We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveller rating
277
232
62
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
232
62
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view old town hotel dog venetian harbour lovely hotel air con bed and breakfast basis sea front thomas cook rooms cleaned daily great position returning guests small charge summer holiday hotel staff third floor small bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 584 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This was my first visit to Crete & we really went so that we could visit Knossos. We booked this hotel because it was in the old town. Wasn't sure what to expect, but we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is in a wonderful location, close to restaurants, shops, the Fortezza, and a couple of very interesting museums. Arriving very late, we were told that our sea view room wasn't available but we could have a small suite instead - absolutely lovely! This was at the back of the hotel with a little balcony & view if the pool. Very comfortable room with a sofa, a large fridge, a safe (small charge for this), and a good sized bathroom. The room was very clean, the pool was small but with enough sun-loungers. (However, the staff really should stop the very rude habit of guests putting towels on the loungers & then going off elsewhere. This isn't acceptable anywhere!!) The buffet breakfasts were fine & the staff very friendly and helpful. There is also a nice terrace at the front of the hotel to have drinks. This hotel is suitable for all ages & I would certainly consider staying there again & would recommend it to others.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaryBRedditch_Worcs_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This hotel exceeded our expectations as we thought it might have been a bit run down, however we were pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel was fairly modern and in the best location if you were not looking for a beach holiday. The room was comfortable, shower OK (for Greece). Bar area was well looked after with free WiFi & happy hour. Pool looked OK & secluded. Breakfast was buffet style with a reasonable selection, fresh juice was available for an extra price. Would consider going back to this hotel if going back to Rethymnon.

Room tip: Might get traffic noise if balcony door is open on rooms with sea view. The rooms with a pool view looked to have a quieter aspect.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I booked this hotel from the Finnish tour operator and after reading room tips from Tripadviser reviews, I decided to contact the hotel beforehand, pre-guessing the room type, which I would get as a solo traveller. I received a polite answer very quickly telling that the room category doesn´t make it possible to get the kind of a room I asked for, but they would do their best to satisfy my wish. The result was that I got the room from the 4th floor with a view to Fortezza and when walking to the narrower end of my balcony and reaching out to watch towards the sea, I had also the sea view. So it was not so bad, after all, but I feel sorry for the persons staying in the second floor, because they cannot see anything else but the walls facing the balcony in every direction. However, there is no accomodation in this corner at the first floor, only conference room.

The hotel is very tidy, small fridge in the room, no water cooking supplies. Early (simple ) breakfast was easy to order from the reception the previous day, when excursion started early and also before the early start to the airport, with hot drink, milk, toast, cheese and cold meat cut and juice + jam selection and cereals). You could eat the breakfast outside after 8.00, when the tablewere was placed to the outside tables. There was different kind of bread, cheese, cottage cheese, cold meat cuts, fruits, juice, coffee/tea, milk, cereals, milk ( I am not sure if there actually was yoghurt), vegetables, jam selection, eggs of 1-2 kind, and also sausages or bacon, and cake and additional other sweet pastry. And some other sweet dishes also, which I didn´t taste ( I believe they all had lactose (milk).

I was very glad to notice that the pool area was spared from unnecessary noice, no annoying music in the background, very tranquil. If there had been more cloudy days, I could have spend hours reading in this silent environment. Also the street-level terrace in front of the hotel would have been inviting, if the nearby Old Town had not interested so much.

Plenty of good restaurants nearby, and shopping street Souliou very near. Beach with sun beds and umbrellas about 20 minutes (800 metres) walking distance. Fortezza is also in the neighborhood, but no super market near the hotel. If the beach is most important, I wouldn´t choose this hotel, but for a person willing to wonder in the lanes of Old Town, it is quite perfect.

Room tip: try to avoid rooms 215, 315 because of the restricted view
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivianl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The hotel Ideon is in a superb location between the Venetian Harbour and the Fortezza and is a classy hotel. Breakfast is a buffet with a wide variety of choice and the bar has inside and outside areas. The rooms are cleaned daily and equipped with air con (included in the room price),a safe (E2 a day) and a tv with Sky news channel. The staff are polite, helpful and English speaking.

Room tip: I had a single room in the middle of the building with a patio on an inner yard but next time will request a room facing the sea.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 982michaelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Very nice hotel, spotlessly clean, friendly staff, good pool. Big cross-section of clientele, not all Brits, there were Germans, Finns, Dutch, American and French while we were there. Happy hour in the bar every evening. Pleasant outside cafe/bar area at the front of the hotel. Location fantastic if you want to wander round the Old Town of Rhethymnon and visit the Fortezza. Some way from the beach and livelier bars/clubs. 10 minutes walk from the bus station. Nice pool, open 9 am-9pm, not huge but big enough to swim for a while. Stayed on bed/breakfast basis, reasonable selection of food on breakfast buffet, usually 2 or 3 hot items, sliced cheese, sliced ham, olives, tomatoes, 3 kinds of cereal, fresh fruits, tinned fruit, plain and strawberry yogurt, huge bowls of jam and honey, several types of bread (toaster next to bread) plus unlimited tea, coffee, juice and fresh water. Did not eat in hotel otherwise, evening meal looked like help yourself hot/cold buffet again.

Room tip: Sea view rooms will be a little noisier as they are on the front, pool view rooms are quieter.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliav50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews