We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marva Apartments-Studios
Nearby Hotels
Pepi Boutique Hotel(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Apollon Hotel Apartments(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa Vitae Hotel(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palazzino di Corina(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Stella Hotel Apartments & Suites(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$296
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ideon Hotel(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$533
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$396
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
45
24
12
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
24
12
4
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2005

I have just returned from my holiday in Crete staying in the Marva apartments with my husband. We had a lovely holiday, we stayed in the one bedroom apartments which overlook the pool. The apartments are very basic but clean, tidy and a resonable size for 2 adults. They do lack dishes and extra's but they really were fine. The views from the apartment are lovely, they are situated in a very quiet part of the resort which meant at night you will not be troubled by cars or bars. The owner and his family proved to be very helpful and caused us no problems at all. Because the apartments are small the pool is very peaceful, this was an added bonus.

The bus trip into Rethymon is a must, it costs 1 euro and only takes 10 minutes, or alternatively taxis cost 5 euro. The town is stunning and well worth a wander, we also found that their is more choice and better value for eating.

The beach is only a 5 minute walk from the apartments but well worth it. Do not follow the beach signs under the bridge, instead walk past the bakers and cross the road, take the beach road past Ricks bar, this part of the beach is really nice, again even during high season we found the beach fairly quite and peaceful. Watch out for the waves though, they can get quite rough. I would recommend the apartments and would have no hesitation in returning. The studios on the other hand did look a bit compact and I could see that one studio does have a balcony at the back which overlooks a wall, so best to stipulate that a view is essential.

Happy holidays....

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Yorkshire
15
Reviewed 30 May 2005

I would definitely recommend the Marva Appartments to anyone. I went there with my partner 3 years ago now (young couple not into clubbing/nightlife, interested in siteseeing), and both the apartments and the resort suited our needs perfectly.

What stood out most about the apartments were the stunning views. Our balcony overlooked the pool, with a beautiful backdrop of the mountains. Very peaceful. From recollection there were about 20 apartments split over 2 blocks. The apartments are a 5 min walk down a quiet track from the busy main road and resort centre, 15 min walk from the beach. Whilst basic (usual in greece), it was a decent size compared to other greek apartments we've stayed at, with a main kitchen/dining room, separate bedroom which leads to the balcony, bathroom and large cupboard/wardrobe. The only problem we had was that the maid did not change our bedding, so we had to go and ask for it to be done, but other than that no problems at all.

The resort of Platanes, on the outskirts of Rethymon (quite glad we weren't right in the centre of Rethymnon as it is basically a city) was also excellent - fairly small but a good choice of restaurants, bars and shops and an ideal base for exploring the rest of the island. The Cretian bus service is fantastic - much more reliable than in the UK! Buses into Rethymnon were cheap and frequent and took about 10-15 mins, then from Rethymnon bus station you can travel on to other destinations. Rethymnon itself is beautiful, especially the fort which is a must-see.

Overall we were very lucky with our choices and would have no hesitations going back there.

  • Stayed: June 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
buckinghamshire, england
110
Reviewed 10 July 2003

The actual Marva apartments were ok for budget accomodation. The bathroom light didnt work, neither did the light on the balcony,but we made do. The beds were comfy enough and the balcony was nice. the shower was a bit frustrating due to it having no curtain and absolutely no separation from the rest of the toilet, but i think thats to be expected in greece.

It's a small hotel and the holiday makers are their for quiet and sunshine, so if you're looking for a huge party holiday, its fine as long as you are quiet on returning.

The rooms weren't that clean, the maid only came once so we ran out of toilet paper and the bin was overflowing, so we had to buy our own loo roll etc.

The pool was nice, there were always sun loungers free and it was quiet and relaxing, looking over the hills.

The actual apartments aren't in, or that near Rethymnon. 5 minute taxi ride which costs about 5E each way. Platanes, the village that Marva is in is a long stretch of bars and restaurants, and it's possible to have quite a good night out without going too far or spending too much. I recommend Cosmopolis as a cocktail bar and if you want to party then Sky Park is the place in Platanes. Open til 5, but english girls be warned, LOTS of pervy greek men.

We didnt visit Rethymnon in the day time becuase it was just too hot.
As for nightlife, it was more of the same as Platanes but more expensive and more hagglers trying to get you into their bars. All together not worth the effort. However, in the day time if it's cool enough i understand there's a lot more to it than that, which we didnt get to see, but for nightlife dont bother.

Now back to the Marva, the MAIN reason you DO NOT WANT TO GO THERE is the owner. He was absolutely beyond the pail. He is mentally unstable and shouldnt be running a hotel. One evening we brought a friend back to our balcony and we were sat there evry quietly. The owner ran out and ORDERED us to go to bed (not his place) and then reached through the balcony bars and hit our friend.

He then proceeded to say that for the crime of having a friend on the balcony he would chuck us out of the hotel the next day. He told our friend to leave and beat him up on the way out. The owner ignored us from then on, we weren't chucked out, but he was incredibly rude to us when we tried to check out and pay for a fan we had rented. He also threatened to chuck out 2 other bunches of holiday makers so I think its more or less regular procedure for him, but none the less he has next to no english and is a violent man.

But... all this said the area is lovely and its a very versatile destination, just dont stay in the marva.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews