We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“easy to manage”
Review of St. Anthony Gorge

St. Anthony Gorge
Ranked #4 of 78 things to do in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Winchester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“easy to manage”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Very easy walking if you cant manage the Samaria. Very strange little church within the gorge and beautiful waterfalls.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank ya297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    78
    11
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“St Anthony Gorge”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We couldn't get on an organised tour, so asked at the taxi rank outside the hotel! Best option out of the two! It was cheaper (the taxi driver waited for us to do the walk), we got there 3 hours before any of the buses and had done the walk before any other tourist came! If we had thought ahead we would have hired a car and taken ourselves.

It's hard work in places and we did end up scrambling up rocks on all fours! Ensure you have water, suitable footwear and insect repellent (lots of gnats!).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank cazz-1416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great hike”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

It's quite hard going in places, relaxed in others. Lots of sites from shrines to mountain goats and some great views along the way. Remember to take water as the gorge is quiet and you don't see many people on route

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Duke88190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peace”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Fantastic walk, if you like to walk in the mountains. Green, with little streams, you find peace in the nature and you are uplifted in the end of your walk. There is also a wonderful restaurant, just before entering the gorge

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania Town, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We went there by curiosity and what a surpise, the litle church a holy and pius place in the wilderness. The taverna which is situated at the entrance of the gorge is highly recomended. It is busy but its worht the waiting. The food is good and the prices very reasonable. I will go back with first opportunity.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank 66Nicolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Anthony Gorge also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to St. Anthony Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing