We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like kings!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Palace Luxury Resort
Ranked #10 of 177 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

What can I say that hasn't already been said! This was truly exceptional, do not hesitate and book it!!!! Beautiful hotel, beautiful views and the nicest staff you will ever meet! Myself and my husband stayed in June for our wedding anniversary and were treated like royalty, the staff couldn't do enough and made us feel special! The food, well... We defiantly come home a few pounds heavier, it's a 5 star culinary experience. Don't miss out on your gala dinner, whilst watching the sun set. Very romantic. Lastly, you must book all inclusive when you go to this hotel. It's worth every penny. Have already recommended and will be retuning next year with family xx

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JadeDeysell25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

351 - 357 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Second visit to this hotel and this time it was even better. It's now called 'White Palace' and certainly lives up to the name. It's been refurbished to a very good standard, the bedrooms have been modernised with a minimal white & blue decor (some rooms have a walk in shower in the bedroom and seperate bathroom) and are nice and spacious with air con. Would definitely recommend the sea view rooms. The bars and restaurant have lovely outdoor areas with stunning sea views and sunsets. The food is excellent with plenty of choice and the maitre du is always around to make sure everything is ok. Great service all round, the staff are genuinely lovely, they really make this hotel special. Nothing is too much trouble and they are always happy, friendly and welcoming. Particularly noticed Dimitra and Eliza on reception, Oggy in the restaurant, Maria from the bar, the girls serving drinks at the pool/beach are very sweet and Andreas 'the captain' at the beach bar is fantastic. The hotel is in a quiet area with a bus stop outside which will take you the 20 min journey into Rethymnon. (You can buy tickets at the shop opposite for 1euro 20 each way.) Well worth a visit, plenty of shops, restaurants and a pretty harbour. The hotel will be installing a spa and fitness room in the near future so it's improving all the time. It's a relaxing, high quality, friendly property which I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank karenj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel has a split personality - as indicated by its two names El Greco (which Thomson's call it) or the White Palace (as per Trip Advisor). Having read the glowing reviews I thought we were in for a five star treat when we visiting in early June 2014. However our experience fell short.

I get the impression that you HAVE to pay for an upgraded (sea view) room in order to have the 5 star experience. We had already spent a decent sum on the holiday so didn't/couldn't supplement with a room upgrade - therefore we got an older room and unfortunately it was disappointing.

The bathroom had an over-the-bath shower and frayed shower curtain that soaked the bathroom floor whenever you washed. The bath itself was narrow and you had to hold the shower head whilst washing as it was fixed at waist height - which meant taking a shower was a bit of a balancing act. There was no extractor fan so we had to open the tiny window into a grubby chimney of pipes running down the centre of the building in order to let out condensation.

Unfortunately I also found the buffet food disappointing - often too salty and dry, with repetitive choices throughout the week, and desserts that looked pretty but were tasteless. On the plus side one meal at the Gala Dinner was included in our stay and this was great - and really highlighted the difference in quality between this a la carte evening and the mass catering buffet during the rest of our stay.

But there are positives that meant our holiday was ok...

The staff were great.
It's a beautiful location to watch the sunset.
The all inclusive option is worthwhile (bottled water included which is a great money saver)

Finally please be aware that we paid Thomsons £35 for a late room, however when we asked at reception they said that we could have a room until 6pm free of charge. Maybe something was lost in translation but you might want to wait until you are at the hotel before arranging a late room just in case you can save a few quid.

So there you are, a mixed bag - not a terrible time but I wont return to the White Palace.

Room Tip: Pay for a room upgrade Take your own hairdryer
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank JenKatRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Arrived at The White Palace at the beginning of June,having never been to Creete before,from the moment we arrived the service was fantastic as was the position of the hotel sitting behind a private beach.The rooms were spotlessly clean and spacious and ours had a private garden area with our own sunbeds. Every member of staff form the porters to the Managers were exceptional, never have we had customer service like this and have been in many Hotels. we were all inclusive and the food was first class all in all a true five star experiance and can not wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Have recently returned from my seventh visit to this hotel. As soon as I arrived I wondered why I had not been for the past two years. The staff were very welcoming and friendly as usual and those that have been there for some time remembered me, even got a few hugs. Had a room that has been upgraded (very impressive) and the food was exceptionally good as before. The pool, bar and restaurant areas have been very tastefully modernised and as usual are kept very clean. Regretting booking somewhere else in September but have already booked for next May,

Room Tip: Request a sea view as these are the rooms that have been upgraded and the views are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We visited this hotel June 2014. It was our first hotel holiday abroad for 6 years as we have preferred to rent villas and we were not disappointed. The hotel is in a beautiful setting on the beach and has numerous different areas to sit and relax, watching the sun go down whilst eating your evening meal is particularly lovely. Our room was very modern and minimalist (a slight lack of storage space) with a lovely walk in shower and separate bathroom area, overlooking a huge infinity pool and the sea. The food is fabulous, the only problem being you may have to diet when you return and the hotel was kept very clean. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to any of our friends and may possibly return ourselves either to this or one of the other hotels within the group.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We have just returned from our second holiday at the El Greco/White Palace Hotel.
There were six adults and three children in our party. The hotel is ideal for a holiday with young children. There are several pools to swim in and the hotel is built beside the sea. The beach, although not very wide is sandy and there are plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas.
The Kid's Club and disco were much appreciated by the younger members of our party.
The food is excellent with plenty of choice. High chairs are always available and the staff do their best to ensure you have all you need for a pleasant meal.
All staff we encountered were polite, friendly and helpful.
Our bedrooms were of a good size and well equipped with a TV, fridge, and tea/coffee making facilities.
Having considered several hotels before making our choice, we were very happy to have returned to the El Greco.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.9 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
2.6 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#11 of 177 in Rethymnon
741 reviews
5.1 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 177 in Rethymnon
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#8 of 177 in Rethymnon
1,237 reviews
46.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#5 of 184 in Hersonissos
3,230 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Palace Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Palace Luxury Resort

Address: Rethymnon, Crete GR 74100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#7 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#22 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: £152 - £438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — White Palace Luxury Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your White Palace Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel El Greco Hotel Platanias
Grecotel El Greco Rethymnon
Grecotel El Greco Hotel Rethymnon
White Palace Luxury Resort Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing