We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Fortezza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fortezza Hotel
Ranked #31 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We are a party of 7 and had a family holiday at the Hotel Fortezza in Reythymnon. The hotel staff were excellent: friendly, helpful and veryaccommodating. In particular, Chryssa was extremely helpful when my daughter's asthma was threatening to become more serious, and she advised us exactly what to do and where to go should it become worse during the night. Fantastic service! The rooms are clean and comfortable, and we had a lovely balcony with a view of the pool. The hotel is right in the heart of hte old town, so all the local tavernas and bars are within very easy reach, and the beach is only a 10 minute walk away. This was a lovely family holiday, and the Fortezza iis in the perfect location for those that want a beach holiday in the historical heart of a beatiful old town. Great.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amanda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Nothing but praise for this so well positioned hotel in the heart of the old town. Its rare to pick a hotel that delivers everything but I am so pleased that I picked this one. First time in Crete so wasn't so sure on what area to go to, but Rethymnon was a great choice. The hotel has been done up nicely and is modern and clean throughout. The breakfast is continental with a good choice although the fruit juices are watery and flavourless as many reviewers have said. The shower screen is too small and water coats the floor during a shower. Also no shelves to put things on in the bathroom. Apart from that, the a/c was cold and the fridge was fine and not noisy. Our room 313 was top floor and overlooked the pool patio rather than the road. If you want a pool/patio view, then go for 111-115,211-215 or 311-315. All these have terraces with table and chairs. The barman , Babis , is friendly and efficient as are all the staff we encountered. There is a supermarket right opposite the hotel entrance for getting water and bits and bobs.. The pizzeria next to the hotel served us a fabulous pizza and beers ,Sunday at 1.30 am on the night of our arrival. We were starving after the journey and it was served by lovely friendly people . The night porter deserves a mention in the hotel. So friendly, helpful and polite. Nice change! Would definitely recommend this hotel for the position, huge restaurant choice nearby and the great night time buzz of the area. Found the prices good value all over for food and drink.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TorremolinosC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We arrived into Chania and booked a transfer through resorthoppa (€70 return for two). It took around 2 hrs to get there but if you take a taxi (€70 one way) it takes an hour. Rethymnon is a charming town with lots of old windy streets with Venetian architecture. The beach is a 15 minute walk from the hotel and is sandy & gorgeous, beds & umbrella is €10 a day to rent. Food and drink is very reasonable with a massive choice of good quality restaurants, no neon flashing lights, no discos, but lots of outside cool cafes & small pubs in open air garden courtyards. I have visited many Islands in Greece but have to say that the people in Crete are the friendliest, funniest & kindest people I have met so far. The hotel is perfectly placed beside the old fort and on the perimiter of the old town which means it is quiet in the evening. Everything is spotless, and looks newly refurbished. We booked through expedia but could have gotten the same deal
booking directly with the hotel. You need to request a pool view, we didn't, presuming the superior room did have one, it doesn't, superior means it has a balcony. Thankfully the lovely manager changed us immediately. Breakfast is a banquet, with pastries, cereal, toast, fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, sausages, salad, tzatziki, cheese, honey. Every room has a fridge & air conditioning which is mercifully easy to use and blissfully quiet. Don't expect a double bed, it is always 2 singles pushed together. The only negative was a smell from the drain in the bathroom, but we just kept the bathroom door closed. The majority of people staying in the hotel are Dutch, we were the only Irish people there. We would absolutely stay again it was super. l

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Small family run hotel that I would happily recommend and return to. Small pool area but more than adequate for residents. Very friendly staff and special mention to bar man Babis and waitress Maria..... Had some great chats with Babis and met his family which was special.
Great hotel to stay in, modern rooms and very clean.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Holidays059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

From the minute we arrived to the minute we left,we thoroughly enjoyed the hotel fortessa. Friendly staff and calm relaxing atmosphere. Beds are comfy, quiet fridge and air con, pool side view a bonus. (ask for one).
Will be back

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Excellent! Everything was spot on - this hotel is very well run with exceptionally efficient, pleasant staff. The pool area is very attractive, and the public areas within the hotel are spacious and very well appointed. The breakfast room was immaculate, and the breakfast fresh and plentiful.

The hotel was in the Old Town - 10 minutes walk to The Old Fort (well worth a visit) and minutes from the beautiful, quiet lanes of the Old Town. The beach was about 15 minutes walk.

Would highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Superior rooms and suites (back of the hotel) overlook the very pretty pool area and are quiet. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatefromInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times and each time it gets better and better. This time we were three pairs of adults and as we knew the hotel we had some wishes for our stay. I wrote to the hotel and shortly after I had a response from the hotel manager. They would make sure that it was such and it was so. So with location, facilities and the perfect service, this hotel must be the best in town. We / I can only recommend this hotel warmly.

Room Tip: the previously free parking on the opposite side of the hotel is now for pay, say on arrival you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ole_Millarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence
0.2 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#6 of 175 in Rethymnon
612 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Achillion Palace
Achillion Palace
#43 of 175 in Rethymnon
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzino di Corina
Palazzino di Corina
#23 of 175 in Rethymnon
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#4 of 175 in Rethymnon
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortezza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortezza Hotel

Address: 16 Melissinou Ioanni, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#40 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: £55 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortezza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fortezza is situated in the center of the old town of Rethymno. Its central position on the beautiful island of Crete, allows easy access to its natural beauties. Only 100m from the port and the archeological sites and 300m from the longest sandy beach. Hotel Fortezza is fully renovated in 2011, where someone may taste the world famous Cretan hospitality. It is owned and managed by the family Markos Liodakis since 1989 caring and willing along with the hospitable and well-trained staff, to make your staying as enjoyable as unforgettable. Capacity: 50 rooms and 3 suites, traditionally furnished, air-condition, plasma TV, bathroom hair dryer, bathtub, and telephone. Facilities: swimming pool, restaurant air-conditioned, two bars, snack, TV room playing cards room and table tennis, 24 hour guarded parking with charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fortezza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortezza Hotel Rethymnon
Fortezza Hotel Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing