We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Ranked #8 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gorgeous family hotel”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It's a family hotel with evrth you need for you and your kids comfortable stay. Good accommodation. Good food, very nice beach, very very nice kids and adults animation. Big territory, friendly team. Thanks to Yannis front desk manager for his attention to clients. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Family suits or rooms on the left wing of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yanina2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    306
    90
    24
    21
See reviews for
221
639
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Booked a week here through Thomson, with the Mythica package included. Had a great start to the holiday with a complimentary bottle of champagne on ice waiting for us. The room was small but adequate and sea view was good. There was a problem with the air con but the Thomson rep sorted that for us. The service at the hotel was first class, there always seemed plenty of staff on hand and they were all friendly and helpful. The buffet service at mealtimes was excellent with a surprisingly good standard of food. The a la carte option was a highlight of the week away and thoroughly recommended. Access to the beach is just crossing the road and the centre of Rethymon old town is a 15 minute walk along the seafront. Only down side was that the decor is getting close to needing a return, will be required in a year or two.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here for two weeks and really enjoyed the experience.We were lucky to have booked a deluxe room as they are the best situated in terms of sea view and balcony.The location is very good,10mins walk to the port and right across the road from the beach..The hotel have their own sunbeds ,the beach is clean with a gentle slop into the sea.We had half board allowing us to use the a la carte restaurant each night.The food was excellent ,good menu,good variety ,very good presentation.Staff outstanding led by Vissilius supported by the lovely Kiki and Toola.We cant really say enough about them.The other restaurant serves buffet food and an excellent breakfast with everything you would ever need.Georgios,the mat're de makes everyone feel special regardless of who they are.Considering how hard they all work ,the long hours it is amazing how they keep smiling.
There is a small outdoor pool in the hotel but it is quite shaded and can be cold early in the year.The hotel is rated 5 star but it is hard to see how this is justified against other 5 star hotels in Europe.The rooms are dated ,the carpet was stained ,faded and worn with a small bathroom in need of refurbishment and a door that does'nt open fully as it is obstructed by the sink.Furniture scratched and marked.WiFi would only work very infrequently in the room which means a trip to the lobby each time you need to use it.There is no iron in the room and the minimum of coffee and milk is replenished once a day usually in the evening.Entertainment is provided each evening.
There are plenty of shops near the hotel,go out the side of the hotel and turn right up the hill by the church and it brings you to the main street,there are good sandwich and patisserie shops along this route.One at the top of the road,Kyonoz, had lovely cream buns which the owners let us try when buying other items.The main bus station has frequent buses to Chania and Iraklion and there are markets every Thursday and Friday in Rethymno.The local supermarket ,Inka,is 3 mins away .Go onto the beach road towards town ,100mtrs turn left at Kriti hotel go up the hill 100mtrs and it is on the left,good selection at local prices.
The hotel is always booked out so you are unlikely to get a late check out .

Room Tip: You need a room on the 3-5 floor with a full sea view to appreciate this hotel.Other rooms can be di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Room with a good sea view was as we had hoped it would be, a bit on the small size but cleaned well daily and no issues.
Dining room was bright and airy, something for everyone food wise and a high quality selection to choose from at breakfast and dinner. Staff were always quick to help and extremely polite.
There were a few issues with some guests reserving the best sunbeds on the beach from 5.50 am onwards but not arriving to take up their places until 10.30 - 11.00 am. The hotel was in the process of illiminating this problem and a member of staff would remove all reserved towels, freeing up the sunbeds for other guests who wanted to spend time on the beach at earlier times.
We were a little dissappointed with check out times. We had to check out from our room before 12 noon and then move to our allocated room for late check out, which we had paid for through Thompson. Unfortunately we then had to leave this room at 6pm (company policy) and leave our luggage in a back room until our coach picked us up at 8.50pm. In the time we had to wait in the hotel, we were not allowed to sit in any of the loby areas with our suitcases, We had to sit in a corner by the room our cases had been stored. The porter kindly suggested that we could go and have a shower whilst we awaited the coach but we advised that we couldnt because we had to check out of our room earlier !!!! We hope this kind of problem can we rectified.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up as quieter and also with either a port or full sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just returned from this hotel, and would recommend this to all. A modern hotel ideally situated about a 15 minute stroll into the beautiful old town. Staff in the hotel are first class, very genuine in all there dealings with the customers.
Room was nice and had all you would need, we stayed AI and we found this to be very good, no complicated AI system and no catches, bar open until 0100 . There was a Cafe/bar in the hotel that was actually locate at the front by the main road, a great place to people watch and relax.
The location was perfect, just across the road from a private beach, which had free sun beds and beach towels, the beach was very clean as was the sea.
The only thing that we found a little disappointing was the 2 swimming pools in the hotel, they were very small but clean, the way the hotel had been constructed meant that there was not much room for the pools.
Entertainment was okay, with some good Greek music.
The hotel was quite up market, all men had to wear long trousers for dinner in the evening, the food was very good with plenty of choices.
A lovely week spent in Crete, would return.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I have recently arrived back in the UK after spending a week here with three friends (we are all 21) and can not express how good this hotel was!! The hotel staff were all extremely friendly and helpful throughout the stay. The food served in the restaurant was fantastic every night, I am a vegetarian and there was still plenty of choice and all food was clearly labelled. The rooms were always kept clean, along with the rest of the hotel which was set in an excellent location right on the beach with shops ect within walking distance. I would most definitely recommended this hotel and hope to go back soon!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachelForeman_93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I absolutely loved this hotel and holiday! Such a beautiful part of Crete to visit and the staff within the hotel were very friendly and approachable. I went with a group of friends to celebrate finishing university and although there was many people there older than us, we got a very good welcoming. If you are after a relaxing holiday then this hotel and destination is for you, with the beach just across the road and shops/clubs/restaurants located all around the hotel there is no need for getting a taxi anywhere. We also went on a few trips through Thompsons which were all excellent value for money and made the trip even more enjoyable. Would highly recommend the Catamaran, water park and red open top tour bus! absolutely fantastic holiday and the weather was hot all week which was even better!!

Room Tip: We had a standard room which was fine for us as we did not intend on spending time in the room. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
3.3 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
2,127 reviews
4.4 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#10 of 175 in Rethymnon
887 reviews
3.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#11 of 175 in Rethymnon
656 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kriti Beach Hotel
Kriti Beach Hotel
#28 of 175 in Rethymnon
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquila Porto Rethymno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquila Porto Rethymno

Property: Aquila Porto Rethymno
Address: Venizelou 52A | & Sikelianou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rethymnon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#9 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Aquila Porto Rethymno 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the waterfront setting of the stunning northern coastline of Crete, Aquila Porto Rethymno brings the essence of an urban resort located within a striking distance of 700m from the city of Rethymno. The hotel presents a cosmopolitan escape, as you relax, dine and wander among Rethymno's most beautiful and historic sites offering the perfect base for business or leisure travelers. Chic, luxury hotel building and accommodation offer superb amenities and recreational facilities for all travelers. The hotel has been recognized internationally with prestigious awards and certifications for its commitment to the best service and hospitality. Porto Rethymno is an urban oasis featuring beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites which meet the needs of every traveler. The recently renovated guest rooms and suites have mostly views of Rethymno beach or the city harbor featuring a refreshing color palette inspired by a sophisticated fabulous setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aquila Porto Rethymno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquila Porto Rethymno Rethymnon
Porto Rethymnon
Hotel Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing