We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb place & people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Castello

Pension Castello
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rethymnon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pension Castello
Ranked #25 of 42 Rethymnon B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb place & people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights recently. It was absolutely magic. The owner, Yiannis, and his mum were extremely friendly, genuine and warm hosts. Our stay was a much more pleasant and memorable experience than you normally get in a larger hotel. The room was spotless, with decent air con and a lovely, simple breakfast served in the pretty, peaceful courtyard garden. A very special place. We hope to return asap!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WhiteBuffalo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
354 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

This delightful pension has a lovely garden where breakfast is served. Our room had a small balcony overlooking the lemon trees in the courtyard. Janis is a wonderful host who shouted us a glass of wine in the courtyard on our first night there.We wish we could have stayed longer. Janis helped us plan our route to Chania with detours to some tiny villages which we would never have known about. Rooms are very good value.

Room Tip: Rooms above the courtyard have a nice outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

after a a few days in Elounda we transferred to Rethymno and didn't regret it. Such a friendly welcome a quiet haven in the middle of a lively town wth a central position to visit on foot. Always ready to share an idea a place or give tourist info the family were so kind. we may not return to Crete but it would be a must on our list were we to do so.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahdeharte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

I was in Crete for a week and stayed here.
It was central for everything and I really enjoyed the surroundings.
Excellent breakfast in the garden most mornings.
My room was very comfortable with a balcony, which I enjoyed looking out from.
Friendly family place, excellent value and I do intent to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

We spent two weeks here, in this converted 16th Century town house. The rooms were clean pleasant, although we found the beds a bit hard, and had breakfast in the garden every day beneath the lemon trees. The family (Maria, her husband Janis and son Janis) were very friendly and helpful, suggesting good places to eat and interesting places to visit that we not have found ourselves and which were not in the guidebooks. Heartily recommended. Whether you want go to the beach every day (which is close by) or get out and explore in a hire car (there were all sorts staying here, from several countries, families and couples) or just stop off for a couple of days on a tour round the island, Rethymnon is the place I would stay in all of Crete, and this Pension would be my first choice instead.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeyS190742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.0 mi away
Mythos Suites Hotel
Mythos Suites Hotel
#17 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vetera Suites
Vetera Suites
#84 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Byzantine
Hotel Byzantine
#31 of 103 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rent Rooms The Sea-Front
Rent Rooms The Sea-Front
#7 of 42 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Afroditi Hotel
Afroditi Hotel
#2 of 42 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barbara Studios
Barbara Studios
#1 of 42 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Castello

Property: Pension Castello
Address: 10 Karaoli & Dimitriou Square | Old Town Rethymno, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Castello is a 16th century renovated townhouse situated in a quiet location at Karaoli & Dimitriou Square, between the Cathedral and Arcadiou Street, which is the main street of Rethymnon Old Town. •Castello is a family run 8 rooms guesthouse close to all tourist amenities (museums, shops, restaurants, cafes,etc.) And the beach. •Guests can start their day with breakfast in the cafe or in the garden before visiting local attractions. During the day guests can enjoy a drink and light snacks in the guesthouse. •All rooms have a fridge, private bathroom with shower, balcony, air-conditioning, housekeeping, LCD satellite TV, safe, hairdryer, iron and 24 hours hot water. Free Wi-Fi in all installations of Pension Castello. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pension Castello Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing