We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An inspiring place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Veneto Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Rethymnon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We have just returned from three weeks in Greece and will count as a highlight the two nights we stayed in the Veneto. Travelling is about immersing yourself in the culture and beauty of other places and we found this the moment we walked into the enchanting foyer with mosaic tiled floor of this unassuming hotel. Once a monastery and parts of is dating back four hundred years, the Veneto is one of those places you wish to share with everyone but secretely hope no one else finds. I could have sat in the foyer for ages just soaking up the ambience of the fountain, subtle lighting, stone walls, and enticing entranceway to the hotel's private cellar. Our room was delightful and included our own terrace and balcony, small kitchenette, ensuite (small) and centrepiece table with a few candles. The terrace overlooked the courtyard filled with flowers and hanging baskets. The courtyard doubles as a breakfast area (included in the tarriff). As it was winter, the restaurant was closed, which gives us a great excuse for returning. Although only planning to stay one night, we returned to the Veneto two nights later (hotels on the more remote southern Crete were closed). We arrived drenched from the rain, and were given a small bottle of raki to drink while staff quickly prepared the room we had previously stayed in before. It doesn't get much better than that. It was a priviledge to stay here. Jenny and John (Australia)

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank jennyandjohnSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Veneto Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2010

What a great hospitality! We stayed in room 106 for 4 nights.
The room was quiet and clean. The breakfast very rich.
The restaurant offers high quality Greek cuisine. Don’t forget to visit the stone wine cellar.
Our stay in Veneto gave as the real Cretan experience we were after.
We ll try to come back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank robscholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

This place was beautiful. We had a two story suite, with just a loft upstairs for the bed. It was the first night of our honeymoon, and it was too beautiful. We didn't want to leave. The town was fun. The food at the restaurant was great. you can walk anywhere. If I went back and did my honeymoon again, I would have stayed longer here. And the friendliest staff ever!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuperSheWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

I was hesitant to submit this review as I really didn't want to be negative and it is clear that I had a different experience at the hotel than many of the other reviewers. Whereas many of the reviews raved about the large rooms, mine was ordinary at best and the bathroom was really tiny and in need of updating. I didn't find the reception staff particularly friendly or helpful, in fact often I couldn't find them at all. When I went to check out, for example, I had to search the hotel to find someone with which to settle the account and I also had to carry my bag downstairs myself.

Having said all that, the restaurant was excellent. The food was great, the restaurant staff were extremely friendly and service was top notch. The hotel itself is beautiful and has lots of character. It is conveniently located in the middle of the old town with easy walking distance to the harbour, shopping, and many great little tavernas.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnInquiringMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

My wife and I enjoyed our stay very much. The staff is friendly and very helpful and the room was small but charming and quiet. Well maintained and well located in Rethymnon. We could walk anywhere we wanted to go and return to rest and relax with ease. Nice restaurant and garden patio. You really can't go wrong in choosing this small suite hotel for your stay. We would definitely return should our travels take us back to Crete.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkMM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Its like going back home. Veneto and its staff have become my family. This establishment has given hospitality a whole new meaning. Thank you Yanni and Argiro for again looking after us and treating us like kings!! Thank you for sharing your beautiful Veneto with us. I leave you changed ,energised, inspired and preparing my next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EveZayannakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

My wife and I together with another couple from Australia, stayed at the Veneto in Rethymno for 4 nights at the begining of September. We selected the Veneto from the internet attracted by their attractive photo's and description, and I am pleased to say our high expectations from this were exceeded.
Initially we were suprised that the hotel was smaller than expected and difficult to find tucked away in the ancient alleys of the old town. However, upon entering the lobby we discovered a most charming and welcoming ambiance enhanced by the 700 hundred year old architecture.
Our room was very spacious and comfortable with a high timbered ceiling, larged shuttered windows and an adequate ensuite. The air conditioning worked well when needed.
What really set this hotel apart from any other we have stayed at was the staff. They were always very freindly and helpful, particularly maitre dee Fred, and Mary, mother of the owner Yannis, who prepares the absolute best traditional greek breakfast, particularly her locamadies.
We left the Veneto to join a fantastic cruise from Rethymno arround the islands and just before the boat returned to Rethymno the tour director recommended to the other passengers to call into the Veneto as it was something special to see. She was most impressed to hear we had stayed there.
highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterwhitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.0 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 175 in Rethymnon
556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#4 of 175 in Rethymnon
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#6 of 175 in Rethymnon
600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veneto Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veneto Boutique Hotel

Address: 4 Epimenidou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece (Formerly Veneto Suites)
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Rethymnon
Price Range: £74 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Veneto Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Veneto is a Venetian mansion of the 15th century located in the Old Town of Rethymno, close by the shopping district, the museums and numerous cafes. The building has been renovated with respect to the character and architecture of its time, and consists of six Standard Suites, four Junior Suites and two Deluxe Suites. All Veneto rooms are fully equipped with all the amenities of a 4 star hotel and maintain a combination of traditional and contemporary character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Veneto Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veneto Hotel Rethymnon
Veneto Boutique Hotel Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing