We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orion Hotel
Ranked #59 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Lovely hotel, we had a lovely view of the pool and the sea. The staff were all friendly, helpful, hardworking and nothing was too much trouble. We found the AI food very good the first week but two weeks was just too much, we ate out a few times and enjoyed the change. The hotel has a lot of Russian, Dutch and French guests , very few English/Irish guests. Entertainment was one night Karoke and one night Traditional dance per week. Very, Very quiet hotel, a bit too quiet for us. We never had any problems getting a sun lounger no matter what time of the day we went to the pool, there is a second pool behind the hotel if there is no room at the front, we never needed to use this. If you decided to eat out, ask Stephano at the bar, he will direct you to a local Taverna where the food is Createn, the atmosphere is lovely and its very reasonable.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have a lovely view. The bar staff are a great help with information on the use of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breegep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Nice place , not overly crowded. Plenty of different nationalities - Russians all over. Nice variety of meals however desserts were a bit disappointing. Took a trip to Knossos and Heraklion one day a bit of a rip off as we were left to our own devices most of the time. Good karaoke and Greek dancing night at hotel. Recommend red open top bus trip up to mountains Rethmynon town easily accessible by bus also . I want some AMstel RAdler and a cocktail now

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Orion Hotel is a lovely place to spend a relaxing week away, fantastic location near the beach and shops around it. Rooms were cleaned every day and the staff were very friendly, food was nice to. Would recommend to anybody, great value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markk98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic week at the Orion and are already considering our return! We got off to a bad start when our room wasn't ready for four hours after our arrival but the staff were very apologetic and let us use the room safe free of charge. When we got to the room it was great - spotlessly clean with a lovely view over the pool to the sea beyond. The food was really good - plenty of choice and so much of it! Toasted sandwiches, pizza and ice cream available all day at the bar, coffee and delicious cakes at 4.30pm and that's on top of the lovely freshly cooked three meals a day! The drinks were good too - a variety of cocktails, wine beer and spirits together with a wide selection of soft drinks. The pool was lovely, not too deep or overcrowded. I was disappointed to find that the hotel doesn't provide beach towels, but the shop sells them at a discount to hotel residents so that was easily resolved. As a disabled traveller, this hotel was recommended by First Choice for being 'disability friendly', but although there are ramps to allow access from the bar to the pool, there are several steps on the way to the shop and the public toilets are down two flights of steep steps. I had no choice but to keep going all the way back to my room. However, apart from this, the hotel was really fantastic and I would definitely recommend it .

Room Tip: Higher floors get best views and there is a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darren60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My wife and I had a lovely time at the Orion, the choice of food was excellent and the restaurant staff we very friendly. We would like to particularly mention the bar staff that's, Stefanos, Alex & Dafina who work tirelessly to entertain and keep happy the residents of the hotel in the evenings. Just be aware that the hotel cleaners mop the marble stairs and marble tiles outside the restaurant early in the morning while the restaurant is serving breakfast with no warning signs to warn the public of wet and slippery floors. If your beach people please go and visit Cristina, her husband & family at their beach bar, restaurant and sun beds they are very friendly, helpful & lovely people. All in all we would return to this hotel for a holiday

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

All inclusive formule : very good variated food, also for veggie people... the staff was kind.
Everything was great.
We stayed at the 4-floor, best to have a good view on the beach...

The room was clean and big.

So I recommand it, the quality/price was excellent.

Room Tip: 4 floor, view on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Degee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The best all inclusive we have stayed in,food really very good,hot and plenty of options for every meal.
Staff could not have been friendlier,Stephanos at the bar,all dining room staff,never saw the cleaners but they were in our room every day.
Manager was also very friendly talking to us every day about our trips out and telling us all local history.
Could not fault anything and would visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank julie c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.7 mi away
Apollon Hotel Apartments
Apollon Hotel Apartments
#47 of 175 in Rethymnon
181 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marinos Beach Hotel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rethymno Village
Rethymno Village
#13 of 21 in Platanias
151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Axos
Hotel Axos
#2 of 21 in Platanias
428 reviews
3.6 mi away
Achillion Palace
Achillion Palace
#39 of 175 in Rethymnon
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orion Hotel

Address: Adelianos Kampos | PO Box 20, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#31 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: £46 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Orion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Orion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orion Hotel Rethymnon
Orion Hotel Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing