We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rethymno Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is the real hostel and one of the best. Place where you interrupt with people from all around the world. You have a unique chance to make friends, good sleep and in the morning very good and cheap breakfast. Want to stay forever...

Room Tip: There are only dorms the last think will be to stay in the room. They have a great patio and cheap d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexfifo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

I only planned on staying a night or two, but ended up getting sucked into & addicted to the amazing atmosphere and staying 2 weeks! It's so easy to make fast friends here and we ended up renting a car together and exploring some of the special places Crete has to offer. It truly was a time to remember :). Big thanks to Manolis and Alex for being so genuine and literally doing everything in your power to make sure everyone is informed and having the best time possible, it was very much appreciated! The hostel itself is clean, cheap & cheerful with everything you need really. It's the good vibes and something totally unique about it that makes it so special though. A real people bonding place.

Room Tip: Consider the rooftop for the fresh air and a little more peace & quiet. I loved that area, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Rethymno in this hostel for two nights, and would've stayed longer if I had the time! For only €10/night I had a simple bunk bed in a female dorm, but it was the friendly people staying and most amazing hospitable staff that makes your stay that extra bit special! I've stayed in plenty of hostels but this one tops the customer service!! Cheers Alex's and George!! :D

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Bernie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

The managers of this place are the best. Alex was more then happy to help with all questions and setting up guests with other like minded people to make it cheaper for all to see Crete. George is a wiz on the BBQ and Alex's salads were just as good. This is like a home. At the end of the day everyone would sit on the balcony and relax with a beer. I can't recommend this place more highly!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Simon-ire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hostel is one of the best Ive ever been to and such a wonderful place to feel at home and make new friends.
You'll be welcomed in the most friendly way, the vibe is great and especially manager Alex's cooking skills will make everyone feel like being part of a big family!
I can recommend that place to everyone who wants to go to crete, and I would come back anytime myself!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Rakkelismus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

An excellent life experience! Very friendly atmosphere, and completely relaxing. Alex, the hostel manager, is a fantastic host and a his cooking a la Jamie Oliver! I will definitely be visiting this place again. I would recommend anyone who is traveling to Crete to call in and try it for yourself!

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glenn999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I spent 2 weeks at the Hostel, using it as a base to travel the local area.

The hostel is centrally located and currently has two great staff members, Alex (known as Sasa) and Alex who both work long hours. Guidebooks say the Hostel reception closes during siesta (1-5) but my experience is that there is always someone to check you in between 8am - 11pm and some nights even till 2am!

The bathrooms are an outside block which is generally clean (don't go in after a large group of teenagers!) and the showers are always warm and sometimes scalding hot. The upstairs rooms are small 6/8 beds whilst downstairs are bigger (up to 18 beds). the upper bunks don't have ladders so if your not able to jump up, either ask for a lower bunk or take a chair to your room to help you!

In addition to all the travelers there are a number of longer term residents (studying locally) and ex-pats that pop in during siesta who are a wealth of knowledge for the local area and will let you know where you can get anything cheaper! Wine and beer in the Hostel is well priced and its not unusual to find a number of travelers on the outdoor patio enjoying a drink and a chat before heading out for the evening. Weekends the hostel is noisier and everyone is up alot later, but during the week I have returned back at 10pm to find everyone in bed!

This is defiantly the friendliest hostel I have ever stayed, try and stay on a Sunday and be treated to lunch by Alex who is a fantastic Chef.

Room Tip: take a room upstairs if you can, or sleep on the roof if its hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CummingsLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
27.9 mi away
Cocoon City Hostel
Cocoon City Hostel
#2 of 141 in Chania Town
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 177 in Rethymnon
658 reviews
4.2 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pepi Boutique Hotel
Pepi Boutique Hotel
#5 of 177 in Rethymnon
629 reviews
2.5 mi away
Calergi Residence
Calergi Residence
#1 of 2 in Atsipopoulo
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 177 in Rethymnon
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rethymno Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rethymno Youth Hostel

Address: 41 Tobazi, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Rethymnon
Price Range: £20 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rethymno Youth Hostel has always been the most sociable landmark since tourism started on the island of Crete years ago and a home away from home for travellers who wish to make new friends and discover from its very central position the endless natural and historical beauties of Crete . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rethymno Youth Hostel Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing