We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - fairly priced - family hotel !”
Review of Orion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Orion Hotel
Ranked #51 of 165 Hotels in Rethymnon
Holsbeek, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent - fairly priced - family hotel !”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Three months ago, we took a last minute trip to Crete.

We were able to find a good deal at Sunweb Travel and were not expecting very much.

When we arrived at your hotel though, we immediately experienced a very hospital atmosphere.

The next day we discovered, that your hotel was very clean and that the food and beverages we were provided with, did fit our standards quite well.

And what to say about your staff ... !? Such nice and friendly people, always serving us with a smile !

All in all, we felt very welcome and we hope to be back next year.

Cordial thanks to the management and all personnel for providing us with such pleasant holidays. Keep up the good work !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    188
    92
    30
    27
See reviews for
125
205
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Arrived at this hotel having to wait a further 40 minutes for our room. The room itself was well located BUT the room had paint peeling of the walls, the bathroom had hairs in, the shower fell of the bracket on the wall, the balcony door had no lock on it, the furniture out dated draws fell apart and the beds , lift up the mattress and found slats of wood supporting the mattress. The staff work very hard. At meal times no organisation. Family run hotel? There appeared no one to organise the chaos and tables were few and far between we even had to lay our own tables . No chef to organise the food. The food was ok but plain and ordinary. Three or four star I would have given it a one. The holiday company should remove this hotel. The worst I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rethymnon hotels

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

literally just got home from a week in the orion
we were a bit surprised at the very start when the coach driver just stopped the coach by the side of the road said "orion" and pointed its over there!!!(however he got us as far as he could)
booking in was no probelm and was quick
room was basic with a/c and those beds....... hard very low too but a comfortable nights sleep
we were on the third floor facing the pool and had a bit of a sea view too
food ..... repetive lots of fresh veg most meats including rabbit!!! and lots of tomatoes
staff.... the waiters and waitresses in the restaurant were fantastic always ready to welcome you with a smile and find you a table which could be a minor drama at times due to too many guests and not enough tables
the bar staff stephanos alex and daphni and the young lady (whos name escapes me) were fantasic!!!!! sometimes you had to wait for a drink but hey ho
the banter was good
we had a fantastic time and met some wonderful people from norway russia and even wales!!!lol
every holiday is what you make it
i dont think we would go back but you get what you pay for in this case the staff were let down by the hotel and facilitys

Room Tip: pool view and at least the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suffolk_steve2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

When I booked this hotel I ignored the bad comments as I am not a hard person to please.
This hotel is small friendly with very hard working staff.
The food is awfull ,they just keep putting out the same thing day in day out,you will be fine if you love salad and fried potatoes because these are there three times a day.
Their idea of all inclusive is to keep pizza in a hot oven where you can help yourself until 7 and some crummy cakes at 3.30.
Do yourself a favour pay extra for a 4 or 5 star as this one goes no more than a 2.
Also this hotel is situated on the main road which is great for getting into town the bus stop is right outside and costs 1euro 20 takes 10 minutes and is well worth a visit,on the down side all there is between the road and pool is a hedge hence the well annoying sound of traffic while you are trying to relax.
Don't want to go on but believe me I could,will just say stick to reading the bad reviews because they are true to what they say,was ready to come home by the third day.

Room Tip: Do not accept the annex rooms as these are on top of shops and look awful stay in main hotel overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This was the worst all inclusive hotel that I have been to so far. We turned up at the hotel and were instantly disappointed by the whole look of the place.

I'd spend ages queuing at the bar in the day time for a drink, with the staff looking straight past me one time and serving others even though I'd been waiting a good 15 minutes already.

The food options were awful and very unimaginative, the two nights we decided to stay in for dinner we could not find a seat to sit on as it was so over crowded! So we found a table near the bar and were told to move so we ended up eating dinner in our room! For the rest of the week we ate out.

Getting a sun lounger around the pool was near enough impossible unless you wake up at 7:30 and put your towel on one to reserve.

We would go back to Crete and this area, but not the hotel!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pencoed, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Just returned from a week in the orion, pleasant hotel, but food very unimaginitive, ok for breakfast and dinner perhaps, but dissapointing for evening meals, you will want to eat out, it is far too repetetive, pictures are a very true representation of the hotel, but could do with upgrading is a little tired looking. Bar staff work very hard and all waiting staff are very polite, lots of nationalities, thompson should review hotel status to give a better representation.

Room Tip: garden room away from bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel in june rooms r more like 2 stars tired but clean ok food?But if u think u will get drunk think again this will never happen entertainment crap not much to do bar staff polite,You could always get a sun bed big shop next door? and if you r going to town centre u can buy you bus ticket for there and back there

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruno671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
3.0 mi away
Minos Hotel
Minos Hotel
#19 of 165 in Rethymnon
333 reviews
3.1 mi away
Theartemis Palace Hotel
Theartemis Palace Hotel
#13 of 165 in Rethymnon
581 reviews
0.9 mi away
Minos Mare Hotel
Minos Mare Hotel
#10 of 20 in Platanias
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marinos Beach Hotel Apartments
0.7 mi away
Hotel Axos
Hotel Axos
#2 of 20 in Platanias
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eva Bay Hotel
Eva Bay Hotel
#50 of 165 in Rethymnon
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orion Hotel

Property: Orion Hotel
Address: Adelianos Kampos | PO Box 20, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Orion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Orion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orion Hotel Rethymnon
Orion Hotel Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing