We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding place, delicious food, highlight of our stay in Greece!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Veneto Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 46 Rethymnon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

This place is simply stunning !! Located in a 700 years old house in the center of Rethymnon - a picture is worth a thousands word. It is humbling to think you are sleeping in a house that was an old monastery and is one of the first built in this town.

The hues is very well preserved, rooms are perfect, spacey and cosy. The restaurant reopened for the summer season on the day we arrived (we were lucky!) and it is definitely a must ! The setting is simply outstanding, and the food delicious. There are a lot of vegetatian option (or vege friendly) which was great for us !

All in all - staying at Veneto in Rethymnon is one of the highlight of our 3 weeks trip to Greece !!

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Francois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENETOSUITES, General Manager at Veneto Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Francois L
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Veneto Suites during your trip to Greece. Thank you for your "Excellent" review. I am very happy that you found the hotel "stunning" and that you enjoyed our restaurant aswell. We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed here for 1 night as part of our honeymoon in Crete, and…we got ROOM 101!!! As you can see from the photos of Room 101, its the best ever, wine cellar !!! It was very romantic with all the little features. Staff absolutely friendly GEIA SOU KRITI MOU!

Breakfast had olives, ham, cheeses and fruit etc. could have a better range as i was used to the Meltemi Village in Perissa and Atrion in Iraklio.

shower was like mini cellar too!

friendly greeting on arrival

Overall beautiful

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bangin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENETOSUITES, General Manager at Veneto Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Mitroglou
I am very pleased that you enjoyed Room 101 when you were here on your Honeymoon. Our team all strive to give the best customer service possible and I am grateful this has been acknowledged. Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Veneto house is situated in oldest and most interesting house in the town. Real treasure in this hotel is Cuisine with chief Yannis magnificent talent! Our couple has long romantic dine in Middle Ages garden; every evening we tried new unforgettable chief creation.
Antanas
2013

Room Tip: Studio exclusive with personal garden- amazing experiance to rest with glass of vine in own garden i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENETOSUITES, General Manager at Veneto Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Diana M
Thank you for your comments. I am happy to hear that your stay here was an "amazing experience". It's reassuring for us to know that we are doing a great job. I am also glad that you enjoyed our restaurant. I really hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our mature couple booked Veneto house studio HB for one week in September 2013.
Our evaluation is 10 from 10 points.

It was most pleasant stay in hotel from all my holidays- staff is exclusive helpfull friendly customer oriented.

Cuisine was exceptional good, definitely best is Rethymno city and one of the best in Crete.
800 years old Veneto house was a monastery hundred years ago. However, this oldest house in town still radiate very positive spririt to people which love real things.
we recomend Veneto to all tourists in Rethymno.

Diana

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRRHKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENETOSUITES, General Manager at Veneto Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Diana
I am pleased to hear that you consider your stay here at Veneto Suites the most pleasant of all your holidays. Our staff do their very best to cater to the needs of all our guests. Thank you for recommending our restaurant as the "Best Cuisine" in Rethymno. We would love to see you back at the hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Our stay at Veneto was one of the best experiences we have had. The place is right in the centre of old town with everything within 5 mins of walking. The staff at any place has never been more friendly. We came in late one night and were convinced by Yannis to stay for just one drink with him before we checked out and left early next morning and not surprisingly we finished drinking only many drinks and many more conversations later. The room we stayed in (101) was an absolute delight. A very neat room with stone arches set aside from rest of the rooms.

This one is an experience that is thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akhilgupta981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENETOSUITES, General Manager at Veneto Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Akhilgupta 981
There's nothing more rewarding to us than hearing that your stay at our hotel was one of the best experiences you had and that you thoroughly recommend it. All our staff strive to make sure guests enjoy their time with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for pointing out the fabulous location of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Veneto Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We selected this hotel after an intensive study of the top hotels in Rethymno.
Reaching the hotel might seem a bit difficult if you don't have a map of the old city of Rethymno so my advice is to start with that. Also, you should take into consideration that you cannot reach the hotel by car, but you can leave it in a free parking near the KTEL bus station in the old harbor. From there, you will have to carry the luggage for about 5 minutes to the hotel on narrow streets in the Old Town.
As we came prepared, we found the hotel quite easily. The first impression was a very good one, as the interior court yard and restaurant of the hotel look quite lovely with lots of flowers and a vintage, but charming design.
Although we initially requested another room (because we wanted wooden floors), the hotel informed us, prior to our arrival, that that room was not available and we would probably get room 106.
Although we were a little disappointed at first, we really liked its very large and charming terrace of room 106.
The room is a good size, with a very large bed and a sofa. There are traditional objects scattered everywhere and they give a nice feeling of originality and Greek tradition. One thing I would improve isthe fact that some of the pots and traditional objects in our room seemed a bit dusty.
The bathroom was ok, not everything was new, but there were no major flaws.
I kept the best for last: the room had a small balcony overlooking the courtyard as well as a terrace we absolutely fell in love with. It was quite large and it had lots of flowers on the outer side. Sitting during the evening on our terrace and relaxing while drinking a glass of red wine was one of the things I loved about this hotel.
We also had buffet breakfast, which was ok, not much variation from one day to the next but I don't think it can be expected considering that the hotel only has a few rooms and probably not all the guests requested breakfast.
We also had dinner one night in the restaurant (hotel guests have a 10% discount). The prices are rather high (comparable to those in another restaurant we tried, called Erofili) but the food is nice. However, I do recommend another restaurant about 50 meters away- To Pigadi.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENETOSUITES, General Manager at Veneto Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Alina N
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay here with us. We appreciate all comments as we use them constructively in our continuous effort to provide an excellent service for our guests. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My fiance and I travelled to Rethymnon about a month ago and were so excited to stay at Veneto. Not realizing it was an hour from the airport and somewhat difficult to find (just make sure you look up where you're going before you try to find it), we ended up arriving around 1am, two hours after their allowed check-in time. I was so worried we were not going to be able to check in until the following morning, but were very pleasantly surprised and appreciative that the lady had waited for us. I was again pleasantly surprised when we were shown to the 'cave room', as I had requested. Was it perfectly lit, with an amazing shower and all the extras?!? No lol. Was it a once-in-a-lifetime incredible experience to stay in a cave room that survived WWII?!? Yes! The owner invited us to sit down with him in the bar area of the restaurant where he proceeded to serve us food, wine from his cellar and tell us all about how his hotel came to be. It was such a neat experience hearing his stories and gaining such a newfound respect for the place. You could tell he put so much pride and effort into getting his hotel to where it is now. We also ate at the restaurant, which was very good and 10% off. Also, the location, although a bit hard to find at first, was amazing!!! Right in the Old town of Rethymnon. I don't even know how to describe it?!? A bunch of cool little hole in the wall shops, restaurants, etc. on the water, with many great beaches around (if you have a car). I would definitely go back and stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Postnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENETOSUITES, General Manager at Veneto Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Postnie
Thank you for taking the valuable time to complete a review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you were "pleasantly surprised" by our staff and your experience here. Guest reviews of this nature help motivate our staff to achieve high standards. Once again thank you and we hope to see you again at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.0 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
655 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 175 in Rethymnon
572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 175 in Rethymnon
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 175 in Rethymnon
627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antica Dimora Suites
Antica Dimora Suites
#36 of 175 in Rethymnon
102 reviews
4.0 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veneto Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veneto Boutique Hotel

Address: 4 Epimenidou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece (Formerly Veneto Suites)
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Rethymnon
Price Range: £60 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Veneto Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Veneto is a Venetian mansion of the 15th century located in the Old Town of Rethymno, close by the shopping district, the museums and numerous cafes. The building has been renovated with respect to the character and architecture of its time, and consists of six Standard Suites, four Junior Suites and two Deluxe Suites. All Veneto rooms are fully equipped with all the amenities of a 4 star hotel and maintain a combination of traditional and contemporary character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Veneto Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veneto Hotel Rethymnon
Veneto Boutique Hotel Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing