We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Palace Luxury Resort
Ranked #10 of 177 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Thoroughly recommend this hotel.The setting is stunning. The staff are outstanding and are always willing to help, nothing is too much trouble for them The room was spacious.We appreciated the tea making facilities and other fitments.
The buffet food gave us an excellent choice and was very well presented and we were always greeted with a smile by two young ladies (a nice touch ) A suggestion made to the manager one evening for a slight improvement was put into place the next day by breakfast much to our surprise. A very well run hotel.
The whole hotel was kept immaculate with staff unobtrusively cleaning and sweeping all day.2 lifeguards were on duty whenever the green flag was flying.
The local busses regularly pull up right outside the hotel allowing journeys to Rethymnon and Panormo.
The Thompson rep. was most helpful.
One of the best hotels we have stayed in anywhere in the world!

Room Tip: get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 328 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in sea view family room (so you actually get two balcony's).

No big long diatribes, just the facts...
1. FOOD. Excellent varied and well prepared. Good choice for all backgrounds and ages.
2. SERVICE. The staff here are excellent. If you want something, just ask - they are there to help!!!!!
3. POOLS. Well maintained and very warm.
4. BARS AND PUBLIC AREAS. Really quite beautiful. They have spent alot of money on this place and it shows. Well done to all the staff.
5. LOCATION. It is sort of out of the way when it comes to extra hotel activities- eg if you want to eat out or go elsewhere. Rethymnon is about 20 mins away in a taxi and is 12euros in either direction. Local buses available.
6. BEACH. Not the most stunning of beaches compared to others on the island. But they are very clean and well maintained by the staff.
7. OVERALL. A great place to stay. Well maintained and a good choice for all inclusive option. The sunsets are stunning though from the lounge bar or any sea view room.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Yes, the hotel is great. Yes, the food is delicious. Yes, they have nice SPA treatments. Yes, you get free WiFi. Yes, the sunsets are amazing. Yes, you need to book a sea view room for enjoying it as it deserves (they even have bungalows with private pools but it depends on the budget you're on). Yes, the cocktails are "real" and exceptional even if you are on AI (it's not actually worth it not to have AI).

Yes, you might find all these in other places too but what makes this hotel special is the great service that you get from the first moment of your arrival.

There was nothing I desired during my stay that they didn't provide. Always with a smile, all the team members are their to pamper you. It is about the team as you can actually notice the difference between the "older" employees and the new starters. I'm not sure how they are motivated but I'd like to congratulate the management. Whatever it's done here works!

I'll mention just some of those who really made my holiday one of the best one ever (apologies for any mistakes with the names): Stratos, Kristina, Giorgios from the beach bar who always provided wonderful service and made some great cocktails; Markos from the beach who always helped me finding a sun bed even at impossible hours; Amanda who pampered me almost every day at the SPA; Roussa and Alexandra from the restaurant who were always there for me with a smile and a nice terrace table!

I'd like to thank the entire team and I recommend this place without any reservation! Simply wonderful!

Room Tip: Definitely a sea view room - the sunsets are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alexutz_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just got back from a week at the El Greco hotel we had a ground floor sea view with a shared infinity pool which was amazing the staff are so helpful and pleasant. Special thanks go to Michaelis the water who always made sure we had a table on the terrace outside for breakfast and dinner . We took our 8 year old grandson and there was so much to do never bored. The evening entertainment was amazing the 3 tenors on the Monday was exceptional so good we bought their CD . If you have children recommend the Bay Cruise excursion on a pirate ship my grandson loved it . We also paid via the rep the VIP lounge on the return back well worth it the airport is chaotic but we were fast tracked through and sat in the airport lounge with coffee drinks sandwiches newspapers all provided in the price we booked through thomson who took care of us

Room Tip: We'll worth paying extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Excellent hotel, with good service. Restaurant fine but a bit slow to clear after early rush. Beach not brilliant but ok. Lighting around the garden theatre quite poor as paths very uneven. Plenty of sunless and shade to be had didn't have to get up early to reserve beds which was a bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Susieplook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Visited this hotel in July for a week, all inclusive. The hotel, the room and the scenery were all fantastic. The food was delicious and the staff were brilliant. Always very helpful and friendly. I can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GoodFoodHappyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Above all the kids would say best wifi compared to any holiday over the last three years.

The resort had some great environmental policies. Something I not seen before displayed and shared so publicly.

Accommodation
Our room was great. We had a sea view. We upgraded for a slight larger room. We had a wet room too, only strange thing was that it had a glass door. Great for couples but I had to make sure the boys were away busy in their rooms.

Below us, from our balcony we could see the infinity pool. It was beautiful the view.

We have teenagers, their room was down the corridor. Basic and functional. Perfect for two teenage boys. We kept in touch on the resort with whats app and their perfect wifi.

Rooms were clean and tidy. Maids were excellent.

The mini bar only had water, it could have done with some soft drinks.
Food
Variety and enough to keep everyone happy. Breakfast was great, so important to have fresh juice, cereals, eggs but everything one needs for a healthy life style and it's great for those that needs pancakes/ waffles with chocolate too. Lunch was ok, but if you didn't fancy the buffet the pool bars offered food too. All inclusive really works well here because there is nothing near our resort. 15:00 is a great time to get crepes at the pool bar too.

Overall I'm a vegetarian and there was enough food to choose from.

Beach / pools
There was plenty of space for everyone we always found sun beds never a problem. There are 6 pools so again you be never felt crowded.

Entertainment
The theatre entertainment supplied for the children was very average however the evening entertainment for the adults was outstanding. I was very impressed with the quality. My best one was the three tenors, South African tribute band to Il Divo just amazing.

Great views for photo shots from the sunset bar, we used to all meet up for pre dinner drinks.

There is just so much to do like volleyball, yoga, Pilates , Aqua gym, water polo, step aerobics, stretching and relaxing, darts, ping pong the list is really endless.

Stayed: August 2014
13  Thank moononline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.9 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
2.6 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#13 of 177 in Rethymnon
737 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#9 of 177 in Rethymnon
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 177 in Rethymnon
657 reviews
46.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 174 in Hersonissos
3,226 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Palace Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Palace Luxury Resort

Address: Rethymnon, Crete GR 74100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#7 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#22 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: £146 - £718 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — White Palace Luxury Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your White Palace Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel El Greco Hotel Platanias
Grecotel El Greco Rethymnon
Grecotel El Greco Hotel Rethymnon
White Palace Luxury Resort Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing