We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food and friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Ranked #8 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Room with a good sea view was as we had hoped it would be, a bit on the small size but cleaned well daily and no issues.
Dining room was bright and airy, something for everyone food wise and a high quality selection to choose from at breakfast and dinner. Staff were always quick to help and extremely polite.
There were a few issues with some guests reserving the best sunbeds on the beach from 5.50 am onwards but not arriving to take up their places until 10.30 - 11.00 am. The hotel was in the process of illiminating this problem and a member of staff would remove all reserved towels, freeing up the sunbeds for other guests who wanted to spend time on the beach at earlier times.
We were a little dissappointed with check out times. We had to check out from our room before 12 noon and then move to our allocated room for late check out, which we had paid for through Thompson. Unfortunately we then had to leave this room at 6pm (company policy) and leave our luggage in a back room until our coach picked us up at 8.50pm. In the time we had to wait in the hotel, we were not allowed to sit in any of the loby areas with our suitcases, We had to sit in a corner by the room our cases had been stored. The porter kindly suggested that we could go and have a shower whilst we awaited the coach but we advised that we couldnt because we had to check out of our room earlier !!!! We hope this kind of problem can we rectified.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up as quieter and also with either a port or full sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just returned from this hotel, and would recommend this to all. A modern hotel ideally situated about a 15 minute stroll into the beautiful old town. Staff in the hotel are first class, very genuine in all there dealings with the customers.
Room was nice and had all you would need, we stayed AI and we found this to be very good, no complicated AI system and no catches, bar open until 0100 . There was a Cafe/bar in the hotel that was actually locate at the front by the main road, a great place to people watch and relax.
The location was perfect, just across the road from a private beach, which had free sun beds and beach towels, the beach was very clean as was the sea.
The only thing that we found a little disappointing was the 2 swimming pools in the hotel, they were very small but clean, the way the hotel had been constructed meant that there was not much room for the pools.
Entertainment was okay, with some good Greek music.
The hotel was quite up market, all men had to wear long trousers for dinner in the evening, the food was very good with plenty of choices.
A lovely week spent in Crete, would return.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I have recently arrived back in the UK after spending a week here with three friends (we are all 21) and can not express how good this hotel was!! The hotel staff were all extremely friendly and helpful throughout the stay. The food served in the restaurant was fantastic every night, I am a vegetarian and there was still plenty of choice and all food was clearly labelled. The rooms were always kept clean, along with the rest of the hotel which was set in an excellent location right on the beach with shops ect within walking distance. I would most definitely recommended this hotel and hope to go back soon!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachelForeman_93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I absolutely loved this hotel and holiday! Such a beautiful part of Crete to visit and the staff within the hotel were very friendly and approachable. I went with a group of friends to celebrate finishing university and although there was many people there older than us, we got a very good welcoming. If you are after a relaxing holiday then this hotel and destination is for you, with the beach just across the road and shops/clubs/restaurants located all around the hotel there is no need for getting a taxi anywhere. We also went on a few trips through Thompsons which were all excellent value for money and made the trip even more enjoyable. Would highly recommend the Catamaran, water park and red open top tour bus! absolutely fantastic holiday and the weather was hot all week which was even better!!

Room Tip: We had a standard room which was fine for us as we did not intend on spending time in the room. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have just returned from our second holiday at this hotel and once again we had a great time. The hotel is opposite the beach and a short walk to the old town. As a thank you for returning we had flowers, fruit and a bottle of wine in our room when we arrived.
All the staff in the hotel are so friendly. We regularly exchanged our evening meal in the buffet restaurant for lunch in the a la carte restaurant so we could go in to the old town at night. The staff in the a la carte restaurant once again made our holiday extra special. The head waiter Vassilis and Toula made us feel so welcome. The meals in this restaurant are superb.
The food in the buffet restaurant is also very good and I have never seen such a wide choice of food at breakfast.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and are planning to return next year.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth the small extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Just come back from 12 days at the Aquila Porto Rethymnon half board in a superior sea view room. Hotel first class would recommend for the west coastal area. Located on the north coast and a "U" shaped building which limits sun to some balconies.The quality of our room on the 5th floor was excellent, full sea view and many extras as part of the Mythica package.Buffet dining was faultless under Giorgos Skouloudis and his staff, with an excellent choice of dishes. Buffet serving area was compact but had a quick replenishment of food. In general all staff were friendly and very helpful. Plenty of seating areas within the hotel and plenty of loungers by the pool and on the beach across the road. No reserving with towels!! Hotel on the main drag to the harbour and old town, both walkable. Would thoroughly recommend the open top bus ride, an hour and a half hop on hop off trip for 12 euros pp. Market average on a Thursday. Bus station is at the back of fort, we caught the hourly bus to Chania for 6.20 euros pp each way (can get return ticket) Get there in plenty of time!! The old town is lovely like Venice with mopeds!!Atmosphere on a hot day can be a bit fumed!! Thomson rep Sarah from Wales! was excellent, welcome meeting with enough info without being OTT. Not impressed with the a la carte restaurant, not clear what is included on the Mythica menu, our meals took 2 hours, one was just warm the other was well over cooked and kept warm!! Not a patch on the buffet, for food, atmosphere or friendly service. We may have been unlucky and brought it to the attention of Customer Relations. This would not stop us strongly recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: High floor in centre of "U" shaped building are furthest from road eg 514 to 524 but do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Visited here for the second time and defiantly not as good as the first time. In this hotel money talks! We payed a little extra the first time we visited and were greeted with a nice sea view and a bottle of champagne.

However when we visited the second time round we noticed a big change in staff attitude towards us. First of all we were shown to our room which was not a sea view (I understand that as we did not pay for it) however what we did pay for was a five star hotel room which was not provided.
The room was grubby, the carpets were stained and faded, we had a small child with us which they were aware of and they didn't seem to care. The rooms were very dated and the bathroom was dirty and smelled bad. I rang through to the desk and spoke with them and they seemed annoyed that I had complained and were not very helpful. They finally agreed to switch rooms with us but we had to wait two hours for this to happen.

The food was nice with a great variety of food available in the restaurant, thats if you can get in there without being sent back to your room as men are not permitted to wear shorts!! I do agree that men should look smart, which we always do, but being sent back to your room to change when you are trying to relax on holiday is unacceptable as there was no warning of this prior to packing our luggage. I also had a feeling that guest that tipped generously seemed to get treated a lot nicer than those who chose not to.

The small cafe/bar was nice however drinks were expensive (you still have to pay if you are all inclusive, just discounted prices). Therefore eating and having a drink in this cafe proved to be very expensive.

On one of the days that we stayed at this hotel it rained, therefore we decided to go to the indoor pool area, and honestly it would have been warmer to go for a swim in the sea. None of the pools at this hotel are heated, making it difficult to try and keep an 18 month entertained impossible.

Even though this hotel states that it is family friendly, I do not feel that it is, even though we saw a play room for children to play in, it was not open.

The indoor pool was unusa

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank 665jessica12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kon_Vogiatzis, Marketing Coordinator at Aquila Porto Rethymno, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having selected our hotel once again to spend you summer holidays last year.
We have read very carefully your review and have respectfully noted all your comments regarding each department individually.

Starting with the welcome offer in the rooms, kindly note that this differs from the standard rooms to “Mythica Class” rooms (which includes the superior, deluxe rooms & our suites) , so on your first visit , having reserved a “Mythica Class” room, you enjoyed the privileges offered on this category.
With regards to your room, we always provide to our guests the type of rooms reserved & in your case we did offer the type of room you have initially booked. We are sorry that the standards of the room did not reach your expectations, but we always offer some alternative options if our guests are not satisfied, as we did, presenting you a new room properly (the standard time for the preparation of a room takes 1 -2 hours).
For your information, last year we renovated 150 rooms & replaced the floor carpets with tiles .
In addition, allow me to say that it’s rather unfair to say that the staff seemed annoyed towards your request, as all our employees are working hard & have as a main goal to help making your holiday as pleasant as possible.
Concerning the dress code in the main restaurant, kindly note that it is clearly mentioned in all of our Tour Operator’s brochures, that men should wear long trousers in the Main Restaurant during the Dinner. This is a policy that all the 5* Hotels have to follow strictly.
Also, our guests’ handling is the same & at any case is not based onto tipping procedures; I feel sorry you had this feeling.
Reaching the All Inclusive drinks, kindly note that our hotel is based on a Premium All Inclusive plan & not a full one. This means that we offer a great variety of labeled beverages, as well as a great range of delicacies, some of which are included in the All Inclusive package free of charge & some others under a discount ( 35 % on special alcoholic labels and bottled alcohol in all Food & Beverage outlets) .
As per our indoor pool area, it is mentioned in all our Tour Operator’s brochures that our indoor pool is heated only in April & October, where the weather is quite cold.
Finally, kindly note that as our Hotel has limited children facilities as it is located within the city limits. In our brochures is also stated clearly that the our children’s “Mini Club” operates from June-September .

In closing, I feel sorry that you were not that satisfied as your first stay in our Hotel & do hope that you will have the chance to experience a pleasant stay with us, in the not too distant future.


Best regards,

Kostas Damanakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
3.3 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
2,336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kriti Beach Hotel
Kriti Beach Hotel
#23 of 175 in Rethymnon
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#15 of 175 in Rethymnon
737 reviews
4.4 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#11 of 175 in Rethymnon
963 reviews
3.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquila Porto Rethymno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquila Porto Rethymno

Address: Venizelou 52A | Sikelianou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rethymnon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#9 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: £60 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aquila Porto Rethymno 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the waterfront setting of the stunning northern coastline of Crete, Aquila Porto Rethymno brings the essence of an urban resort located within a striking distance of 700m from the city of Rethymno. The hotel presents a cosmopolitan escape, as you relax, dine and wander among Rethymno's most beautiful and historic sites offering the perfect base for business or leisure travelers. Chic, luxury hotel building and accommodation offer superb amenities and recreational facilities for all travelers. The hotel has been recognized internationally with prestigious awards and certifications for its commitment to the best service and hospitality. Porto Rethymno is an urban oasis featuring beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites which meet the needs of every traveler. The recently renovated guest rooms and suites have mostly views of Rethymno beach or the city harbor featuring a refreshing color palette inspired by a sophisticated fabulous setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aquila Porto Rethymno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquila Porto Rethymno Rethymnon
Porto Rethymnon
Hotel Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing