We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service almost by the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Theartemis Palace Hotel
Ranked #12 of 167 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service almost by the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Location was perfect if beach is what you want. You just walk two blocks and there you are, almost in the water. To old town and city centre there was 20-25 minutes walk, but many shops and restaurants on the way so the walk was pretty nice too.

Room was very comfortable and overall cleanliness of the hotel was very good. In the room there was two beds and nice bathroom with bathtub and balcony. We got clean sheets and towels even when we did not ask for them. Only minus is that the bed was uncomfortably hard and bad for the back.

We had all inclusive, and indeed we ate most of the meals in the restaurant Daphne in the hotel. Foods were mostly excellent, there were several hot choices at every lunch and dinner, salads and vegetables, fruits, cheeses, fish.. you name it. Desserts were very lovely too. Breakfast was great, because there was bacon. With food you can drink house wine, beer or other refreshments like soda or juice. Service was quite fast, but the staff was very hurried and hasty because all the tables were always crowded.

Evenings at the hotel.. there are various happenings by the pool and at Ariane Bar. Mostly it was music (live/dj), but we also enjoyed magician, The absolute best was greek dancing group that performed greek traditional dancing and also made the guests dance. That night was awesome.

The con side of performances is that they are very loud and you surely enjoy them in your room too. It usually lasted from 9 p.m. to about 11p.m. so if you need to sleep at that time you most probably will have to pack earplugs.

The pool area was fully populated always when sunny, you have to get up early to get a sunbed. Pool itself was not so popular and there was always room to swim, it might be because the water was so cold that only kids could swim in it for as long as they want.

The conclusion: This is a great hotel with good food and friendly staff. It had everything we could have needed and more.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Duff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    236
    65
    20
    8
See reviews for
166
263
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have been visiting the hotel for the past decade and it has always been great!situated in the town of rethymno guests are just a step from the beach and just a few minuites from the city center. the hotel was recently renovated.the rooms are very clean and nice and the staff is extremely hospitable and warm with the guests.the food is also great.Visiting Theartemis palace will definitely be an unforgettable experience! Totally worth a stay! enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasilina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

April 2014...We were offered this hotel as an alternative as the one we'd booked became unavailable but after reading recent reviews we were confident and happy to accept. This hotel was amazing! The staff were welcoming and the whole hotel was spotless and modern but had a twist with various beautiful antique pieces dotted around. Staff in the restaurant were very friendly and helpful and their service was first class. We stayed on the all inclusive package and found the food excellent at all times. It was fresh and well cooked with a few choices of mains. The snacks were limited but again freshly laid out. Packed lunches were also available if pre ordered. Night time entertainment was good and our children especially like the magician.
We were in two double rooms with a connecting internal door which was fantastic with two teenage girls(2 bathrooms!). Rooms 218 and 220 were fashionably decorated with exceptional bathrooms. Unfortunately the balconies were small and overlooked the very busy road.
There were two pools available and both were well maintained .
We had a lovely stay and would recommend this hotel but feel that there were 3 things that we need to mention.
Beds; whilst you cant please everyone we found the beds very hard and combined with the loud traffic noise(well into the small hours) this meant our sleep was disturbed most nights. Maybe a poolside room would be worth requesting if you sleep lightly?
Bar; drinks on the all inclusive package were very limited and of a poorer quality. The staff served paying customers first at all times and service was slow at all times. The bar staff were friendly but definitely preferred serving paying customers and this was most apparent.
Location; if you want a busy , bustling city centre location then this is the best for you ! !
We would have preferred something a little more remote with less traffic noise. There was no allocated parking for guests and this was not a problem in April but if staying at busy times you may struggle to park your hire car close.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DurhamAndypandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

For us this hotel offered really good value for money.
We stayed at the hotel on a half board basis for five nights at the beginning of the summer season.
The buffet meal arrangements were very good with a wide choice of food to suit most tastes although on some nights the fish choice was limited.. The breakfast buffet was good with a range of hot and cold food choices as well as having a variety of eggs, plenty of fruit, bread, and pastries although you had to make a specific request for toast. The coffee was particularly good. The service was always helpful, cheerful and friendly and dirty plates were cleared away quickly but you did not feel rushed to finish your meal.
The hotel is located towards the outskirts of town but there are lots of nearby restaurants, bars and cafes. It took about 25 minutes to stroll into the old town. The hotel has good disabled access with efficient lifts.
Reception and bar staff were always helpful, friendly and efficient with a good grasp of English. Our room and all public areas were always kept clean and tidy.
The inside bar area was a bit small but this is probably irrelevant in summer when everybody is outside.
Most nights the hotel offered some form of local entertainment.
The hotel had a mini market which was open all day but only had a limited range of merchandise.
The hotel had a large outdoor swimming pool and a smaller indoor one as well as a small gym and games room but they were only being lightly used at this time of year. These may be useful in the heat of summer but it depends on the efficiency of the air conditioning.
Our room was very spacious with lots storage space and a nicely furnished balcony. The bed was comfortable and there was a sofa with several cushions. Even though it overlooked the pool the room was quiet – it may be different during the height of the summer. The air conditioning was simple to work and was quiet and efficient. However in the evening the hot water was rather lukewarm and slow running. The room had a good TV but the only English channels were EuroNews and BBC World Service. The room also lacked any coffee or tea making facilities. One small irritation was having to pay for a key for the room safe.
The windows of our room which overlooked the pool were a favourite roosting place for pigeons – some efforts had been made to deal with this but the room cleaners had to clean pigeon poo from the window ledge every day.

Room Tip: On the second floor at least odd numbered rooms overlooked the pool area but even numbered rooms ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helpmeimlost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luckington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just returned from a week at this hotel. Excellent service and very clean. We were all inclusive and the food was good quality with different choices. The pools were clean, but cold! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Would visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is a big hotel with several services but some of them seem to be available only during the high season. Although the furniture in the common areas shows its age, the rooms are clean, renovated and very nicely decorated. Even though they are not very spacious, they are big enough for a comfortable stay. Free wi-fi, mini fridge and safe are also available in the room. Breakfast is rich, even off-season, with a good variety of both typical and special local products. The staff is friendly and effective. Note that for my one night stay, pre-payment was requested at check-in.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thada18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Weighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We have just returned from a two week stay at the Theartemis Palace Hotel and have had a brilliant time. The staff were really pleased to see us again. Having stayed there now over 8 times it says it all. The food was very good, plentiful and always well presented. The evening entertainment is of a wide variety from a magician who involves the children to Cretan music and dancing. We are looking forward to our return visit next year

Room Tip: As for a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.2 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#9 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minos Hotel
Minos Hotel
#23 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bio Suites Hotel
Bio Suites Hotel
#22 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantis Beach Hotel
Atlantis Beach Hotel
#24 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.9 mi away
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
#13 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theartemis Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theartemis Palace Hotel

Property: Theartemis Palace Hotel
Address: Markou Portaliou 26, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#20 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#25 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Theartemis Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the crossroads of the southern coast, between Chania and Heraklion, Theartemis Palace is a prestigious resort with a firmly established reputation. Following an ambitious renovation project : Having all our rooms recently being renovated, to offer additional luxury and comfort, that meets even the most demanding expectations. Our ongoing renovation project, continued in 2013 with developing our buffet restaurant into an all -around live dinning experience, offering to our clientele more excuses to choose and visit our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Theartemis Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theartemis Palace Rethymnon
Theartemis Palace Hotel Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing