to dine in the restaurant and this was the only fault that we found with the hotel. The food wasn't great in terms of choice, it lacked taste and wasn't that hot. We dined out every other night and had a great experience at the various retaurants in the town and those closer to the hotel.

We would definitely return to the hotel, but only on a bed & breakfast basis, there are so many fantastic restaurants...we were upset not to try more!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aimee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Having read several reviews before choosing this hotel, we were disappointed with our holiday experience there. I have never written a hotel review before but felt that after just returning from holiday at this hotel, I needed to write something , particularly if only to warn non-German guests who go there.Yes, the hotel is modern, stylish, quiet and has reasonably good food, service and rooms. However, the rooms are quite cramped and the open bathroom is a problem, particularly if a parent sharing with teenage children. Also, the hotel was completely overrun with unfriendly, rude Germans when we went with no other British guests that we could see at all (and I have no particular problems with Germans and indeed, have never had any dealings with any before!) As Sentido is a German run hotel chain, we could only assume that this was why they seemed to be getting better service with regard to room allocation, poolside places(we could not get a sun lounger the whole time we went because they just seemed to plonk their towels there from 7.00 am until 6.00 pm most days) and restaurant service(they always seemed to get the best tables in the restaurant. Also, the food was predominantly German with frankfurter sausages and dishes such as pork with cabbage featuring strongly on the menu.The one thing that completely spoiled our holiday, though, was that 1 of our excursions booked through Jet 2 Holidays via their rep there was cancelled at the last minute and we were not informed. As a result, we were left waiting on the road one morning at 8.30 am for a coach that never came and wasted all morning trying to find out what was going on. Turned out they had shoved a piece of paper under our door the day before supposedly informing us of this and we never found this so-called 'message'. When we tried politely to point out that maybe they should have tried to contact us in person, the receptionist shrugged her shoulders at us and made it clear she could not have cared less and as my husband said to me after, they would not have dared to do this with their German guests! Indeed, beware of booking excursions through the Jet 2 rep as when we took this up with her, she openly admitted that their policy is to take your money for the excursion thereby building your expectation that it will go ahead. Yet apparently they then cancel them if the allocated coach is not full enough! We could not believe this, especially as seasoned travellers we have never encountered it anywhere else we have been! Also, having paid £3,000 for a so-called 5 star hotel, we would have expected to receive that sort of service and felt we received nothing of the sort! The other reviews for this hotel are glowing and maybe we were just unlucky. However, if, like us, you only have one hard- saved for foreign holiday a year, look forward to it for months on end and then pay through the nose for it, is it worth risking the negative reviews like ours and taking the risk, which is what we did and (in my case anyway) feel that you have just wasted thousands of pounds? You have been warned!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tess341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IANNIS K, Manager at SENTIDO Aegean Pearl, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for having chosen our hotel as your holiday resort and taking your time to write this review in order to share your opinion with us.
However, we would like to point out the following:

Our hotel rooms are 26 sqm. Our rooms are designed with an open bathroom integrated in the room. However, we also have rooms with closed bathroom. We fulfill our guest’s needs for a closed bathroom, if they request so.

We made the room booking according to your reservation. Bigger rooms like our family maisonette are also available, if our guest has made such a reservation.

We have a very nice balance of nationalities throughout the season. The German speaking (guests from Germany, Austria, Switzerland) aprox. 25 %, Scandinavians 22 %, British 20 %, french speaking 18% and the rest a mix of West Europeans.

We treat all our customers with the same respect and esteem. It doesn’t matter of their nationality or origin.

According to our policy the sun bed reservation at the pools is possible after 09.00, when the pools have been cleaned. We regularly check it by our hotel staff.

In the restaurant we offer an extensive breakfast and dinner buffet with international and Cretan specialties.

Kind regards
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was our first visit to Crete and a Sentido hotel and it did not disappoint. This was a last minute get away and Crete had been recommended by a friend and particularly this area because of the vast cafe's, bars and restaurants. It is about 4km from the harbour which we walked every day along the promenade, but there were plenty of bars and restaurant's along the way. If you can please try the restaurant/cafe directly opposite the tourist information centre by the entry to the new harbour and have one of their Chicken Gyros Pitta's which will cost you 2.50 euro's or 5.00 euro's with a large beer and is a complete lunch! It's a little more pricey the closer you get to the old harbour. The hotel had it's own private beach which was well looked after and kept by their very friendly staff; all you had to do was show your hotel card on the first day and then exchange pleasantries each day. The pool area is very well kept and the beds very comfortable, although the pool temperature was extremely cold and not for the faint hearted like my husband! I understand it is warmer in high season. The rooms and cleanliness of this hotel was supurb and the reason I choose this particular hotel. I was a little perturbed by some of the reviews I saw before we visited about the size of the rooms as they are perfect; yes, they are not the size of a 5 star hotel in Mexico, but they were extremely comfortable and there was plenty of storage space for clothing etc; the bathroom's are a little small but they are wet rooms and all you need for a week or two week holiday (how often do you spend your holiday in a bathroom?). The rain shower and power shower were quite a surprise for Greece and fabulous. The food was very good and plentiful and they caterer for everyone, including the many German, Belgium and France guests, of which there are many. The breakfasts were amazing and I would defy anyone not to find something they liked to eat at this hotel. The thing that made our holiday extra special though was the staff at this hotel; they cannot do enough for you and all they want in return is some friendly banter and some courtesy, which escaped some of the other guests. They are a lovely bunch of people who are there to cater for your every whim. I would particularly like to thank the restaurant and bar staff (both bars), who were quite simply exceptional throughout our stay, so much so that we will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.0 mi away
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
#13 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
2.5 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.7 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#11 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#9 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
3.4 mi away
White Palace El Greco Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Aegean Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Aegean Pearl

Property: SENTIDO Aegean Pearl
Address: Afstralon Polemiston Str 28 | End of Beach Road, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece (Formerly Aegean Pearl)
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#12 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SENTIDO Aegean Pearl 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SENTIDO Aegean Pearl is located on the Greek island Crete and is ideal for beach lovers who want to relax at the beach. The hotel is in the city Tethymnon on the island Crete. Next to the hotel there are many different shops, bars, restaurants and cafes. The beach promenade directly by the hotel, and is ideal for walks. You have got the possibility to take your breakfast at the main restaurant of the SENTIDO Aegean Pearl where a buffet is prepared to each meal. Moreover, you can enjoy your lunch at the snack bar which is directly next to the pool. In the evening you have got the possibility to choose between the buffet or the A la Carte-Restaurant. At the bar you can enjoy the sunset with a tasty drink. Many different watersport activities were offered next to the beach. The SENTIDO Aegean Pearl is in cooperation with the diving school where you can schedule diving lessons. Furthremore, in the evening the hotel offers entertainment shows. The SENTIDO Aegean Pearl offers 4 different types of rooms: Comfort double rooms; Double rooms with private pool; Family suites; Suites with sea view ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SENTIDO Aegean Pearl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Aegean Pearl Hotel Rethymnon
SENTIDO Aegean Pearl Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing