We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barbara Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barbara Studios
Ranked #1 of 42 Rethymnon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wallsend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Wonderful stay. Friendly owners, great location, and a building and room with character right in the middle of old town. I look forward to returning to Rethymno and Barbara Studios in the future! Really handy for the bus station, the fort, the old town, and the harbour. Comfy bed, clean and spacious room with character and a balcony overlooking the rooftops to the sea. (We stayed in one of the loft apartments).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank DrBenito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    39
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
209
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Great apartments situated at the Old Town of Rethymnon!
Great location and highly recommended!
Very helpful service from Panos & Iro.
Super clean rooms ideal for everyone that wants to visit the beautiful old town or Rethymnon!
We loved it and we will be back ! bravo!!!

Green Features: another GEM in the old city ! beautiful historic building !
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crete4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

It's like coming home with warm welcome by the owners. We received a detailed map of best restaurants, tavernas etc. Good location in old town. Just a short walk from Fortezza and Venetian harbor. The owners are always eager to give any advice you need.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Max T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodz Province, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Wonderful place to stay in Rethymno in the heart of the old town. It is also easy walking distance to the beach and the new town. Beautiful relaxing place with very friendly owners.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Québec,Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have stayed only one night, so we didn't have time enough to enjoy all of the place. However, we have been welcomed by Iro, Barbara's daughter, who was so kind to bring us a cold beer as we told her we were tired and thirsty after many hours on the road. She also gave us a map with many suggestions of restaurants. Wow for the sweets in the refrigerator and other things like juice, coffee and even raki ! We appreciated the location in the old town : just a few minutes from the sea, the places to visit and excellent restaurants to enjoy the sunset. It was the 1st and only place we found a recycling bin outside our room, (stayed in 11 different places in greek islands).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Marie-Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agios Nikolaos, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Very friendly staff, clean rooms and perfect location in the old town, yet in a quiet neighbourhood. Great experience of cretan hospitality and cretan
spirit. Totally reccommendable to anyone who wants to experience the real character of this island.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ansanastasiaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Fantastic experience! Great location in town, very close to the harbor and everything in Old Town. The owners are super friendly and provided a map of town with suggestions. The local knowledge was very helpful. Nice rooms, nice people. Everything I could hope for.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.1 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
37.4 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.6 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbara Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbara Studios

Property: Barbara Studios
Address: 14 Dambergi Str, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Barbara Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family house welcoming travelers from all over the world, respecting the meaning of the Greek word philoxenia.Guests can relax in our studios, in some of them, make their own meal, accompanied with raki, orange juice, bearing in mind that everything that they need to visit is less than 5 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Barbara Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbara Studios Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing