We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Ranked #9 of 165 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Dendermonde
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN!”
Reviewed 8 August 2008

My brother and his family stayed in Porto Rethymno some years ago and recommended it to us. What he did not know is that in the meantime the management changed ....
We booked with VIP-selection (Jetair) a superior room with frontal seeview, so we payed a considerable supplement. As soon as we were shown the room, we realised that this was not the room we booked (we made a virtual visit on the internet and the room had lateral seeview) so we immediately went to the desk to complain. Not only the woman behind the counter but even the hotel (costumer) manager, Mr. Christos, told us we were liers! Fortunately I had with me the confirmation of our reservation, but even that was not good enough!
Two days later we were shown another room .. even worse then the one we were in! Three days later another one in the same style of the one we were in, but in the end we got embarressed and moved. Three days of our holidays gone and a lot of stress!!!
One night we were told in the restaurant that we could also take our diner in the à la carte restaurant without supplement. Since the personnel in the restaurant was very rude (very loud, shouting orders at each other from one end to the other) and the food not that good, we decided to go to the à la carte ... and had to pay €62! The choice on the menu was limited, but nobody had told us.
So on the fourth or fifth day our local hostess (finally) arrived, told us that she had feared for this already - they overbook all the time - and we asked for compensation. She came to have a look at the room, understood our complaint and told us that she would talk to the manager. Something we did not understand neither because we booked with her travel agency and they had to compensate us. Finally, to make a very long story short, we were told at the airport (!) that the manager told her that they had compensated us with whisky and raki ... this is not only very rude but it was OUR raki HE drank one evening he came to ask if everything was OK and we invited him to have a drink with us!!! And the complaint form we filled in for VIP-Selection probably never got there because we complained about the local hostess (absence, lack of knowledge, ..) as well.
Rethymno is great, Crete is great, but one good advise : never book a room in Porto Rethymno, it is waisted money!

  • Liked — Not far from the old town centre.
  • Disliked — Name it ...
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnetteLawlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    302
    88
    24
    19
See reviews for
212
623
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Courbevoie
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

First of all let me say that english is foreign language to me so bear imperfection but I thought this review would be more useful than in french since there were not so many french people in this hotel.

the hotel :
_ nice clean modern hotel, small but pleasant swimming pool. Ok this is city hotel. As said before the swimming pool closes too early : at 6PM even 5PM some days. Excellent private beach, comfortable, a lot of rooms
== beware == : no tap water at the restaurant, outrageous drink price ( about 4 euro a sparkling water bottle) even compared to other restaurants in town.
- outstanding fine cooked food , excellent breakfast. Let me insist on that: my mother and I are demanding as matter of food and we were both impressed with the food quality.

- hotel staff : professional friendly and comprehensive, they act as problem solver. My mother and I were surbooked the first night but got a upper suite room each in there next hotel which standing is at least as high as ours. We got a free meal as compensation. Since we were leaving late in the evening they let us use one of our two rooms until 6 PM which is rare in any hotel in the world. At the reception always at least a staff member would speak french whereas this is not very represented in this hotel.
- the hotel gives a hard try being first class hotel but their efforts repeatedly get ruined by customer manners: There are people that were bringing at the swimming pool all sort of floating object ( a floating boat and even scuba diver!) so that at the end you could even not swim.
These come into the hall in bathing suit and barefoot ( no tee shirt, no even tongs).
This should be addressed by tightening hotel rules.

the rooms:
modern and clean
- double curtain : this is pleasant detail so no sunlight comes in the morning
- handy drier outside on the balcony for bathing suits and towers.
- Air conditioning : works fine, at its lowest fan level almost inaudible and still effective.
Some cigarette smell from time to time in my room but still acceptable
== beware == of ripp off minibar price : like majority of customers go to the minimarket
opposite side of the road to get your everyday drinks and alcohols.
== beware == of the so called courtesy plate: fruits are for free but the instant coffee is not: 1.5 euro the
instant coffee stick, so is the mini springles chips pot ( an astronomical 3.20 euro charge for it)
The white whine seems free but not the one in refrigerator: again stay alerted!

As a whole we enjoyed a very good stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nico800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stourbridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

This hotel was everything promised in the write up, modern, comfortable and a great location for beach and shops. Food was so good we didnt feel the need to eat out at all. Staff are some of the best and certainly the friendliest we have come across. Although its always good to try new locations I'm pretty sure we'll revisit this one and have no hesitation on recommending it.

  • Liked — close to old town and harbour -faciltites at hotel
  • Disliked — busy main road
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank luvchoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crete
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

This is a super hotel with excellent staff, it is located centrally in the town, you only have to cross the road to the beach. If you want grass lawns this is not for you, the hotels that offer this are way out of town, so it would be a bus ride in or taxi to get close to all the amenities. Here everything is at hand, a short walk to the fabulous harbour and good eateries & shops etc. The sun loungers on the beach are provided by the hotel and they also bring out fruit on some days, not too closely packed together as in some other resorts. The food is consisitently of a high standard with the ever helpful staff, you can have a laugh with them which is good from any point of view. Rooms spacious and fab AC which is essential out here to get a break from the heat.
Complimentary drinks are abound on different occasions so you can relax and enjoy.
The shows are good if u are into that sort of thing, if not there are plenty of other amusements to keep you occupied.
All in all an excellent experience, no complaints.
Its your choice

  • Liked — Friendly staff, quality overall
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcm19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2008

This was our fourth visit to the Porto Rethymno and I can honestly say it just gets better every time. The staff are exceptional, all of them,from the cleaners to the management. And especially Yiannis who in my opinion is one of the best bar man anywhere.
The food is fantastic, in our 10 night stay, it was hardly ever repeated, and the barbques around the pool are out of this world.
Its position is great, 10 minute stroll into the harbour and the fantastic beach is only across the road, where there are free sunbeds and parasols. It has the prestigious blue flag award.
I could say much more about this fantastic hotel. But all Im going to say is I WILL DEFINETLY BE GOING BACK AGAIN NEXT YEAR!

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank ozzyessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We have just returned from a ten day stay at this hotel and wish we were back there! The hotel was as expected from the brochure description but was made all the more special through the friendly welcoming staff that work very hard there to ensure guests have an enjoyable stay.

Definitely a four star hotel but with lots of little touches such as the staff bringing watermelon to the beach for their guests on the 'hotter' days and of course the complimentary wine & fruit basket on your first day that you would expect from a five star hotel.

The only small negative is the pool area is quite small and only open until 3:30 on some days for their outdoor buffet evenings, still, no big deal as the beach is literally over the road.

You must eat out in the Old Town, a beautiful maze of narrow streets with restaurants whose tables spill out into the romantically lit paths, we also tried a busier restaurant called 'Symposium' whose food is absolutely lovely - and has awards for cooking its food the traditional cretan way.

Also if you want a nice cocktail in classy surroundings go to the 'Living Room' a very cool place - although it is so popular you will struggle to find a seat outside!!!

Would definitely recommend both Rethmynon and the hotel - a beautiful place that just oozes charm and character!

  • Liked — The location & hospitality
  • Disliked — Pools
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claireio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2008

Our first time in Crete and we had high expectations of this hotel from the travel agent's brochure. We had also heard from other travellers to Crete how friendly and welcoming were the Cretan people. Both expectations were completely fulfilled at this hotel, indeed the combination of the two made for a thoroughly wonderful holiday. The essentials that are needed for any hotel are for clean, comfortable rooms; tasty, fresh and varied food choices and staff that are efficient and amiable. The Porto Rethymno ticks all these boxes in abundance. Not too many of the rooms have good sea views and our room was at the back of the hotel, but it was quite enjoyable looking out on the quiet roads "people watching" so this was not an issue, whilst perhaps initially disappointing on arrival. But that was the only minor disappointment and we had not booked a sea view so no complaints. The room itself was well appointed with a complimentary fruit basket, water and wine awaiting us. There was well a stocked mini bar but what we thought was complimentary tea and coffee was charged for at quite expensive rates - again no problem we simply bought our own from the supermarket. The rooms have a good TV and CD/Radio as well as piped music if wanted. Bathrooms are all that you need. The daily maintenance of the room was exceptional and our chamber maid, Violetta, was great, leaving the rooms not only in perfect condition with linen changed regulary and towels everyday but she even left amusing heart shaped "sculptures" on our beds, made from whatever accessories we left on show in the room!

The food choices were hardly ever repeated in our 11 night stay and the highlights were the evening barbques around the pool and the absolutely wonderful lobster dinners held at extra charge in the a la carte restaurant each Wednesday. We succumbed to attending twice and did not regret our decision. The entertainment was good with some terrific dancers and gifted musicians. The hotel facilities were more than adequate and with a beautiful clean beach with free sunbeds and parasols opposite (and winning the prestigious blue flag award while we were there) and the choice of three small pools at the hotel no-one could be disappointed. The jewel of this hotel is, however, the wonderful staff. Having already given credit to Violetta we must say a special word about Eleni and Polina, the Guest Relations ladies. They were always there for you - helpful and happy - and couldn't have been better at giving friendly advice. Babis, the F&B Manager, educated in England where he had learnt the British sense of humour to great advantage was a joy. Irina, the animation manager, was also a great host and always on hand for a friendly word. Two of the stars though are the great bar staff - Yiannis - in his 17th year at the hotel (with 'Gregory' his more than capable substitute) and the incomparable Kiki. It made spending all our money on the quite expensive drinks almost painless, although we took maximum advantage of happy hour!
Truly a great hotel - one we shall be returning to many times.

  • Liked — The efficient and lovely staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank youngatheart55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
3.3 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
2,043 reviews
4.4 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#10 of 165 in Rethymnon
856 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#12 of 165 in Rethymnon
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 165 in Rethymnon
590 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 165 in Rethymnon
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquila Porto Rethymno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquila Porto Rethymno

Property: Aquila Porto Rethymno
Address: Venizelou 52A | & Sikelianou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rethymnon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#9 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Aquila Porto Rethymno 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the waterfront setting of the stunning northern coastline of Crete, Aquila Porto Rethymno brings the essence of an urban resort located within a striking distance of 700m from the city of Rethymno. The hotel presents a cosmopolitan escape, as you relax, dine and wander among Rethymno's most beautiful and historic sites offering the perfect base for business or leisure travelers. Chic, luxury hotel building and accommodation offer superb amenities and recreational facilities for all travelers. The hotel has been recognized internationally with prestigious awards and certifications for its commitment to the best service and hospitality. Porto Rethymno is an urban oasis featuring beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites which meet the needs of every traveler. The recently renovated guest rooms and suites have mostly views of Rethymno beach or the city harbor featuring a refreshing color palette inspired by a sophisticated fabulous setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aquila Porto Rethymno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquila Porto Rethymno Rethymnon
Porto Rethymnon
Hotel Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing