We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The White Palace set our holiday standards very high!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Palace El Greco Luxury Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Palace El Greco Luxury Resort
Ranked #10 of 167 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The White Palace set our holiday standards very high!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Can the luxuries of a 5-star hotel be combined with a family-like atmosphere? Can you spend a week in a hotel where the pampering is rather endless, at such value for money?
We read the previous reports and after a week there we are glad to have chosen The White Palace for our holidays this year.
The hotel staff is all exceptionally professional and friendly with no exceptions. Upon arrival we were greeted with refreshing drinks and welcomed by Marcos who promptly showed us around and took us to our room. The whole establishment is meticulously clean and well looked after and gives off a positive vibe. The hotel is extremely sun-bathed but yet cooled by its amazing proximity to the private (essentially) beach in front of it and the sea breeze. Complimentary drinks and fruit were waiting for us in the room, which we found to be beautifully simple and elegant. There are plenty of areas to enjoy, from the sandy beach and the decks around the 5 pools to the back gardens of the hotel. The bar staff both in the pool and by the beach attended to our needs beyond imagination. The restaurant Maitre Giorgos Xristoulakis attended to our meals daily and Roussa Fragkiadaki looked after us as if we were her personal guests during our stay. We found the food exceptional in both quality and variety with daily variations. The Premium Plus option is a must and will inevitably make you have very high standards for every other All-inclusive hotel afterwards. We enjoyed the daily events organised by the hotel with live classic music and dance and the Dj parties were also great fun. The hotel has a quality and civilised holiday atmosphere without any unnecessary noise and although it is not only for couples I would recommend it to both couples and families. I will think twice if I do not book again for next year!

Room Tip: Garden view is maybe more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vasileios S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    215
    82
    22
    15
See reviews for
310
348
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have recently returned from a weeks stay at the Grecotel White Palace.
The hotel is beautiful, as the name suggests it is white throughout, with hints of blue and modern furnishing, creating a calm and relaxed atmosphere.
On arrival check in was a pleasant experience, we were sat down in reception, brought refreshments, and there was no queuing involved!
We had a sea view room, which was lovely. Again modern interiors, a gorgeous sea view, and a huge walk in shower. The room was very spacious and had everything we needed.
The service from all the staff in the hotel was impeccable, everyone was friendly and very helpful. We sunbathed on the beach most days and the beach man was always there to help you with your umbrella, find sun beds, and even brought you frozen towels through the day. There are a few pools around the hotel, from what I gathered the main central pool is for everyone to use. Then there are 3 other pools; 2 infinity pools and one smaller pool. I think anyone can swim in these pools, but from what I saw they only had enough sunbeds around them for the people who's hotel rooms had direct access to them.
The food was lovely, we ate in the buffet restaurants most nights, all the food was fresh ad tasty and despite it being a buffet it still felt calm and there was lovely sea views to enjoy.
The hotel is on its own. If you come out of the hotel and turn right there is a path along the road that takes you to a small resort centre within 10 minutes of walking. The lights along the path didn't work when we were there, so it is a rather dark walk back, not something I would do alone. Once in the resort there are a few shops, restaurants, and bars to wander around. You can also get the bus directly outside the hotel into Rethymnon. You have to buy your tickets (1.20 euro) from the supermarket or hotel shop before you get on the bus and there's a bus every 30 minutes. The old town of Rethymnon is lovely, and is well worth a visit. There's lots of shops and restaurants, and the Fort is worth a visit too.
Overall if you are after a relaxing holiday, then you'll love the hotel!

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms available to suit your budget, From un-refurbished rooms, sea view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TripAd85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kharkiv, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just came back from this hotel.The food is great!like in michelin restaurants!great interior!
and i must say that anımatıon team ıs sooo great!=))) Especıally ıtalıan gırl Kiara=))Zumba fitness is great!).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Iness2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just returned a few days ago from White Palace Hotel after having a fantastic holiday from start to finish there. When we arrived in the early hours of the morning we thought " WOW" what a wonderful hotel.
The staff are happy, friendly and helpful at all times and nothing is too much trouble. Our sea view room had amazing views over the infinity pool and sea. At night the sunsets were magical. Our room was kept spotless as was the whole hotel, beach and pools. We noticed there were lifeguards on duty at all times during the day so felt very safe.
The food is excellent and there are many dishes to choose from to meet all tastes, the chef and restaurant manager would chat to guests to make sure they were being catered for. At breakfast we loved to sit outside and enjoy the sea view. We were very well looked after and thank all staff for making our holiday enjoyable and a special thank you for my 70th surprise birthday cake.
We noticed that Grecoland children's club has plenty of activities to keep the children busy day and evening.
A couple of times we caught the bus outside the hotel to Rethymnon after getting bus tickets (1 euro 20) from the hotel supermarket. Rethymnon is well worth a visit with its old town and new town. We went to the Fortress (entrance 4 euros each) and spent a couple of hours walking around enjoying the spectacular views.
We walked to the villages near the hotel several times and enjoyed the walk and the local shops.
A special thank you to the management and Grecotel group, your hotel is amazing and the service is first class.
We hope to return one day soon.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dreamboatYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Arrived back from this hotel a couple of weeks ago and all I can say is I can't wait to go again.What a fabulous hotel staff bend over backwards to make your stay with them memorable. Special mention for Maria in the restuarant,wonderful lady,and Oggy who was a joy,Natasha and so many more would be here all day saying names. I would suggest a sea view room as to wake up to that view was breathtaking.Food was great could do with being a bit hotter, and please sort out the toaster. Rooms very large and spacious . If any one has any negative reviews they must be very picky.Thank you to the White Palace and can't wait to see you again.

Room Tip: Try for a sea view room on upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alibaba205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have just returned from the White Palace (AKA El Greco) and we had a wonderful week. I was going to rate it 5 stars but I ended up rating it 4 and I’ll explain why shortly. The main problem was Thomson providing misleading information about the hotel. It might sound a bit unfair but we had a pretty bad experience with their booking system and we didn’t get what we were expecting. I originally called them to ask a couple of questions about the hotel and the girl I spoke to, answered all of my questions and she even offered me a little discount and an upgrade to a sea view room if I booked over the phone and of course I agreed. Big mistake, a couple of days later I found out that they spelled my partner’s name incorrectly so I had to pay £25 to amend the booking for a mistake that they made in the first place. Annoying…

The person I spoke to never double checked the details or asked me to confirm that everything was correct so I find it funny how a company like Thomson tries to hide their mistakes behind their T&C’s. It looks like they are happier to get those £25 rather than keep a loyal customer happy (I have spent thousands of pounds with them over the last few years). I hope they will enjoy those £25 as I won’t be booking another holiday with them. I complained on their Facebook page and by email (twice) and never got a response.

When we arrived at the hotel we looked at each other and said… WOW! The reception area, the pools, the bars, and the terrace are absolutely stunning and decorated in a very stylish way. We checked in very quickly and we were taken to our room and when we walked in we were very disappointed. Not all of the rooms have been renovated which is something that isn’t mentioned on Thomson’s website. We were also expecting that sea view upgrade which we obviously didn’t get. If you are thinking about booking a holiday here pay for a sea view room, trust me it’s worth it. The “garden view” rooms (our room was not overlooking a garden but a rather noisy road and an abandoned house) are looking rather dated and slightly dirty. We asked reception for an upgrade (we even offered to pay) but they were fully booked. We were highly disappointed but we decided to let go and enjoy our holiday as the rest of the hotel is stunning. It was a bit bizarre during the first couple of days as it felt like we were staying in a 3 star hotel with access to the facilities of a 5 star hotel but we eventually got used to the idea.

Tip, If you enjoy a drink when on holiday, do not book half board as cocktails as very expensive. They cost between 8.50 and 14 euros each so the all inclusive package is well worth it. I saw the bar staff using Bacardi rum for mojitos and pina coladas so you won’t get the usual cheap watered down booze. Food at all inclusive resorts is never amazing but I must say that it was the best we’ve had in an all inclusive package. Grecotel are famous for owning an organic farm in Crete where they grow their own vegetables so expect a lot of fresh ingredients. My partner is a fussy eater and she always found something to eat. She was in fact very impressed with the selection. The a la carte restaurant was a bit disappointing. The location is beautiful but the selection is very limited especially if you don’t like fish. Food was okay but nothing exceptional. Check the weather forecast before booking the a la carte restaurant as it can be quite windy at times. We didn’t bother with the entertainment so we can’t possibly comment, we mostly spent our evenings in the terrace enjoying a cocktail or two. Our favourite place in the hotel!

The local rep Michael is very helpful so if it’s your first time in Crete and need some advice go and see him. He is great and very knowledgeable. Crete is a beautiful place and we had a really good holiday slightly ruined by Thomson’s terrible customer service. However, we think that Grecotel are a great company and we would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

I hope this review was helpful and if you have any questions feel free to get in touch.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view rooms as they are the ones that have been renovated. The old rooms are looking ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Amazing hotel, so clean but what makes it extra special is the staff everyone is so friendly especially Cara who works for the animation team! We will miss Grecotel and the staff. I'm sure we will be back very soon! - Joanne and Lee x

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lt3579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.9 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
2.7 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#11 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#9 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
5.1 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
46.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Palace El Greco Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Palace El Greco Luxury Resort

Property: White Palace El Greco Luxury Resort
Address: | P.O. Box 27, Rethymnon, Crete GR 74100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#7 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#22 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — White Palace El Greco Luxury Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your White Palace El Greco Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel El Greco Hotel Platanias
Grecotel El Greco Rethymnon
Grecotel El Greco Hotel Rethymnon
White Palace El Greco Luxury Resort Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing