We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rethymno Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Ranked #8 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2008

My wife and I stopped here between 16th and 30th September.I agree with the previous comments concerning local noise from mopeds and cars. We were very fortunate in having a room facing the sea so we did not experience having a balcony overlooking the road and the local flats at the side of the hotel.I did remark to my wife that I would'nt be too happy if I had one of the side rooms.
We thought that the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were half board and the breakfasts and evening meals were in our opinion excellent.
My wife has to have a Gluten free diet so she spoke to the Chef . He advised her as to what food did'nt have wheat or barley in them. He even did some special desserts for her.
The Hotel drinks are quite expensive so we purchased bottles of wine from a supermarket on the front and drank the wine after dinner !!
We used the sun beds on the beach throughout our holiday as there is not much poolside room at the hotel. There are 2 small outside pools but they are very small and quite useles really.
This is a very nice comfortable and contemporary hotel which is very close to the harbour.If you want a hotel with nice palm tree gardens then this is'nt for you.
After all that we did enjoy our stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bromsgrovepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

842 - 848 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2008

This hotel, rated 4T+ by Thomson, though excellent in many ways, does nevertheless have faults. It is very noisy, being centrally situated alongside a busy promenade which has to be crossed to reach the beach, festooned for miles with endless sunbeds and parasols. Busy streets with noisy scooters and motor bikes surround the hotel. The hotel does not have any gardens at all and there is no parking area. Any hire car must be parked in the surrounding streets and space can be quite hard to find - sometimes hundreds of yards away. In the hotel restaurant, any undrunk wine at a meal cannot be corked and held over for the next evening - surprising!. With a bottle of wine costing between £16 & £23 this would be very expensive, so we drank in our room prior to eating. Drinks generally are expensive and the food not exciting at all, although breakfasts were good. Thomson advertise tea and coffee facilities in the room but after the initial day we were not allowed any more, so we bought Nescafe and tea-bags from the local supermarket. Many people complaining about this. We had asked for a pool-view room and were given one at the back directly above a busy street and facing tenement dwellings. When asked to move the hotel could only offer us a 2-bedroom at an additional cost of 20 euros per night (£160 in total) and this room was also very near to the road., so we turned it down. Altogether, not our best holiday and we shall not return to this particular hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theatre2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

The Porto Rethymno is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. This is our second trip to this hotel and apart from the one gripe (already mentioned earlier re charges for tea and coffee in the rooms) I can't fault it. Down town especially recommend the bar in the harbour next to where the barbossa ship is anchored. Very friendly barmen (free ouzo every time!!) and they are not as pushy as the other bar owners which puts me off, one actually stopped me moving further down the harbour until he had told me about his resturant !! needless to say we didn't go in as do not respond to the somewhat bully boy tactics employed around there. However this was small gripes and did not spoil the evenings or stopped us going around the harbour as it is lovely in the evenings. Would I recommend the hotel? absolutely and are planning our next trip in a couple of years although I would not be upset if I had to go back next year!!!! its a hard life.

Stayed: August 2008
2  Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

We arrived at the hotel for our 2 week holiday expecting great things from so many positive reviews, and our expectations were well and truely exceeded.
The public areas are very elegant and comfortable with the front decking and pool area our favourite with views of the beach and comfy sofas to relax on.
Our standard room did not match other areas in decor but was not lacking on space or amenities.
The level of service from all the staff was always consistently great and this is what makes the hotel so special. Babis and Eleni certainly added greatly to our enjoyment.
The beach was always clean with plenty of available sunbeds. We really liked the waiter service together with the complimentary bottled water in a bucket full of ice that arrrived with our orders.
Even after 2 weeks we were still enjoying the food as there was always plenty of choice as well as being very fresh, but the Bbq nights were a clear winner. Again the staff were always on form, greeeting us each time and escorting us to our table. They were always friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you!
The evening entertainment was fun but we would of liked an evening we could of danced more.
Overall the hotel is fabulous hotel and we will return.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TeamHbollington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

The stay was okay but do not be fooled by the 5* rating. We had booked a standard room in this so-called 5* hotel and the quality of the rooms was despicable. In a fit of rage, my wife had a word or two with the desk manager that helped solve the issue by asking for an upgrade, offering a good opportunity for the hotel staff to upsell (for €60-80 extra) the superior rooms that are actually quite civilized.
In short, the rooms at the hotel are 3*. The hotel overall is a 4* if you stay in the superior rooms. Otherwise, food okay, fairly clean, nice staff and fairly nice ammenities - but why would anyone put a pool and jacuzzi in the same room as electric treadmills and other gym equipment?

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlkallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2008

My brother and his family stayed in Porto Rethymno some years ago and recommended it to us. What he did not know is that in the meantime the management changed ....
We booked with VIP-selection (Jetair) a superior room with frontal seeview, so we payed a considerable supplement. As soon as we were shown the room, we realised that this was not the room we booked (we made a virtual visit on the internet and the room had lateral seeview) so we immediately went to the desk to complain. Not only the woman behind the counter but even the hotel (costumer) manager, Mr. Christos, told us we were liers! Fortunately I had with me the confirmation of our reservation, but even that was not good enough!
Two days later we were shown another room .. even worse then the one we were in! Three days later another one in the same style of the one we were in, but in the end we got embarressed and moved. Three days of our holidays gone and a lot of stress!!!
One night we were told in the restaurant that we could also take our diner in the à la carte restaurant without supplement. Since the personnel in the restaurant was very rude (very loud, shouting orders at each other from one end to the other) and the food not that good, we decided to go to the à la carte ... and had to pay €62! The choice on the menu was limited, but nobody had told us.
So on the fourth or fifth day our local hostess (finally) arrived, told us that she had feared for this already - they overbook all the time - and we asked for compensation. She came to have a look at the room, understood our complaint and told us that she would talk to the manager. Something we did not understand neither because we booked with her travel agency and they had to compensate us. Finally, to make a very long story short, we were told at the airport (!) that the manager told her that they had compensated us with whisky and raki ... this is not only very rude but it was OUR raki HE drank one evening he came to ask if everything was OK and we invited him to have a drink with us!!! And the complaint form we filled in for VIP-Selection probably never got there because we complained about the local hostess (absence, lack of knowledge, ..) as well.
Rethymno is great, Crete is great, but one good advise : never book a room in Porto Rethymno, it is waisted money!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnetteLawlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

First of all let me say that english is foreign language to me so bear imperfection but I thought this review would be more useful than in french since there were not so many french people in this hotel.

the hotel :
_ nice clean modern hotel, small but pleasant swimming pool. Ok this is city hotel. As said before the swimming pool closes too early : at 6PM even 5PM some days. Excellent private beach, comfortable, a lot of rooms
== beware == : no tap water at the restaurant, outrageous drink price ( about 4 euro a sparkling water bottle) even compared to other restaurants in town.
- outstanding fine cooked food , excellent breakfast. Let me insist on that: my mother and I are demanding as matter of food and we were both impressed with the food quality.

- hotel staff : professional friendly and comprehensive, they act as problem solver. My mother and I were surbooked the first night but got a upper suite room each in there next hotel which standing is at least as high as ours. We got a free meal as compensation. Since we were leaving late in the evening they let us use one of our two rooms until 6 PM which is rare in any hotel in the world. At the reception always at least a staff member would speak french whereas this is not very represented in this hotel.
- the hotel gives a hard try being first class hotel but their efforts repeatedly get ruined by customer manners: There are people that were bringing at the swimming pool all sort of floating object ( a floating boat and even scuba diver!) so that at the end you could even not swim.
These come into the hall in bathing suit and barefoot ( no tee shirt, no even tongs).
This should be addressed by tightening hotel rules.

the rooms:
modern and clean
- double curtain : this is pleasant detail so no sunlight comes in the morning
- handy drier outside on the balcony for bathing suits and towers.
- Air conditioning : works fine, at its lowest fan level almost inaudible and still effective.
Some cigarette smell from time to time in my room but still acceptable
== beware == of ripp off minibar price : like majority of customers go to the minimarket
opposite side of the road to get your everyday drinks and alcohols.
== beware == of the so called courtesy plate: fruits are for free but the instant coffee is not: 1.5 euro the
instant coffee stick, so is the mini springles chips pot ( an astronomical 3.20 euro charge for it)
The white whine seems free but not the one in refrigerator: again stay alerted!

As a whole we enjoyed a very good stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank nico800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
3.3 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
2,333 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
653 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#16 of 175 in Rethymnon
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kriti Beach Hotel
Kriti Beach Hotel
#24 of 175 in Rethymnon
254 reviews
3.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
4.4 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#12 of 175 in Rethymnon
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquila Porto Rethymno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquila Porto Rethymno

Address: Venizelou 52A | Sikelianou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rethymnon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#9 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: £57 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aquila Porto Rethymno 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the waterfront setting of the stunning northern coastline of Crete, Aquila Porto Rethymno brings the essence of an urban resort located within a striking distance of 700m from the city of Rethymno. The hotel presents a cosmopolitan escape, as you relax, dine and wander among Rethymno's most beautiful and historic sites offering the perfect base for business or leisure travelers. Chic, luxury hotel building and accommodation offer superb amenities and recreational facilities for all travelers. The hotel has been recognized internationally with prestigious awards and certifications for its commitment to the best service and hospitality. Porto Rethymno is an urban oasis featuring beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites which meet the needs of every traveler. The recently renovated guest rooms and suites have mostly views of Rethymno beach or the city harbor featuring a refreshing color palette inspired by a sophisticated fabulous setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aquila Porto Rethymno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquila Porto Rethymno Rethymnon
Porto Rethymnon
Hotel Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing