We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Ranked #8 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We have just returned from this hotel .. yesterday in fact,,We booked our holiday with Thompsons.Checkin was quick and efficient with a cold drinks given out whilst we filled in our details..Our room was at the back of the hotel, without a seaview.. we knew this and was not really that disapointed . The room was slightly dated, grouting in bathroom, and carpets on the floor BUT it was extremely clean and had EVERYTHING you could want, This included tea/coffee facilities, tv, cd player, and bath robes etc.. Unfortanately our air conditioning wasnt working.They tried to repair it as soon as we let them know, but to no avail.But we changed rooms within an hour and everything was fine.. All around the hotel everything is kept very clean and tidy.. Our room was spotless everyday, clean towels and bedding.. The public spaces are modern with lots of sofas to chill our on or read a book.. Both outdoor pools are on the small side, and the loungers are fairly close together but again they were kept spotless. It appeared that most people went to the beach anyway.. The beach is just across the road which we had no trouble crossing.. advice is not to trust the zebra outside the hotel, as not many people stopped to let us cross..The beach is great, huge and sandy.. The loungers and umbrellas are very well spaced out with lots of space between them,, There are showers and beach towels provided(very handy) .. The beach guys keep things tidy and you can order drinks etc from them.. The sea was warm, and calm. One day the sea did whip up a bit, and there were some waves.. The green flag was changed by the life guards..well done to them.. Around the hotel are lots of restaurants,supermarkets, tourist shops etc..A haagen dazs coffee shop was just across the road, which again was nice..The hotel is in the more modern part, but 10 minute walk along the promenade is the old town..We found this delightful..the venetian harbour is full of restaurants and bars.. and then at the back are tiny streets with good shops,squares etc.. This is well worth a wander in the daylight for photos and in the evening for a drink etc.. There are also museums and a fort..
I can not praise the staff highly enough, from the Matre D, to bar staff, maids etc were brilliant.. Extremely helpful and friendly..One day on the beach, it was lovely to see around 7 waiters, and 2 Managers of the restaurants , giving out watermelon, cut up,on plates,including serviettes.. I have only experienced this kind of service in the far east.. brilliant.
Now to the food, again we thought this was excellent..A vast array of international and local delights,, there was something for everyone.. The bread was artisan, and not a supermarket cut loaf in sight.. There was a bar b q evening around the pool,which was great, this included all types of meat and even snails to try..plus and italian evening.. Again breakfast was great, including smothies.
In the evening the bar at the front of the hotel , was a lovely place to have a drink or coffee, Entertainment was as we like it, laid back singers, some greek dancing, and a very good brazilain show...
I would thoroughly recommend whis hotel, and we hope to return in the future..

Room Tip: Take some flip flops for the beach... sand is sooooo hot!!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank wendyselwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,156)
There are newer reviews for Aquila Porto Rethymno
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

Me & my wife had our first holiday in 20 years without the children. We wanted a relaxing holiday and to be looked after, this hotel provided this. The hotel was great, staff very helpful and always willing to help and the service was excellent. The food was good with a great variety for all. We got upgraded to the A la carte restaurant on 2 occasions with no extra cost. The staff in the restaurant are waiting for you at the entrance to seat you always with a smile and a handshake. I will be returning to this hotel in the next few years has they know how to make you feel relaxed and give you that 5* treatment.
The general manager was always around and anything that was not to his high standard was addressed. Keep up the good work guys and we will see you again.
All the best " The Smiths"

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here; and it broke the habit of a lifetime to go back to the same hotel twice! It was, undoubtedly the right decision to do so! Kostas and his management team continue to provide an highly visible and excellent example of customer service to all the staff who without exception work extremely hard to make the stay one that is restful and that provides value for money. The quality of the food is consistently the best we have had in an all inclusive hotel and the variety and choice at all meals is exceptional. The food in the a la carte restaurant is outstanding. All the staff appear to enjoy what they do and work so hard at ensuring a top class service is delivered...and always with a smile no matter how busy they were or how hot the weather was. The beach is great and there is always plenty of space and you are not hemmed in as in so many other similar hotels so there is privacy and peace and quiet. The quality evening entertainment is low key, and a far cry from the dross that other establishments provide. (no silly games, quizzes, karakoe etc!!!!). The room was quiet and the air conditioning was amazing...and with super comfortable beds aided consistently goodnights' sleep!

Special thanks to all the senior team and also to Dimitria in the cafe (for the cocktails, coffee, Baileys and martinis!!), Kiki for supplying the afternnon tea and cake, Dimitria in the restaurant..for the breakfast coffe and evening red wine; Marios in the cafe and Marios in the restuarant at lunchtime, Gianni and her two collegaues in the a la carte restaurant (so sorry I can't remeber yout names but you are the ladies with the blonde hair and the young lady who was always smiling and you served us on the gala nights!!!!!!!) Nicoletta, Lefteris, Michaeles,Polivious, Paris and Giovanni on the beach also deserve a special mention for their services!!! My only one recommendation would be to consdier upgrading the CD players in the room to I Pod docking stations....although Filios you saved the day for us in Room 105!!!!!!

Room Tip: Others have coomented that rooms on lower floors are noisey...however in 105 we didn't hear a th...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 53WorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Our holiday was a last minute booking through Thomson. The Aquila Porto surpassed all our expectations. We had a relaxing week from start to finish. Amazing weather, beautiful beach (we saw turtles!), excellent location (easy walk to old town of Rethmynon),great hotel with wonderful food. ALL the staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We are already recommending you to our friends and family. Thank you so much for a lovely week!
The Hayward Family

Room Tip: Worth paying for sea view room, although does have the road in front between hotel and beach. Howev...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Lilyross22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Me & my wife we went for honeymoon to this amazing hotel,Excellent choice that we made because it was simply AMAZING!
Since the check-in till the unfortunately check out, we felt like home and to that we should Thank you the staff. The management is making a good work with staff, but not only management has to be proud of the quality service that they are providing to the guests.
We were and we still with a great impression of all of you guys, General Manager, Maitre de l'hotel , Front office Manager and guest relation ladies to all our thank you.
A SPECIAL GREAT THANK YOU TO: Ioannis ( my captain ) , Dimitra ( main restaurant ), Dimitra & Kiki , and to those ladies who were always with a smile and making us feel like good old friends that we didn't see for ages - Gianna, Toula & Margarita , also to Vasili and to Christos, Giorgio & Chrissa and all of you that i couldn't memorise the names. Overall, all of you in different ways make our stay very pleasant, we still in contact with some of you and that's very pleasant,our return wasn't a goodbye it was simply a see you soon guys...... THANK YOU TO ALL AND WE MISS YOU GUYS!!!!!!

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Vitor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Aquila Porto is a fantastic hotel the staff are friendly and can't do enough for you. They are very welcoming and kind. The food is great with a great choice of dishes. The A la carte restaurant is very good and the the service is brilliant. We had a room on the 6th floor which was a sea view it was very comfortable and clean. We also had the mythica service which meant we had champagne, fruit basket, Cypriot delicacies and Zaki on arrival. We also had a mini bar which was topped up daily although we did have to pay for what we had.
The one thing we found wrong was the sun loungers by the pool. I think they should have a pool attendant that monitors the sun loungers as whilst we were there people would claim the beds by putting a towel on them then go off for half the day which is just unfair for others.
The other gripe I had wasnt with the hotel itself but with Thomson holidays. We paid for 7 nights but only had 6 nights at the hotel. We didn't arrive until 6.30am on the Monday but we were asked to vacate our room by midday the following Sunday. We asked if we could have our room for longer as we we not being picked up for the airport until 00.40am. The hotel kindly agreed to let us have the room until 3.30pm but we wouldn't be able to have it any longer than that. I have put a comment on Thomson's Facebook page and as of yet not had any result in resolving this issue, which is a shame as this just left a bad taste on our last day of a fantastic holiday.
I would definitely highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Such a great place to have a relaxing holiday and enjoying yourself.
Great staff that made u feel very welcome. A special thanks to Giorgios and Chrissi at the bar for making our stay such great fun!! Great people.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
3.3 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
2,264 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#14 of 175 in Rethymnon
704 reviews
3.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#11 of 175 in Rethymnon
933 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
633 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kriti Beach Hotel
Kriti Beach Hotel
#25 of 175 in Rethymnon
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquila Porto Rethymno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquila Porto Rethymno

Address: Venizelou 52A | & Sikelianou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rethymnon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#9 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: £67 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aquila Porto Rethymno 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the waterfront setting of the stunning northern coastline of Crete, Aquila Porto Rethymno brings the essence of an urban resort located within a striking distance of 700m from the city of Rethymno. The hotel presents a cosmopolitan escape, as you relax, dine and wander among Rethymno's most beautiful and historic sites offering the perfect base for business or leisure travelers. Chic, luxury hotel building and accommodation offer superb amenities and recreational facilities for all travelers. The hotel has been recognized internationally with prestigious awards and certifications for its commitment to the best service and hospitality. Porto Rethymno is an urban oasis featuring beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites which meet the needs of every traveler. The recently renovated guest rooms and suites have mostly views of Rethymno beach or the city harbor featuring a refreshing color palette inspired by a sophisticated fabulous setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Aquila Porto Rethymno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquila Porto Rethymno Rethymnon
Porto Rethymnon
Hotel Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing