We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a small pearl in the middle of a busy tourist town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bellagio Boutique Hotel
Ranked #18 of 165 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
la rippe
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“a small pearl in the middle of a busy tourist town”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We recently spent 5 nights at the Bellagio Hotel.
It really is a B & B as you can only get breakfast there.
We are a well travelled couple and have stayed all over the world in simple and luxury hotels
But the atmosphere of this place is very special!
The hotel is run by Evi and her mother who are both charming and helpful.
The rooms are clean with all mod cons like an air conditioner.
Ours even had a hammam but we never used it.
The breakfast is taken outside on a small patio and our room was upstairs at the back, where there is only one room.(There are 4 more rooms in the hotel)
It has a small terrace and you look out over Rethymno roof tops and in the morning you can hear the chanting of priests although quite faint in the background.
The breakfast is delicious, home cooked and Evi could not have been more helpful with tips for outings and restaurants.
Try Petite Fleur, within walking distance!(restaurant)
There is a beach nearby, it is fine but the really stunning beaches are 45 minutes drive from Rethymno on the south coast near Plakias.
The only drawback is that the hotel is hard to find, and your car is not allowed in the small street.
there is a parking nearby, Evi will show you, and we asked a taxi to drive us to the hotel (5 euros) as we were tired and no longer wanted to search.

The hotel was a house which belonged to a painter and most of the paintings you see in the hotel were made by him.
The weather was lovely,even at the end of October and we swam in the sea.

We can heartily recommend this small hotel!

Room Tip: At the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ittagub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
125
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed in the bellagio hotel for 3 nights and we loved it. I need to say that the only reason why we didn't rate this property as excellent was only because our room did not have an outdoor window.... We were not expecting to get to the room and the only window that the room had was facing the interior patio where the other guests need to go through to their rooms... so we had to have the curtains closed so there was not a lot of light in the room. Apart from that it was great, Evi and her mother were great and they were always very helpful to provide us with restaurants names and places to go.
The hotel is placed in the old town which is great, the street is quiet but 1 minute away there is all the action and great places to eat and drink. The car park is very close but it is not free. We haven't paid most of the days we were there because nobody was there to pay but I would say that is around 10 euros for a full day.
We were enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaquelGouveia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We arrived in Rethymnon at 9:00 pm via taxi from Heraklion and walked around old town with our bags looking for the right street. When we found the hotel our reaction was WOW. The manager, Evi, was waiting in the lobby. After a quick tour of the hotel we freshened up to go out for dinner. On the way out, Evi offered us a glass of wine and we chatted with her and a couple from England for a while before going out. The restaurants and shops start right outside the front doors so the location was perfect. Breakfast was a spread of pastries, breads, fruit, orange juice, coffee, etc. - way more than we needed. The room was beautiful with a private terrace and hammam. Everything was cleaned perfectly daily. Had a bottle of wine and fruit basket in our room on arrival. After 3 nights, we took an early bus back to Heraklion and had a hard time convincing Evi to not lay out breakfast for us at 6 am but she did get a coffee maker ready for us in our room and packed us enough food to feed a family for a week. The hotel is interesting, beautiful and spotless with very friendly and helpful staff. What more could you possibly want.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Erotika room and the private terrace was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Small family-run hotel, interesting decor, very friendly and helpful staff with excellent English. Free parking is nearby, although market there on Thursday means not available Wednesday night Thursday. 5 minutes away from good restaurants. Excellent breakfast is included.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh99_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

There are not enough nice this to say about the Bellagio. We made our arrangements for out three night stay pretty late into our trip but Evi was wonderful be email in helping us get everything arranged before we arrived. We were going to get there quite late, about 10 p.m., but she said that was fine and she'd stay to get us checked in. We did get to town a little after 10 and had to call her for directions. She gave us great information then walked to the parking lot where we'd parked - the hotel is in the Old Town where there is no vehicular traffic- and helped us carry our luggage to the hotel. She greeted us with wine, cheese and fruit, and we ended up talking for more than 30 min before we even went up to our room - Evi is so personable, friendly and kind! We were in Room 5, a junior suite, which was incredible. Marble everywhere, an in room 'hammam' - turkish bath/steam bath, wonderful comfortable furnishings, and everything top quality and only a few years old. They spared no expense in remodeling the property - every where is beautiful. Breakfast every morning (included) was excellent - Evi and her mom made whatever you'd want and there was more food than you could possible eat We even left with snacks for each day at their insistence! The second night my wife was asking them about recommendations on where to buy table clothes, and, before we know it, all four of us - my wife and I, Evi and her mom are all heading out to two of their favorite non-touristy shops. Evi's mom took my wife's hand and arm and they walked the few blocks to the shop like they were old friends! They spent more than an hour with us looking at items, telling us what was quality and what was not, translating for us, etc. Amazing! We'd heard before this, our first trip to Crete, that the Cretans were especially friendly. Well, Evi and her mom at the Bellagio prove it! We really were treated like their family, not guests. One of the best lodging experiences we've ever had!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maka1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Absolutely perfect - we give it 10 out of 10. Evi and her Mum run a first class hotel and are so kind and helpful - we felt more like friends than guests. The location was ideal - in a quiet street in the old town so there is easy access to the shops selling traditional fare, lovely restaurants and the old port plus nearby beach. If you hire a car the car park is only 200m away and costs about 7 euros per day (note it is closed on market days). The restaurants offer wonderful Cretan food - really delicious and reasonably priced. We visited nearby Chania but were pleased we chose to stay in Rethymnon as it felt more authentic and rustic. Wonderful stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Best to ask before booking as all people like different things. We had no problem with the inside ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Lovely designed hotel with such a friendly landlady Evi, who is very young, yet runs this hotel very professionally with the help of her mother. Their friendliness, kindness, and willingness to make their guest comfortable is really something not found in many places. You will be offered more than you can expect. Evi prepared a fantastic takeaway breakfast for us when we went on an early day trip. The hotel is beautifully decorated and is positioned in a small quiet street. Breakfast is delicious. A bottle of vine and a basket of fruit will wait you in the room upon arrival.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite Gynaika on the second floor, which has its own inner patio, and is very spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmina6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.1 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 165 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 165 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 165 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
4.2 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellagio Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellagio Boutique Hotel

Property: Bellagio Boutique Hotel
Address: 21 Agias Varvaras | Palia Poli, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#12 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#36 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bellagio Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellagio luxury Boutique Hotel is one of the most prestigious hotels in Crete island set on an exquisite location in the down-town of Rethymnon - Crete. It is the fresh and artistic landmark on the old town of Rethymnon (Crete's city of the Culture) and few minute's walk from the Odeon square and the Rimondi fountain. Bellagio Hotel possesses a premier position in travelers preferences for its design the exclusiveness, the romantic elegance and the quality of services . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bellagio Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellagio Boutique Hotel Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing