We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Minos Hotel
Ranked #21 of 167 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in early September and thoroughly enjoyed the experience!
The rooms and communal areas were always spotless, the meals varied and tasty and the staff very pleasant and helpful.

The only negative things I would say is the bathroom is a little small but is compensated by having two sinks, the second just outside the main bathroom and useful when both of you are getting ready and as mentioned below there is no lft to the rooms with views.

Our Anniversary fell while we were staying and we were treated to a beautiful cake complete with sparkler and a bottle of champagne.....a lovely touch, so many thanks to all involved in organising this lovely surprise!

Location wise, ok a 15-20minute walk into the main town, passing many shops, tavernas and restaurants en-route.

To sum up....a lovely stay, Yamas, Minos!!!

Room Tip: We booked a garden/pool view room on the first floor which is very worth the extra outlay but beware...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    116
    45
    13
    4
See reviews for
63
165
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Just back from here, had a good time. It's a bit further from the town than we would have liked, but within walking distance. The staff are very friendly, however the guy on the entertainment side, could use a lesson on customer service. Our room was in a strange place we had to take the lift to the 2nd floor & then go down stairs, to another floor. Our balcony was round the side & had no view, but since the hotel is on a busy road, this was quieter The food was varied & plentiful, but there was always chaos, not enough cutlery, having to wait for tables, having to look for condiments, very annoying after a while. The juice at breakfast e=was diluting juice - avoid it. Gents were requested not to wear shorts, but there were men allowed in with them, and even worse some women were allowed in to eat wearing shorts with their backsides hanging out & no-one asked them to cover up, this was not pleasant.

The room was small but adequate, the maid kept forgetting things, like no bathmat (floor very slippery) towels & bedspreads. The shower cubicle was pointless since it was too small.

On a positive note, the friendly staff and the cleanliness of the hotel made this a pleasant stay

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgr1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The Minos is situated around 200m back form the beach and around 20 minutes walk from the old town of Rethmynon. First time visitors should look out for the 20ft grasshopper on the traffic island outside the hotel to help locate it.
The location isn’t the hotel’s strongest point just because it is adjacent to a main road but certainly not noisy enough to keep you awake at night. Though not right next to either, it is still fairly well placed for a short walk to the beach and an easy enough walk into town. There are shops and supermarkets and bus stops very close by.
The “Superior” room was a good size with a nice bathroom, balcony with pool\ garden view. Room included tv, fridge, tea\coffee facilities, quiet air conditioning, hair drier and optional safety deposit box. Room was serviced 6 days a week and towels, although due to be changed every other day, were actually changed each day if used.
Hotel facilities were good with a small pool to the front but to the rear a larger pool and sunbed area. Hotel was clean and tidy.
Dining room was extended with tables outside in the evening which was pleasant. Although not really formal, the hotel did have a policy on gents wearing long trousers and no flip flops or sleeveless shirts at dinner. The seating arrangements meant that each evening people were asked to wait until shown to a seat by the restaurant staff. This didn’t cause us any long queuing times or inconvenience and in defence of this policy, ensured tables were allocated courteously and efficiently rather than a free-for-all scramble.
The food and options were more than adequate with the usual extensive cold meats, salads, breads, hot dishes and chefs cooking eggs at breakfast or meat\pizzas fresh at dinner. I would agree with some reviews that the food is not targeted at the stereotypical Brits abroad holidaymaker though. The clientele were Scandinavian, German, Russian, French and British, probably in that sort of order and so the menu was a little more European. I have had better in terms of terms of quality and variety so there is some room for improvement from a personal perspective but not too much of an issue. Just things like not serving proper bacon rashers at breakfast, but I suppose complaining about that would say as much about the customer as the hotel food. The hotel bar offered discounted drinks on theme nights and happy hour before dinner and 1ltr bottled water to accompany dinner for those not wanting anything stringer came in at 2.60e.
Perhaps due to the time of year this hotel was mainly occupied by couples, either older or younger without kids so quiet and relaxing in and around the pool with low key activities like a music quiz in the evenings when most people seemed to head out into town anyway. Pool, Table tennis, darts, giant chess set, tv lounge, internet PCs, free wifi all available but a good book was more the order of the day for most visitors whilst we were there.
The hotel clearly enjoys a lot of repeat custom and the service and staff were excellent which obviously contributes to that.
Served well as a base for the beach, the town, excursion to Samaria Gorge and bus trip to Chania. Local bus from hotel to bus station was 1e or 5e for a taxi. With Heraklion around 1hr away and Chania about 1hr 15m, either are reasonable day trips from here and either airport would serve.
It might be unfair of me as I don’t know what it’s like in high season but based on my experience I would recommend this hotel to couples rather than families and not at all to Brit bar Bingo seekers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We needed a hotel with a pool or pools for our seven year old but also close to the beach in case she wanted to go there. The Hotel also had to be fairly close to the old town and port so the adults could do something other than swim. We chose this hotel as it was closer to the old town than many other larger hotels, not too expensive on a half board basis as we planned to stay elsewhere later in the holiday and close to the beach. The hotel is not "front line" but is maybe 200 metres from the beach with rooms facing the sea/pool. There are two pools which look bigger on publicity photos than they are in reality in my opinion. There is a smaller one at the front as you enter and a larger pool within the hotel area. All areas we used and saw were clean and well kept. We had a junior suite on the third floor which was a good sized room etc with a corner terrace and balcony for sunbathing.

The difficulty in reviewing this hotel is that it is neither large enough to have a mega amount of other facilities, nor small enough to have a unique quality for which you would visit. Good points were the management and staff, all efficient, proficient and friendly.The room. The pool bar and restaurant were good enough to enable us not to bother wandering out for lunch and the position and rooms were fine. There are enough sun beds and parasols not to have people racing out at 7.30 am to put towels out. It was all fairly relaxed.

There are no bad points, just things to be aware of. If you have kids who want lots of other kids around, sometimes there aren't many. The Clientele are all ages and the nationalities are principally Dutch, English and German with a few French, Greek and Italians. If you want after dinner entertainment then apart from the Greek Night (usual dancing round the pool) the poor old animations bloke has all on to raise enthusiasm for karaoke, bingo, magic show, Mr & Mrs etc because of the diversity of clientele. He has the same problem with other entertainment during the day. Didn't bother us because we don't like being organised. We used the pool to entertain daughter, had lunch, did the pool, had dinner and went out.

Other things are the lift which takes a max of four may drive you mad. The restaurant is adequate and has loads of variation on the salad and starter side but the themed nights, Greek, Italian, Fish, International, Arabian, World, etc really aren't. There is a Pizza Oven and a grill which did, when we were there, one thing per night such as chopped meatballs, fish, lamb chops, etc., but there are stews and pasta and sauce. For breakfast the grill turns into an omelette and egg station but for an English visitor you may be mystified why the bacon is chopped up and the sausages are like chopped hot dogs.

If you want a pleasant place to stay then this is pleasant and relaxing but don't expect loads of kids, kid friendly entertainment or arcade games etc. Equally don't expect full on entertainment. Most people go out.

Finally the problem with this review is the limited categories. In reality this hotel is better than average, but not quite very good because of the food at dinner. I would put it as "good" but there isn't such a category. I hope that's fair.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ufillupmysenses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at the Minos in June, staying half-board in a superior room which was spacious, with a good sized bathroom. and sea and pool views. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, and went out of their way to make you feel welcome.
We booked a trip to Knossos and Spinalonga through the hotel, which worked out cheaper than the tour operator’s trip. Outside the hotel is a small local ‘train’ service, which again was good value - we visited the abandoned village in Mili Gorge (complete with bats!). The hotel also arrange a free walk to visit a hilltop monastary, if you are feeling energetic, with a stop at a taverna on the way back, giving an oportunity to mingle with your fellow guests.
The Minos also provide Greek lessons, if you want to make the effort to expand your knowledge on holiday.
There are great sunsets every evening along Rethymnon seafront, with a small bouzouki bar minutes from the hotel, and plenly of lively, but not rowdy bars down to the picturesque harbour. The Venitian fortress there is also well worth a visit.
The hotel is probably best suited to older couples, with some evening entertainment, with a Greek night, and a display of belly dancing perhaps the best evenings. Perhaps the only gripe is that the bar prices at the hotel are a little high, compared with the local bars, but overall I would recommend the Minos if you want to feel as though you are a valued guest, and not just another tourist.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Not much to look at from the outside and on busy road but once in an air of calm takes over. Clean rooms , always something good to eat from the wide choice on offer and friendly staff. Excellent location - 5 mins walk to a clean sandy beach and a pleasant 30 mins walk into town.
Unfortunately my husband fell seriously ill on the final day of our holiday and this was when I really appreciated just how lucky I was staying at this hotel - the staff couldn't have been more kind and supportive to me in my time of need. Huge thanks to all

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ovens56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

We had a brilliant two week stay at the Minos, and felt we were made welcome at all times. I could recommend it for the friendliness of all the staff; to the dinner staff who added to my limited Greek vocabulary and the willingness of reception to resolve any problem. The selection and variety of the food at the buffet was 4 stars; spoilt for choice. The sandy beach was a two minute walk away passing a supermarket on the way. With temperatures in the low 30 C my only fault was with the air conditioning in the family room, it could have been better.
Adrian & Mary

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank adoooooooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.4 mi away
Theartemis Palace Hotel
Theartemis Palace Hotel
#13 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bio Suites Hotel
Bio Suites Hotel
#23 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#9 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atlantis Beach Hotel
Atlantis Beach Hotel
#27 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
#12 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Hotel

Property: Minos Hotel
Address: 5 Machiton Scholis Chorofilakis, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#27 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#39 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Minos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minos Hotel is a 4 star luxurious complex superbly located, 2 minutes away from the beautiful awarded with blue flag sandy beach of Rethymnon and a short walk from the attractions and the historic centre. The friendly and professional staff reflecting the traditional Cretan hospitality will make you want to return. During the 35 years of its operation, Minos Hotel has succeeded in gaining the guests' trust and a good reputation in the European market. The great number of repeaters guests shows the high standard service and the warm, friendly and family atmosphere the hotel has. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Minos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minos Hotel Rethymnon
Minos Hotel Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing