We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“talk about made to feel welcome , Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Dream Apartments
Ranked #72 of 164 Hotels in Rethymnon
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“talk about made to feel welcome , Fantastic!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

What can say ( everything ) Litsa , george , katerina , maria and little george all made us feel very welcome , what a lovely family , and yes the food is fantastic too we wish we did upgrade to h/b ,next time we will. the hotel is very greek which is what we wanted very clean lovely rooms, we had room 303 which was perfect for us , the sunset was fantastic and the sea view and would want that room again or any of the rooms really, they all look good , And the holel is just by the sea what more could you ask for , please do not listen to bad reviews go and see for yourself .
Thankyou for letting us into you lifes for one week lovely stay carnt wait to come back.

shaz matt sheffield

Room Tip: ask for sunset room, with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonGC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    29
    16
    17
    30
See reviews for
39
57
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

First thing - there are some bad reviews about this hotel on Trip Advisor, which really worried us beforehand. All I can say is: don't believe a word of it.

Food - The owners have a retaurant on-site next to the pool. It's small, but the food is AMAZING! Litsa and George (the owners) own a farm nearby and nearly all of the food served is about as fresh as you're ever going to get. We never intended to eat there everynight, but the first meal was so good we asked to upgrade to 1/2 board. Best decision we ever made. If you're planning on staying here, definitely try the taramasalata.

Pool - Small pool, about 10m in length, with sun loungers on two sides. The pool has deep (2.8m) and shallow sections (0.8m) and a paddling area for children. There are notices that ask you not to bring your own food and drink to the pool, which may be frustrating to some, but all of the rooms are very close to the pool if you needed to go back to your room, and as mentioned before - the food on-site is really nice.

Bar - This was quite quiet when we were there. Nice place to sit and chat and enjoy a bottle of wine. Prices are fairly standard with other bars. If you're unsure what to order in the way of local brews, the owners are happy to advise and won't try to rip you off.

Location - The hotel is sold as being 50m from the sea, and unbelieveably it really is! There is a gate at the back of the hotel that leads directly to the sea shore, where there is a bench where you can watch the sun set over the sea and see the stars come out - nice romantic spot. If you're after a sandy beach there is a really nice one about 2-300 metres to the left as you face the sea, which has some nice sun loungers and a bar. You can get to this via the sea front, but the way is quite stony so you may want to go via the road.

There are supermarkets nearby (500m) over the road and on the other side of the national road. We were worried that the national road that runs close to the hotel complex would be like an English motorway - it's more like a small A-road at best and you can't hear it from the hotel complex.

The owners are really friendly and have a wealth of local knowledge that you'd be mad not to take advantage of. If you need to hire a car, or are planning on any excursions, you're better off asking at the bar than going through a rep. Litsa and George organised an excursion the the waterpark by Heraklion for us for the next morning at a much reduced rate to the traditional rep fee. They also helped us out with a car. When organising stuff like this they are really quick and very helpful.

Finally, some caveats. If you're going to Crete in late June onwards, it's hot (high 30s to low 40s in the sun). If you can't handle that and need air-con, it is an extra 5 euro a day. Use of the safe is an extra 10 euro.

In summary, the hotel is very clean and well maintained; the staff are all very welcoming, keen to make your stay as pleasurable as possible and genuinely seem to enjoy talking with you; the food is some of the best I've ever eaten; and the beach is really close. This is a great family hotel that offers good value for money and a fantastic experience. We'll definitely come back.

Room Tip: Higher floors are warmer than the lower ones as these get more sun. If you can get a room on the no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

location 5 mins to the beach and tavern, fall out your bed/apartment, fantastic party bar, super swimming pool and a friendly family who can't do enough to help, after my fantastic experience of all that. I am at a loss to understand some of the comments that I have read.
The Bottom line is, if you want value for money, good fun, relaxing and have a family who will give good guidance and go that bit extra to make your holiday an enjoyable experience. This is what blue dreams offers, and I am sure you will not be disappointed.
Graham
Bothwell Scotland

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GAMOIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We arrived very late at night - Litsa and Katherina came out and welcomed us. We were tired and hungry and nothing was too much trouble for this family - they cooked us a fabulous meal and made us feel very welcome. The prices are reasonable - and the food is excellent - never had a bad meal - and George catches most of the fresh fish. Whatever the previous reviews - believe them or not - but things are not like that here. It is a warm, lovely family led business. When we booked it, we expected the "sea views" to be by telescope - but this could not be further from the truth - you are right on the sea - 30sec walk and you can hear the sea. It is a beautiful, relaxed place with a beautiful pool,. There are exceptional tavernas within walking distance. Blue Dreams made our holiday very special. Simon & Jenny.

Room Tip: Rent a vehicle and explore the island - the most beautiful place we have ever visited - there is a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I been to Blue Dream with my Family I think is a small paradise there eveverybody try make as part of the family and feel like as home...The room is very clean and every day the maid use to tide our room....in Litsas kitchen my friend Litsa lern me how to cook Stuft tomatoes and Musaka...
The food is delicious...My family and me love this place....I dont know why them peaple write so many bad thinks...In September I will be there....

Room Tip: 90% off the room have sea view ask Litsa for it...!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank litsamixa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We have stayed with George and Litsa on many occasions, and we love them and the hospitality they provide.
Clean and quiet just what we want from our holiday.

Yes it's a bit of a trek into Rethymnon - but it is worth the effort. If you hire a car, Georgiopolous is a must! A stunning beach location.

George and Litsa are fantastic hosts and fab cooks, I have never had a bad meal with them ( we've been 5 times so far!)

I understand how people feel about paying for the extras, small family ran business don't make the money like the huge all inclusive resorts do, but they are still bound by the same rules and regulations. Remember that this is their business, it supports their family and it's only open during the summer season - we took that into account and was more than happy to pay for a fan!

As for previous comments about Litsa being nasty, we have never met anyone less nasty- ever!! If you treat people with kindness and
respect, it's how you are treated in return.

We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah-jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Travel date was late sept 2012
Weather was fine whole holiday.
Booked as package holiday

It was a cheap one week holiday and I new this area as we stayed rethmymnon area before
expectations were not high. Those low expectations were met, The owner and family are nice
I have no complaints about them. Location is POOR, rooms have tired fixtures and fittings seat
covers were awful, flaking off all over the place painted PVC i think. WC was faulty and you
heard running water all night, I could probably have fixed it but Why the hell should we!, So
All we did was Close the ill fitting toilet door. Beds were not comfy at all but all that
aside we made good use of our car out almost every evening. Days were spent by the pool sunbathing/listening to music and relaxing. 1st day at hotel and I must say I dont think
pool water quality was very good very cloudy water veiw distance under-water was terrible
it cleared though a day or so later. There is enough simple stuff at this hotel to warrant
a poor rating overall so thats what it gets Return? NO better places to sorry hope to read
that this place improves one day. I took a lot of pictures here and the owner was always
looking worried about it made me feel a bit defensive about it tbh not good impression to
give a guest it realy. Poor but did not let it ruin another fine Crete holiday.

Rock OUT For NOW

Room Tip: We Found The high floor room we were in quite all probably the same tho
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rocket_M4N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rethymnon hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.5 mi away
Ekavi Hotel
Ekavi Hotel
#108 of 164 in Rethymnon
44 reviews
3.9 mi away
Marianthi Apartments
Marianthi Apartments
#66 of 164 in Rethymnon
58 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Babis
Hotel Babis
#6 of 8 in Skaleta
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Apollon Hotel Apartments
Apollon Hotel Apartments
#48 of 164 in Rethymnon
160 reviews
3.6 mi away
Castello Bianco Hotel
Castello Bianco Hotel
#18 of 20 in Platanias
11 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cretan Sun
Cretan Sun
#13 of 20 in Platanias
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dream Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dream Apartments

Property: Blue Dream Apartments
Address: Stavromenos, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Blue Dream Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Dream Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dream Apartments Rethymnon
Blue Dream Apartments Hotel Rethymnon
Blue Dream Apartments Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing