We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Nearby Hotels
Aristea Hotel Rethymnon(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
US$31
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bio Suites Hotel(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marinos Beach Hotel Apartments(Platanias)
US$72
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$283
US$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Leoniki Residence(Platanias)(Great Value!)
US$28
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Palazzino di Corina(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Theartemis Palace Hotel(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$126
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Rimondi Boutique Hotel(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$195
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,261)
Filter reviews
1,261 results
Traveller rating
753
349
103
29
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
753
349
103
29
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa la carte restaurantsea viewhalf boardold townbeach towelsmini barthe guest relations managerfree safebeach servicemain restaurantstandard roomplenty of sunbedsblue flag beachprivate beachindoor poolrestaurant staffthe air conditioning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
607 - 612 of 1,261 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We did not stay here we just came and used their beach and roof terrace for coffees. They were helpful and had loads of faculties. They did not mind we were guests at another hotel. They were helpful and accommodating. The hotel was clean and well equipped. Professional staff. Well worth a visit for lunch or to stay

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank KatieH535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The staff is exceptionally pleasant, the food is also above standard quality, but the swimming pools and the rooms are smaller than expected for a holiday hotel. The closeness to the beach, which is very well maintained, compensates for the small pools in the late summer/autumn season when the sea water is warm.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Solveig47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Easy check-in and made welcome. First impressions were that the hotel is crammed into a small space and everything in the hotel is on the small size. We booked late so could only get side view room. To be honest we never sat on the balcony or left the door open as it was so noisy from activity on the side street. Suppose we should have realised that picking a place in town was going to have its downsides. Room was well appointed with a huge bed, very comfortable and a sofa and chair and a desk with another chair. Plenty of wardrobe space and a free to use safe inside. The bathroom was disappointing as you had to stand in the bath for a shower and the base of the bath is very curved which made you feel very conscious how you moved about. The hotel bar area has limited seating and the lounge area is a bit of a waste of space - could be better incorporated I think. Due to the tightness of space the main pool is on the smallish size with very few sunbeds. No-one ever tried to save a bed whilst we were there as to be honest the sun only stays on the beds for half a day and balconies and hallways overlook you too much. The beach is the place to be with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas that are free to use for all hotel residents. The beach is lovely and sandy with a little shingle stone on the edge as you enter the sea. Drinks available on the beach and beach towels exchanged. The tiny infinity pool on the first level deck was so cold I never saw anyone use it but quite a few sunbathers were on the sunbeds adjacent. The indoor pool again tiny and freezing but the spa was warmer. The restaurant again smaller than needed and crammed in quite close. The management of the restaurant and its turnover is so very well managed, we never had to wait for a table. The range of food available is excellent and we never could go hungry, only problem is that the temperature of the food is more tepid than hot but that didn't bother us too much. The staff throughout the hotel were so pleasant and attentive and extremely professional. All in all we had a wonderful holiday and I think we need to consider next time when booking whether we want the lagoon pools and large rooms and plenty of space - but out of town, or do we accept the smaller, more crammed in style with adjacent noise for the sake of being in town and being able to stroll into the centre of town and not need to hire a car or use the bus!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have less noise from the streets around.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Blue4Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We booked this hotel through Thomson and were not disappointed by the hotel. It was over the road to the private beach which had loungers and umbrellas. We went towards the end of October and it was evident that most of the tourist shops, etc. were winding down. Towards the end of our week the dining room seemed to get emptier and the staff gradually reducing which made sense. The weather was still very warm. The food was excellent and always more than enough choices. The desserts were fabulous. Cannot really fault the hotel apart from a few areas that could be improved. The beds were quite hard and we had opted for twin beds. The sheet and blanket barely tucked in at the sides. We did not pay extra (alot more) for a newly upgraded room but did pay extra for a sea view with balcony which was excellent. The air conditioning did not seem to blow out cold air but just circulate what was already there. There was no way of adjusting the temperature, just the speed of the fan. The room was a good size but a bit shabby - carpet, bathroom, etc. There was a very useful mini fridge. The replenishment of tea/coffee and bathroom toiletries was not consistent each day and may have been according to who the member of staff was. We had a room on the fourth floor which was away from the traffic. We had asked for a quiet room and was not disappointed. We had half board which was probably just as well as we may have spent the entire week eating!

Room Tip: Have a room with a sea view and balcony and ask for a high number floor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 186338travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We booked late and stayed on the sixth floor with a balcony and sea view [The view was from the balcony,2 chairs and a table, rather than direct in our instance].

Staff were excellent throughout and communal areas were well presented. However the room was a little tired at what was the end of the season with a very small amount of water damage in the bathroom unit, walls in the room needing redecorating and the carpet needing cleaning to remove stains but the room was otherwise clean.

There was no dedicated parking for our hire car but again we had limited difficulty in finding a parking spot on nearby streets. WIFi was free for your own computer but a charge of 5 Euros was levied for a half hour and 8 Euro per hour for use of the hotel's computers.

Do not let the above put you of because they are the only criticisms.

We had half board and breakfast evening meals were very good in the main restaurant with extensive hot and cold buffet and dessert tables to suit all needs / desires. It was a buffet self service for all but the main course in the evening and you could supplement this from the buffet. Excellent in the circumstances given that it was servicing around 80 tables as opposed to the limited number for other restaurants I have reviewed.
A separate superior a la carte restaurant was available for those guests who wished to use it at additional cost but on the second week of our holiday this had closed for the end of the season so we were unable to take advantage.

There was a coffee and cake bar in the complex with a sea view and interior and exterior seating. We took advantage of the coffee and cake discount before 5pm each day.

Entertainment was provided on some nights in the bar or restaurant and a glass of champagne was provided for one breakfast each week. There was a small book shelf with recent novels and British and German newspapers in reception on most days for the use of guests.

A bottle of wine, a bottle of water and some nougat was provided in the room at commencement but not thereafter. A kettle, tea and coffee were provided and a fridge but you will need to get milk from the supermarket opposite to the hotel entrance.
Plenty of toiletries were also provided daily and a free key operated room safe.


There is a dedicated beach area with loungers and umbrellas for the hotel with dressing cubicles, showers and a dedicated attendant providing towels. It is across the road from the hotel.

There are also two external swimming pools in the complex with better quality loungers and a small interior pool and fitness centre.

Unless you are a beach person you need to ensure that transport / tours are available with Rethymnon ideally placed for visiting resorts and places of interest on the North and South coasts.
We walked the Imbros Gorge [Much easier than the Samarian Gorge that we have previously visited] and visited Chania, Heraklion and Elounda, the latter for a boat trip to the leper colony island.

Driving a car there is relatively straight forward once you are used to left hand driving although road signs are hit and miss in more ways than one with locals tending to shoot or vandalise them.

Room Tip: The sixth [Top] floor was ideal for us with two lifts available for access aside from stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews