We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely position, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 165 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely position, great service”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I spent two lovely weeks here in May. great accommodation and very peaceful. The pool was too cold even in May and needs to be heated. You need a car to be able to explore the area. It is within driving distance of Rythymno where there is long beach and lots of restaurants to chose from. Service at the hotel was excellent and the staff very friendly. There was a good choice at the buffet breakfast, but for an island with orange trees everywhere we couldn't understand why they didn't have fresh orange.We would definitely Go again a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    158
    89
    49
    20
See reviews for
155
326
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
modiin Israel
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a very small quiet village, the sheep and olive groove are just outside the grounds. We enjoyed our stay with three children in the two bedroom Vila. One child slept on the couch in the living room. The pool was too cold to swim in in April, could be nice if it was heated. If you come with a car you can park below the villas and carry your luggage inside. From the top parking there are many stairs. The hotel staff is very friendly in the front desk and the restaurant, although we hate having to pay for water on half board dinner.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank omrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for four days last May and were very impressed. Situated in a quiet village it is a very pretty place that sits sympathetically into its surroundings....which are quite stunning, a beautiful valley with panoramic views down to the sea. It's a new hotel that's very sleek and modern but they've also used lots of rustic stone as well so it still has character and warmth.

Our room was clean and bright with a sitting room and a large modern bathroom all furnished to a high standard and maid service very day who did an excellent job. Two balconies to take advantage of those incredible views and so relaxing to sit with a glass of wine in the evening watching the sun go down.

The food was fresh and local with nothing too much trouble for the staff who were very attentive but not overbearing. Beautiful infinity pool with good quality beds plus a fantastic rooftop terrace as well where you could also sunbathe in the day if you wanted to. The terrace was also a lovely place to gather in the evening with a drink before dinner to again take in the fabulous vista.

We didn't use the spa because we were only there for a few days but we had a look round and it was gorgeous and we will definitely give it a try when we return.

All in all this was the best short trip we've ever had and I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a relaxing break in beautiful surroundings with the added bonus of friendly, helpful staff who genuinely want you to enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view but if you are a little infirm ask to be close to the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Icemaiden_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimondiG, General Manager at Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Icemaiden_10,
Thank you for your 5-star rating of the hotel. I am very pleased that the four of you enjoyed your stay and found my staff to be friendly and helpful. I was also pleased to read that you enjoyed the food served in our restaurant.
I do appreciate your feedback and hope you will all come and stay with us again this summer.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed here last August, it is a lovely place to stay, very relaxed friendly and clean. The infinity pool has distant views over the sea and closer view of the olive grove. It is a quiet place to stay and I would recommend hiring a car with sat nav if you wish to explore the island will save although as mentioned by previous reviews there is a shuttle bus service to the beach. We took advantage of the spa facilities and a very relaxing hot stone massage which we were told can be tailored for sports injuries or other aches and pains.
The room that we had was on the top floor and was tastefully decorated with nice views and was kept clean on a daily basis.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimondiG, General Manager at Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Martin C

Thank you for your review. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the relaxing atmosphere. Exactly what we want to offer to our guests. If you plan to stay again please let us know with advance, we will make sure you’ll have the same room. Glad you enjoyed the decoration.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We exchanged into this resort via Interval International and stayed from the 26.10 to 2.11.2013. the resort is about 1hour away from the airport and we hired a car for the week. luckily our Sat Nav included european maps, which made finding the resort easy. mainly because the spelling on the instructions matched the setup on the sat nav. we were not so lucky with other locations we tried to find. the resort is perched on the side of the road and very steap. the lift was out for at least half of the week, which would make access for anyone in a wheelchair impossible. as per usual for interval, the resort is isolated and to get to anywhere you must have a car. it is well worth your while though, because the area is fab, especially out of season, without being overrun. the town rethinon and hania itself are every atmospheric and lovely, especially in the evening. to get to the former will take about 15 to 20 min in the car and the later is at least 1 hour and therefore we spend the day in the town. unfortunately, i would have liked to have seen a breakfast package, as you will need to pay for your meals and there is no store that close. about 5min in the car. overall we would stay here again, simply because we don/t mind driving and really enjoyed the island. personally, i would like to be nearer the action next time round.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are inward facing and there is not much of a view. the best view is to be had on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rika p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimondiG, General Manager at Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear rika p

Thank you for taking the time to leave a kind review. I am pleased you found us convenient and you enjoyed your visit. The next time you stay please let us know, we will provide you with as much details as possible about the breakfast being served.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This resort is isolated and car hire would be a benefit. However, there is a free shuttle service to the beach which is valuable. The staff are relaxed and pleasant. Our accomodation was nicely decorated and the daily cleaning was thorough. We enjoyed breakfasts, lunches and dinners in this resort and thoroughly enjoyed every meal. Antonis the MaitreD is fantastic at his job. The spa is fabulous. I hope the resort continues to thrive as it was not anywhere near full when we stayed at the end of May and it would be such a shame if the resort did not go from strength to strength. The fitness suite planned next year will add to the resort and I understand that development of the resort is continuing. Well done to the management team!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrishWeekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimondiG, General Manager at Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear IrishWeekender

“Heavenly luxury!” Such a great title. Thank you for marking us so highly - your review is really appreciated. I am glad you had a great vacation in Crete and found our staff to be friendly. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamata, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I had a great time during my stay in this hotel (and Crete of cource). I spent 2 glorious-relaxing weeks and I didn't want to return home. The hotel was peaceful, in a beautiful sight near rethymno city. I stayed in room 213 which was a two stories building with its own swimming pool. Comfortable bedrooms (2), beds as well with coco mat matresses, felt like home. The food was delicious with many local recipies. I also enjoyed a lot the spa area, where me and my girlfriend spent many hours during our stay. The beaches in the surrounding areas were excelent and beyond description. Overall I had a great time in this hotel and I will definetely come back in my next vacation period.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEORGE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimondiG, General Manager at Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear GEORGE C,
A great time is exactly what we aim to offer to our guests. Hearing that you didn’t want to return home is such a great compliment to me. Thank you very much for your feedback.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
7.4 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 165 in Rethymnon
588 reviews
2.3 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#10 of 165 in Rethymnon
854 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#11 of 165 in Rethymnon
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#8 of 165 in Rethymnon
1,040 reviews
3.1 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
7.1 mi away
Kyma Suites Beach Hotel
Kyma Suites Beach Hotel
#62 of 165 in Rethymnon
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa

Property: Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa
Address: Old National Road Rethymno, Rethymnon, Crete 740 52, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#23 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful 5 star deluxe hotel is situated on the slopes of an olive tree plantation, overlooking the Cretan Sea, close to the historical Venetian town of Rethymno. High quality service and outstanding hotel facilities makes our hotel the perfect accommodation for you and your family in Crete. Enjoy our Spa, swim in our infinity pool or have a typical Cretan dinner at our restaurant...Experience the real Crete at Rimondi Grand Spa Resort & Hotels, a luxury all-suite boutique hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Bookgreece.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing