We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING gem in the heart of Old Town Rethymno”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Veneto Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Rethymnon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING gem in the heart of Old Town Rethymno”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I have been raving about my three-night stay at the Veneto ever since I checked out. This was quite possibly the most unique, romantic and well situated hotel (and restaurant!) in which I have ever had the pleasure of staying. Once you actually find the place which is located on a short pedestrian "street" in the heart of the very maze-like Old Town area, you are greeted by very friendly and welcoming staff not to mention the foyer of a beautifully decorated and restored 800-year old monastery-turned-inn. After checking into our room which was actually a loft style with the bed located on a second level accessibly by a spiral staircase, we were welcomed graciously by Yannis, who I believe to be the owner, and introduced to the beverage, raki, which is Crete's tastier answer to Ouzo. Wow! What a start to a fantastic stay. We next settled down in the small Venetian-style courtyard for an amazing and relaxing dinner before setting out on a walk about the streets of Old Town. It doesn't sound or feel like it, but you are in the center of all the nighttime cafe action as well as what seems like around the clock shopping. Of all the places I stayed on my 3-week trip, the Veneto was easily the most quiet and comfortable and accommodating. I believe there are only 12 rooms, so if you're looking to be in the center of Old Town, book your room right away! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENETOSUITES, General Manager at Veneto Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Adam R
Thank you for your amazing review on your recent stay at the hotel. We are so grateful that you appreciated your experience here and the service that the staff delivered. Thank you for taking the time to point out on all the unique features that the hotel has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back for another perfect stay.
Best regards,
Yannis P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    54
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
37
128
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

What a treat to find the Hotel Venato. Don't think you can drive in and drop your bags! Down the windy vine covered streets of the historic Venetian area of Rethymnon you go, dragging your, hopefully, wheely bag! We were immediately enchanted by the area and the hotel was just lovely, being an historic villa turned hotel. If you want a feel of the old area, this is a great place to stay. The staff was very accommodating, warm and helpful, our rooms were of nice size and were very clean and had a kitchenette. Access to anything you might want to see in the old town is right near by. We ate a very nice breakfast in the old courtyard of the hotel which was filling and nicely varied. We really enjoyed the town and it was a nice difference from the rest of Crete we saw.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard room, our kids had a larger room in the older part of the hotel, both were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENETOSUITES, General Manager at Veneto Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Liz N
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased that you found the hotel to be enchanting and our staff accommodating. We believe our staff make the difference to an enjoyable stay. We would be delighted to welcome you back.
Kind regards,
Yannis P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

have stayed in this cozy and really elegant hotel since 2 years but would love to say about this that beside that there is no view as it is in the old town and the wifi is not possible to get throw the walls from stone everything else was nice.Definately not suitable for small kids as there is a stair that has no safety for them especially recomended for couples !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENETOSUITES, General Manager at Veneto Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Agi L,
I am pleased to hear that overall you found the hotel to be nice and I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate all constructive feedback from our guests and continuously strive to improve our services wherever possible. We have solved the issue of WIFI and each room now has a connection. We hope you decide to come back again in the near future.
Best regards,
Yannis P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My wife, baby and I stayed here a couple of nights whilst touring Crete, and also had dinner. Overall we had a good experience. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly and the food was pretty good.

We had a two room suite (see my pics). It was spacious and comfortable. It had a kitchenette, though there were very few utensils and only one pan, rendering it a bit useless. A coffee press (cafetiere) would have been nice. The wifi didn’t work, but there was an ethernet connection. Once connected, the internet connection was good.

We had breakfast there each morning; it was buffet style, and pretty good. We also ate there one night. It was rather pleasant. The surroundings were nice, the service was good, and the food was a definite step up from what we’d experienced elsewhere in Crete.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thenighthawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENETOSUITES, General Manager at Veneto Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear thenighthawks,
I would like to thank you for a very positive review and mentioning that you considered our hotel as being "a step up" from anywhere else you had experienced. We would be delighted to welcome you back and we hope that you would choose to visit us again.
Kind regards,
Yannis P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Veneto Suites is a quaint little hotel that's snuggled away in the heart of Rethymno. Although closer to a bed and breakfast than it is an actual hotel, the historical value of the building is well worth the stay.

The rooms are quaint, well appointed and clean. You've got literally everything you could possibly need, including a small fridge, kitchenette and utensils. Considering its price point, you may expect a little more, but the architecture and authenticity of your surroundings make it worth it.

Breakfast was simple, but sufficient. Staff were always around and helpful. Overall, recommended if you don't mind paying a little extra.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amhelmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENETOSUITES, General Manager at Veneto Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear AMHelmy,
Thanks for your lovely review following you recent stay. We are always happy to hear comments about our helpful staff and that you would recommend our hotel. We do hope to welcome you back at the hotel again.
Best regards.
Yannis P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drammen, Norge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Visit Veneto Suites in The old town of Rethymnon, Crete and experience The wonderful greek hospitality! The food and wine is superb! Beautiful rooms and suites.....Wine tasting, cooking classes...or maybe celebrating your wedding....you will have the best time, and wonderful memories when you come home!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WiviS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENETOSUITES, General Manager at Veneto Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear WiviS,
Thank you for such an amazing review. We do work hard to maintain high standards and therefore it is rewarding to get such positive feedback. Once again thank you and we do hope to welcome you back at Veneto Suites in the near future.
Best regards,
Yannis P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This is a wonderful hotel in the heart of the old town of Rethymno. The historic building has been beautifully renovated and the rooms are appointed to an extremely high standard. The internal courtyard is a delight and the wine cellar is very impressive. Everything is in easy walking distance. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelKeros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENETOSUITES, General Manager at Veneto Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear MichaelKeros,
We greatly appreciate you commenting so positively on our hotel and "highly recommending" it. Thank you for the lovely review. We hope we may welcome you back again.
Best regards,
Yannis P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.0 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 165 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 165 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 165 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzino di Corina
Palazzino di Corina
#22 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veneto Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veneto Boutique Hotel

Property: Veneto Boutique Hotel
Address: 4 Epimenidou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece (Formerly Veneto Suites)
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Veneto Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Veneto is a Venetian mansion of the 15th century located in the Old Town of Rethymno, close by the shopping district, the museums and numerous cafes. The building has been renovated with respect to the character and architecture of its time, and consists of six Standard Suites, four Junior Suites and two Deluxe Suites. All Veneto rooms are fully equipped with all the amenities of a 4 star hotel and maintain a combination of traditional and contemporary character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Veneto Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veneto Hotel Rethymnon
Veneto Boutique Hotel Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing