We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Antica Dimora Suites
Ranked #35 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Have just spent a week at this hotel & wish we had booked for 2, hotel & old town are amazing places. Hotel staff are "out of this world" & can not do enough for you even insisting we had clean towels for the beach & the pool & would not hear of us "making do" using for both. Stella & her crew were so friendly & helpful & the maid never stopped, this was cleanest place we have ever stayed in & location was perfect for everything. We had room at the front with balcony overlooking the quaint alleyway which was so atmospheric. I would avoid the very pushy sea food restaurants in the harbour. The best restaurant we found was Castlevecchio (up near the Fort) 1st class & To Pigadi (Stella will give directions). Went down to Elounda for 2nd week & stayed at hotel listed in "best hotels in the world" but give me Antica Dimora any day unless you are specifically looking for a pool/beach holiday. Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Loved our room at the front overlooking the alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gwen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    10
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
74
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel is a little gem, Stella the lady who runs it is fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, she'd almost force you to take food from the breakfast buffet for your lunch!

The room was stayed in was absolutely beautiful, a great mix of old architecture and modern fittings e.g. epic shower.

Some people have written that the pool is small, it is but this is a small hotel. We always managed to get around and in the pool and it was a great little suntrap.

The town itself was a real surprise, much nicer than I expected - old and interesting, lots of amazing food and the beach is good too.

You'll enjoy yourself here!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamTay-Loc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We came across this hotel though a thorough google search. On arrival we were impressed with its wonderful location on a quiet side street in the centre of the old town. The hotel staff were welcoming and swift in giving us our room and offering refreshments. Although the hotel has no parking the staff gave us plenty of alternatives so this wasn't an issue. The room was a perfect size with shower and toilet and view of the pool. The hotel was quiet especially if you're looking to steer clear of screaming children. The breakfast was plentiful and each day they offered to let us take cakes and treats from the breakfast bar for our day trips. Reasonably priced, rooms cleaned daily, lovely pool, right in the historic centre, i would say this hotel is just perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed here for a week with my husband and although there had been a mix up with the room, the staff went all out to ensure that we had the best possible stay. The hotel is geared towards offering travellers a personal service and the staff are some of the best I have come across despite travelling extensively, going out of their way to please you wherever possible. It felt so comfortable and homely, that you can instantly relax. The property has been renovated sensitively and is charming. The rooms are decorated beautifully and each offer something a little different however I would say that as these were categorised as junior suites, I expected a sitting area but that said they were so characterful.

It was all the little things - if the staff knew you were going to your room, they would offer to bring coffees up, offer iced teas if at the pool and suggested taking breakfast items away if you were going out for the day. I cannot commend the staff enough and its these little touches that make somewhere worth revisiting. And, for a nice change it wasnt about making as much money out of holidaymakers as possible, just about being hospitable.

The hotel itself is in the centre of the old town right next to all the shops, bars and cafes as well as within easy reach of the fort and venetian harbour. Rethymnon old town has alot of charisma and its great just to walk around exploring all of the little alleys as we always found something new every day.

Breakfast was lovely and including hot items such as eggs, bacon and sausages as well as a great selection of breads, pastries, amazing greek yoghurt, fresh fruit, cold meat, cheeses etc although I would have liked the eggs a little hotter but only a minor issue. This hotel is for the independent holidaymaker as there is no on site presence after 10pm but they are more than happy for you to help yourself to glasses, ice etc.

The only downside was that the air conditioning is temperature controlled which kind of defeats the purpose as I like the room to be very cool at night and had to sleep with the door open, resulting in umpteen bites and the rooms with baths could do with shower screens but again these are just personal preferences.

We had a room overlooking the pool which was really nice and we had the pool area to ourselves most days as people are generally there to sightsee and may only spend an hour or two relaxing. We went on the local bus to Chania but to be honest as it was our first time in Rethmynon, we preferred to spend most of our time there. The fort is a lovely walk and the Rimondi fountain is a stones throw away.

We ate at some great restaurants including Taverna Larenza which serves amazing stifado (beef) and steaks and Alana restaurant which has a really pretty outdoor garden restaurant and the food was good. Also good was the Melody Garden restaurant (a visit to meet Costas and drink raki with him is worth it) as was the home made garlic bread and tzatsiki. We ate here twice and also had snacks at CuldeSac which was value for money and served great cocktails and burgers.

A little local cafe called noataeia which is en route from the hotel to the rimondi fountain did the most amazing chicken fillet gyros and at 2.5 euros was good value and the home made chips were fab too (the tiny cafe itself is next to gelato.it but has a seating area before you come to the main restaurants before culdesac).

So many really good places to eat, we just didnt have time to fit it all in. PS if you are heading down from the Fort, a little taverna called Katerina's is worth stopping to have a drink. Katerina is so grateful for your custom and goes out of her way to make you welcome and she has the sweetest little old dog.

I cant speak for Crete overall but the people in Rethymnon were the friendliest people ever and I like that cafes and restaurants always offer little drinks on the house (either ouzo, wine or raki), snacks including apple, nuts, crisps or biscuits and complimentary desserts which is just so hospitable.



If you like crumbly old towns with lots of character and history and staying in really nice hotels, then this is definitely worth a go.

Room Tip: If you prefer a quieter room, as for a room at the back. Worth having a balcony as it was pleasant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lynncarr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi Ligure, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

A treasure in the heart of the historic center. I stayed there one week with my boyfriend during last summer. Beautiful suite with pool view, with every comfort.There are a few suites and it is this which makes it a great place, for example, the pool is never crowded, same thing goes for the breakfast (very good).The staff was friendly and always helpful, always ready to give good advice.
It's the perfect place for those who want to spend time with his/her partner, a romantic and pleasant holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elena r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wettingen, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Was really an amazing stay!
The room is so beautiful and clean and the people working there are always so kind! You really feel at home, but also treated as King!
The position of the hotel is in the center of the city and not too far from the sea.
The breakfast is really excellent with a lot of Greek food too. I would love to go back again.


Laura

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiancaLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is very well appointed but I have reservations!
The pool is very small and there are not enough sunbeds and it is difficult to get them all in the sun when it moves.
The wifi kept going down..
We didn't like the receptionist trying to get us to eat at breakfast. We are normally friendly but like breakfast in peace!.
There is not a receptionist after the early evening so if you have a problem you must phone another hotel and they will come down.
Our room was ok, very tight round the bed, but some are very small and dark.
The receptionist smokes at the door and sometime the whole place smells of smoke.

The good is they are very friendly.
It is in a lovely part of a lovely town.
The breakfast is nice.

We wouldn't go back but probably just us!

Room Tip: If you want either a bath or shower you need to request this
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence
0.1 mi away
Mythos Suites Hotel
Mythos Suites Hotel
#7 of 175 in Rethymnon
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leo
Hotel Leo
#45 of 175 in Rethymnon
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 175 in Rethymnon
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Dimora Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Dimora Suites

Property: Antica Dimora Suites
Address: 2 Agias Varvaras, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#22 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Dimora Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antica Dimora Suites is a memorial building that was built in the 19th century, and whose owner was a Turkish wealthy man but, afterwards Iosif Chobitis became its owner. This building has been reconstructed, but has still the architectional style of the ancient years and thus, offers the 21st century's luxury, located in the heart of the Venetian town of Rethymno. There, valuable decisions were made regarding the liberty of Crete. Within 100-200 meters, visitors can see "Krini Rimondi", the Municipality garden, the picturesque Venetian harbor, as well as the sandy beach of Rethymno.. Antica Dimora Suites combines luxury, calmness and the echo of the history of Rethymno in the narrow streets and the traditional buildings of the old town. Services Room service, Baby-sitting (needed to be told in advance and with extra charge), Baby-cots, Special chairs for children to the restaurant, Laundry service and ironing (with extra charge), Turkish Hamam (with extra charge), Daily housekeeping, Medical service (hotel visits in charge), Sending and picking mail, Transferring bus (with extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Antica Dimora Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Dimora Suites Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing