We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #27 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Yes, this hotel is a bit remote, but if you want total relaxation with everything on hand....this is the place to go! Wonderful location with panoramic views. We were surprised that so few people used the rooftop terrace for a pre dinner drink whilst watching the sun go down....spectacular!

The hotel is built to an exceptionally high standard, well thought out and landscaped beautifully. The rooms are comfortable and everything is spotlessly clean.

We stayed on a half board basis and the buffet breakfast and dinner had something for everyone.

As previously mentioned in other reviews, without doubt, it is the staff that make this place such a success. Everyone works extremely hard to make your holiday memorable....nothing is too much trouble and the term 'service with a smile' springs to mind!

In choosing this hotel, I think you need to decide what you want from your holiday. If you want to sample the local night life, then perhaps this is not the place for you unless you are prepared to drive in and out of town. If, however, you want total peace and relaxation, this IS certainly the place!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1309Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimondiG, General Manager at Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear 1309Max,
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review! We are always delighted when we receive such positives feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed you stay with us and the service provided!

Look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is an exceptionally good resort in a strange location. Everything about the Rimondi is of very high quality - the apartments, the cleanliness, the staff, the food - I could go on.....so I will.

The staff are, without exception, extremely friendly and knowledgable and always prepared to go the extra mile - a special word for the restaurant manager who arranged our evening meals for us from the start (we had booked on a bed and breakfast basis originally)

The housekeeping staff are efficient and courteous, as are the reception staff who organised our taxis to and from the airport at excellent rates.

The site itself is very picturesque with two pools for use, a well-apppointed spa and plenty of sunbathing spots. The pool bar area is quite small but very attractive and the bar meals are excellent. There is also a roof-top bar which is exceptional, offering panoramic views of the surrounding countryside and the not-so-distant sea. Prices are as would be expected in a resort of this quality.

All in all a very worthwhile resort which is let down by one factor - it remoteness. It is approximately 2km up a hill off the main road from the airport to Rethymno and other than a small local taverna (about 150 metres from the reception) there are no other places to go 'off-site' locally. The resort runs a shuttle service to the beach (from where you can take the local bus into Rethymno - recommended) but otherwise it a taxi to and from town at a cost of 18 euro one way. So unless you are happy to stay on site for the duration of your stay or happy to run up a sizeable taxi budget this may not be the resort for you. Which is a shame as in itself it is excellent.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms/apartments are at the bottom of a steep slope - those with mobility problems shoul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerzyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just returned from a pleasant 11 day stay at the Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa, despite the holiday starting with Air Berlin losing our bags for 2 days and we never mentioned the war once! The hotel staff are brilliant and helped hugely by pestering the airport on our behalf. We must give a HUGE mention to the maître d' who was outstanding and without doubt the busiest and most industrious person at the hotel if not in the whole of Crete - Bravo Sir!

Firstly, if you intend traveling to the hotel under your own steam, make absolutely certain you know the directions and how the Crete 'New' National Road junctions work. If you have a GPS it should guide you effortlessly (for Greece) to the destination but do not underestimate how long it may take to get a GPS signal on a UK device that 'awakes' in Crete. The important bit to know is that you depart the New National Road on your right and have to double back on your self and under the New National Road as your enter Stavromenos before heading up the 'Old' National Road towards Magnisia. When you get to the hotel there is what must be one of the slowest lifts in the universe (5 People Maximum!) to take you from road level down 2 floors to reception.

The hotel is clean and modern. The pool, though not huge, is lovely and never felt crowded even though we there in 'high' season. It is easy to think that there are not enough sun beds surrounding the pool, but we never had any difficulty finding space to catch some sun. There is a shower at the pool but they do surround it with sun beds so it seems rude to use it and soak fellow guests!

We stayed B&B in a one bedroom suite deluxe which was lovely but it would have benefited from tea/coffee making facilities (we are Brits after all!). On the subject of tea, make sure you take some tea bags with you as the hotel ones are not up to much! We certainly would not recommend full or even half-board. Better to fill up at breakfast and then get out and explore the great tavernas Rethinmo has to offer, and it has alot! Breakfast was the usual mix that tried to appeal to all the main nationalities, so, eggs in various forms, bacon, sausages, cheese, cold meats, cereals, fruit, bread, jam, cake, etc etc. My only gripe would be the lack of proper fruit juice as the hotel provides what is effectively 'squash'.

Although there is a Spa at the hotel we never found time to use it so for us, it was slightly a waste. What we did use and love was the beach towel service that allowed you to change towels as and when you liked for use on and off the hotel premises - excellent!

Our mains criticisms would be:

1. The wi-fi is next to hopeless unless you get up really early or stay up really late when you can grab some of what appears a mediocre bandwidth. Every man and their dog had a smart phone/tablet so no surprisingly the bandwidth gets squeezed and slows down to a crawl. The hotel would do good to invest in a system that allows those downloading small amounts to do this free, whilst charging those that are downloading large amounts. At the moment it is a free for all that is not working. You get far better access at some of the tavernas where you are eating a 4 euro salad!

2. The parking space outside the hotel is relatively large, however, guests just abandon their cars leaving acres of space between other cars. The hotel should paint some lines to at least give guests a 'nudge' as to making the most of the parking area.

3. The bar prices are just too HIGH and cost prohibitive . I think reducing prices would have a significant impact on sales volume and I would be staggered if it did not prove more profitable. Hotel cocktails that were 8/9 Euros were 3/4 euros in Adelianos cocktail bars, and the odd happy hour prices did not make up for what was a very expensive hotel bar!

I would not wholly agree with the comments regarding Coralli Beach, which is the private beach the hotel has access too. It is not actually the Rimondi's own beach but is run by the Coralli Hotel & Taverna. It does have a vigorous surf and is not suitable for young children. The patchy sea weed is only really noticeable at the surf edge and when you get a little way out is not apparent at all. The taverna is lovely and the food really good. It has loos (essential), a shower and there is a small kids pool attaced. We always found sun beds available.

In conclusion, we enjoyed our stay at Rimondi Grand Resort where the staff are its best asset. You do need a hire car as the hotel is set back some way from other nightlife or daylife for that matter! We would not recommend it for families with young or teenage kids as they would probably get bored very quickly, but for couples - nearly perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rkjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimondiG, General Manager at Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear rkjm,
Great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you very much for such a detailed feedback. We made note of your list of aspects to be improved. Next time you’ll be here all will be working 100%.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We have just returned from a two week stay at the Rimondi Grand, first the good points, the staff were all exceptional, I was amazed at such a collection of brilliant and helpful people all under the same roof.
We stayed in a two bedroom apartment with a private pool, again I have no complaints it was clean and comfortable and very well designed, it had everything it said on the web site.
The food was well prepared and it was what I would call European there was something for all of the adults and plenty of it.
There was always sunbeds available and if they filled up more always appeared even on busy days there were always free ones.

Now the bad points.
The private beach was a waste of time mainly because just offshore there were large Kelp fields and with the wave motion bits were snapping off the Kelp and drifting in the surf and then onto the beach, the surf was black as there was so much of it, with the heat of the sun it was rotting on the shore line and the smell was terrible.
There is no kids club and there is absolutely nothing for kids to do, when I booked it said on the web site that there was trained staff to look after the kids, this has now strangely enough been removed from their web site. In the fourteen days we were there the evening entertainment consisted of two disco nights two karaoke nights and one Greece night, if you have kids 11 to 16 they will be bored out of their heads, if you have kids 5 to 10 unless they swim in the pool all day they will also be bored out of there heads the only alternative is to go to rethymonon every night this cost by taxi 20 Euros with tip each way. Also if you have kids with you there is no menu for them unless you eat at pool bar which has a kids menu but you have to pay for it.
We hired a car through the hotel from Best cars it cost 340 Euros for the week the surprise came when we filled it up at a cost of 90 Euros, unleaded is 1.80 per litre.
At breakfast one morning on the table holding the breakfast food the table cloth caught fire, one of the waitresses tried to put it out by hitting it with a towel which also promptly caught fire, eventually the head waiter produced a fire extinguisher and put the flames out the staff all appeared to think it was hilarious I wondered when they did there last fire drill.
Finally heraklion airport was absolutely filthy how in god’s name this is called an international airport beats me it is a filthy tip

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shell b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We visit rethimno two couples from Turkey.
We had studio suite with swiming pool, these suites are just perfect for two couples, is two rooms and big living room.
The hotel is new in very good condition.
That hotel is like small cute village with the nice flowers making romantic atmosphere.
Is two big swiming pools, one for adults and one for the kids.
Both swiming pools are very clean all day.
The hotel is very friendly for kids.
The service is very good and the staff are very friendly (always smile).
The rooms are very clean (they clean up every day).
The food is special and delicious, most of the times is traditional.
They do special events 3-4 times a week to the bar, makes you feel good.
We had rental car and we visit too many beaches from there, if you dont have a car they have minibus and take you to the beach, the bus schedule is every 50 minutes.
The hotel is 1 km from the sea.
Is very quite place.
The spa is fantastic (we spend a lot of time there).
We recommend that hotel and for sure we will go back.
thanks RIMONDI
Haluk Dassen

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haluk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I had lovely time in Rimondi grand resort spa.
The service was super.
Is nice place to be for family vacation.
The swimming pool is very clean, is fantastic.
Is very quite place for couples.
The food is very unique,delicious.
They have tranditional happenings.
FOR SURE I WILL GO BACK
TASOS

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Acropolis000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimondiG, General Manager at Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Acropolis000,
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at Rimondi Grand.
Look forward to seeing you next time!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 2 weeks I was with my husband and my mother has difficulty in movement. In slot tried to find her room to have access everywhere. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are Very eyrycha with very good and accurate furnishings. Poly NET. The pool is always clean and supremacy. It is 1 km away from the sea but there is then the hotel in a car goes and gets from the sea. The first few days the food was not so rich why perhaps lacked the chef but the next was amazing with fresh Cretan products. The big problem was with wifi but was not the hotel but the communications agency.
We are Very happy and would come again next year

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimondiG, General Manager at Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Vivi D,

Thank you for your feedback. I’m glad to hear we could manage to make your family stay, and in particular you mother’s stay, comfortable.

Look forward to seeing you in Crete this summer!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
7.4 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
656 reviews
6.8 mi away
Kriti Beach Hotel
Kriti Beach Hotel
#25 of 175 in Rethymnon
254 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#15 of 175 in Rethymnon
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
2.3 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#10 of 175 in Rethymnon
963 reviews
6.5 mi away
Swell Boutique Hotel
Swell Boutique Hotel
#30 of 175 in Rethymnon
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa

Address: Old National Road Rethymno, Rethymnon, Crete 74052, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: £89 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful 5 star deluxe hotel is situated on the slopes of an olive tree plantation, overlooking the Cretan Sea, close to the historical Venetian town of Rethymno. High quality service and outstanding hotel facilities makes our hotel the perfect accommodation for you and your family in Crete. Enjoy our Spa, swim in our infinity pool or have a typical Cretan dinner at our restaurant...Experience the real Crete at Rimondi Grand Spa Resort & Hotels, a luxury all-suite boutique hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing