We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing first time experience”
Review of Orion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Orion Hotel
Ranked #61 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing first time experience”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We arrived on the 14th June 2014 for a 7 day holiday, when we arrived it was 1:00am local time and the hotel accommodated us with some sandwiches and fruit upon arrival. The room wasn't the best as it is very basic and the hallways and rooms looked like they hadn't been decorated since the 70s, the balcony overlooked the pool and was very spacious. The food was lovely but wish there was more of an option and variety, was abit repetitive after the first few days. We met our friends, Alex, Stefan and Maria who worked behind the bar who were very friendly and hardworking, could have a great laugh with all of them especially Alex, who poured us some fantastic cocktails, the orion special was our favourite, would definitely recommend the cocktail and this hotel, had a lovely first holiday and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danni1994x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    191
    93
    31
    30
See reviews for
129
208
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Returned last week, from a ten day stay at The Orion
we were dropped off opposite hotel not as one previous review said "miles away"
the rooms are immaculately cleaned daily,and everything worked, ie Fridge, hairdryer , air conditioning shower T.V etc.
Small safe in room which is an extra 15 euros, the beds very comfortable, a small balcony overlooking the pool/garden.modern contemporary pastel colours and adequate furniture.
the food was excellent qaulity varied and fresh with an excellent salad bar, yes the breakfasts were samey but that is Greek breakfasts.eggs honey cold meats cheeses toast and cakes.
all very fresh no "food left hanging around" as previously stated,and anything that was getting close to running out was replaced
within seconds, at peak times the restaurant was sometimes busy but you only had to wait minutes, for a table to be cleared and a clean tablecloth and cutlery to be set up. during which time you can help yourself to a drink, wine or beer.the staff were all extremely helpful. polite and amusing.and could not do enough to make your stay as good as possible.
the hotel is located in a central position, very close to all shops. bars restaurants etc, with a bus stop right outside, and for a few euros a twenty min journey into Rethymnon, well worthwhile with its excellent, little harbour, plenty of shops and some superb quayside fish restaurants.
we did several trips booked through the rep, The Jeep safari which was excellent, with a very knowledgable guide, and an excellent lunch.the Catamaran trip which is an absolute must
with a max of 20 people its like having your own private charter, we only had six on our trip again with an excellent luch and a very, hospitable funny and very helpful Skipper,the minoan magic was a lengthy coach trip . and although the guide was excellent it was hard going at some points and the trip to the Labyrinth although interesting went on a bit, but thats just me,
also booked from the car hire shop, a a very good value only 15 euros series of trips on a little yellow road train, which takes you high into the moutains at slow speeds. enabling you to take a good look , the guide stops and points out many points of interest. we went to the Monastry and would highly reccomend it
The hotel pool is very much big enough, and there are plenty of sunbeds but very limited parasols
which is not a problem as their are trees providing shady areas. so all in all I would highly reccomend the Orion. not least because of its small friendly nature, excellent staff and well situated. I can only think that the management has listened to previous criticisms, and remedied them.

Room Tip: pool / Garden view the best and the higher the floor the better view of the sea. music in bar stops...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Have just returned from a two week holiday at the Orion. A lovely hotel great staff and food.
In some reviews there were complaints about a small swimming pool which is total rubbish, as the pool is a great size, the hotel is keep very clean by its hard working staff, we would recommened the Orion.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorraine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

we went to this hotel in 2013 as a last minute deal so for us it was good value for the money, we stayed in a annex which was basic but comfy. The staff at the hotel are amazing always smiling and very hard working, the pool area and hotel are kept spotless, they stock every drink you can think of and the food is nice so no complains all in all a nice relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen01333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a holiday here i was apprehensive of what to expect but i have to say i was very impressed. Staff are all very friendly, rooms are basic but beds are comfy. Only problem i will say is the WIFI signal is shocking kept cutting out.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

just got back after two lovely weeks at the orion hotel the staff are just unbelieveable they work so hard and always have a smile. We had a room on the third floor and had a lovely view of the sea as well as swimming pool and garden which was very well looked after our silver wedding was on the 27th may we went back to our room after breakfast and there was a bowl of fruit a bottle of wine and a beautiful heart shaped cake with compliments of the hotel what a lovely surprise.food was very good room standard but very comfortable the bar was amazing they had so many cocktails and they were really nice alex i have to mention he is brilliant not only does he work in the bar but also in restaurant and he is so funny he is a star we went on a couple of trips that were very enjoyable all in all we had a very good relaxing holiday a very big thankyou to all the staff at the orion

Room Tip: third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joyous60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Have just spent 2 weeks all inclusive here.

Fantastic value for money, the staff are all so friendly & helpful, the bar staff very entertaining, Alex, Stephanos & Maria excellent staff & always got a smile for ya.

The food is what you would expect from All Inclusive, a mixture of English & Greek, i think there was only one day that i wasn't overly fussed but that may have been due to too much alcohol the night before LOL but they do do the best chips ever !!

We had a great laugh & met loads of great people from all different nations. it is close to the beach 200 yrds down the road, try the GOLD Beach Bar (a little further down) again very friendly staff,beers a little more expensive but worth it for the view & relaxed atmosphere, The White Lady do a brilliant Greek night so entertaining & friendly, the locals come to join in with the dancing to show ya how its done ;)

Rooms are just basis typical 3 star rooms, (if you cant find the 2nd plug socket its behind the curtain next to the dressing table), rooms cleaned daily & the staff are always pottering around, we reported a light switch that was faulty they were up within the hour to fix it.

Plenty of shops & bars near to the hotel & a little shopping centre next door, could have done with a couple more entertainment nights as they only do two but as the staff are all so funny they kept the quiet nights going, all in all a great experience & we would def go back again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShazzaSLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
2.2 mi away
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
#14 of 175 in Rethymnon
584 reviews
3.0 mi away
Minos Hotel
Minos Hotel
#21 of 175 in Rethymnon
351 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Axos
Hotel Axos
#2 of 21 in Platanias
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Minos Mare Hotel
Minos Mare Hotel
#11 of 21 in Platanias
258 reviews
3.1 mi away
Theartemis Palace Hotel
Theartemis Palace Hotel
#12 of 175 in Rethymnon
603 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marinos Beach Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orion Hotel

Property: Orion Hotel
Address: Adelianos Kampos | PO Box 20, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#30 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Orion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Orion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orion Hotel Rethymnon
Orion Hotel Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing