We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice as long as your room doesn't overlook the street!”
Review of Pepi Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pepi Studios
Ranked #6 of 165 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“nice as long as your room doesn't overlook the street!”
Reviewed 2 August 2009

After been recommended the Pepi and reading reviews we thought we wold give them a go. The only problem is that all the reviewers and the people that recommended the place didn't stay in a room that overlooks the street. If you get rooms 7,8 or 9 be prepared for a pretty noisy night. The greeks aren't the quietest talkers and they dont seem to sleep at night either, all through the night they could be heard wandering along then some would stop right outside the building and have a long conversation. We also couldn't believe how much noise the ATM at the bank next door made either. We ended up having to find another place to stay as after 7 near sleepless nights we could not take anymore.

The studios themselves are fine for the money, a bit basic but then we weren't sold them as being 5 star. The gardens and pool are very nice and are a great place to relax. If we had had one of the rooms at the back of the complex my rating would have been higher as we may have had some sleep. According to the useless thomson rep we should have requested a quiet room on our booking, we didnt think we would need to when the brochure states that it is in a quiet part of the old town.

As far as recommending this place goes, if you can guarantee getting one of the back of the complex rooms and are on a budget then go for it. Otherwise go to the La Strada a few streets away.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stef2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    124
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
59
356
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london,uk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

We have just come back from a week staying at the Pepi Studios and had an amazing time. We were lucky to have room 16 which had a mezzanine floor. It was fantastic!! basic but spotless. The studios are in the heart of the old town, through a gate off a side street and it is a complete oasis of calm!!! indeed, I was stopped by three passers by enquiring if it was a private house!!! The pool is small but does the job and there are plenty of beds. It was 40 degrees on somedays and you could barely move from the sunbed!! Only thing I will say is that the studios could do with a small bar and service, because some of us are too lazy to go to our rooms for drinks!!! Would highly recomend Stellas for home cooked food, its just off the square, its great for breakfast and, has a lovely roof garden. Its a left out of the studios then a right, walk past the Lemon Tree which is totally overrated and do a sharp right, then its just on the left. Lovely people. And, beware, drinks are expensive where ever you go. Some places were charging 6 euros for a glass of wine, you are better off with a bottle. For night owls, the place doesnt get going until 1am and then you would be better off getting a cab to Bora Bora which is up by where the package hotels are and is lively. The bars in the old town have gorgeous interiors but there was a noticeable shortage of punters and Iwould blame that on the credit crunch plus the exorbitant prices!!! Eating in the tiny harbour is a gamble, fish is great but the bill will come as a shock. If you go to the main square and walk straight through it you will come accross loads of local restaurants. To be honest, eating gyros off the stalls is a great way to experience Greek food for 2.50 ago and the cartons of wine from the supermarket and 2 euros are lovely.

The Thomsons trips? dont bother. We paid 75 euros to go to Elafonisos and its very beautiful but you spend an hour and a half on the boat just waiting for people to arrive. Its best to go to the local agents and do it yourself for half the price, same with Chania. Beware of the beach though, the sea is incredibly rough at times and couldnt be used alot of the days.

We had a fantastic holiday though and its one of the only places I would go back to, Pepi's is a total gem!!

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank angelcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

have just got back today from a week stay in Pepi. We were given room 18, which was lovely. The style of Pepi is very rustic and traditional. Rethymnon is unspolit with english bars etc, which you tend to find in areas such as the Costa del Sol etc. It was really refreshing to go on holiday to a geniune area, where you can get a real feel for the culture/lifestyle rather than going away somewhere so touristy it is like England. We like to do much different things when we go on holiday, so it was perfect for us.
We dined out a lot. The Agrimia restaurant was the least favourite of ours, we found it disappointing and very average being a Thomson customer we got 10% there but that still didn't make up for the food. We went to a taverna on the front near the harbour where the food was cheaper and more enjoyable, the deals on food were incredible. Cafe Igloo is a great bar to go to, the owner is very friendly.
We went on 2 day trips during the week, as we spent a lot of time relaxing in Rethymnon. We have a very busy lifestyle normally so it was lovely to be able to sit and relax. The ideon hotel is where guests can go and use the pool, and it was very nice - much better than the plunge pool in the apartments and the ideon is only a 5 minute walk away. We visited Hania and elafonisos. Elafonisos, is paradise definately worth a visit.
I would disagree with the review below in that Rethmymnon is a place for locals to shop, seeing as most of the shops contain souvenirs which of course the locals would not buy. The souvenirs are lovely and generally are not tat. We spent hours looking at the shops, which are down lots of gorgeous alley ways as many things available to buy are lovely.
Rethmymnon would be a perfect place to take a family. The people are very friendly, and the locals seem to love children. There also needs to be little worry with regards to not being able to speak the local language, as locals are very happy to speak english.
All in all, it was a fantastic holiday and I will most definately be returning to the area in the future.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spivvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swinton Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Well just returned after a week at Pepi Studios, looked at the reviews and felt it was what I was after, I was not disappointed. Just returned on Friday 10th July 09 and sad to be home apart from missing my man!

We got a coach and then a taxi to the studios and we had the ground floor place facing the pool, I loved it as soon as I saw it, very Greek, Traditional old buildings and lovely courtyard with small pool (enough to cool down) and sunbeds free to laze by the pool" (following that sun")

The apartments are basic, but clean and have everything you need, but the best thing about being at Pepi is it is 5mins stroll into the town with lots of shops, the beach is about a ten minute stroll and lovely" 10 euros for 2 sunloungers for the day and the beach is perfect!

We went to Elafonissos a seperate island where u wade through the waters to it, well worth a visit for 25 euros each with return coach and it looks like the Caribbean! we also took a trip on the bus to Chania which was also lovely, Rethymnon itself has a lovely harbour and is very picture postcard.

I must tell you however that the drinks are expensive! for 2 drinks it cost about £16, so your best with soft drinks or their drinks" and I am afraid at this time with the euro being so rubbish their is simply nothing to buy, I would recommend Pepi for a perfect relaxin break where u can soak up the sun and relax. The weather was 35 C every day!!

go for it" worth every penny!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo3SwintonManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2009

this apartment was excellent. we went for our honeymoon and found it was quiet and sucluded even though it was in the heart of the old town.
it is a 10 min stroll to the main beach and less than 5 min to a restaurant.
we stayed for a week had didn't have a bad meal. for anyone going please look around for places to eat as we found some nice restaurants on the next to last day, down by the sea near the sister hotel

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rugbyplayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2009

Judy and I discovered Pepi last September when we stayed for 2 glorious weeks, hence we returned for 2 weeks, 03-17th May. The situation of Pepi is what really makes it for us- in the heart of The Old Town but no traffic noise, only the beep beep of Greek Nat Bank ATM next door. The sister hotel, Ideon is 5 mins walk. Here is use of pool, internet and bar. We also stayed at this fine 3* hotel last year.
A 5minute walk away will lead to great Tavernas (not on the front) and supermarkets.The Pepi is exclusive to Thomsons/First Choice, so only British folk, but once over that hurdle things are fine! The Bus station is a 20min walk away and from here you can travel to anywhere on Crete, as we did for an overnight stay in Anogia.
Kalo Taxidi Have a good journey
Psiloritis.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Psiloritis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

Having researched numerous reviews we were a little bit dubious about going to the pepi. I can honestly say these studios are very, very nice, set in the heart of the old town in Rethymnon with everything close by. We had room 18 absolutly lovely. Restaurants, street cafe/bar, shops and supermarkets. I must say there is a lack of proper bars in rethymnon, me being a football fan had to watch some games on small tv's with music on instead of sound. On Saturday had to try and desipher greek to get football results. We did try a good selection of restaurants, the ones near the sea front are expensive (you pay for the view) one of the best we tried is 'Agrimia' good food at good prices, another one we found was out of this world, 'TO ELLINIKON' a restaurant you would walk past, small, very traditional and somewhat bland looking but the food, especially the fish was amazing we went back the following night for same dish it was that good, but unfortunatly had to fly home the next day, this restaurant is well worth the visit. The Studios are about a 15min walk from the bus station where you can get a bus anywhere, the staff are really helpfull as well. We did find it a little expensive, only because of the exchange rate, expect to pay 3 to 4.5 euro for a pint a good meal for 2 inc wine 40 to 50 euro and a return trip to Chania on the bus for 2 people 26Euro. A good place to go for a week. Downside, you do need to get out and about as Rethymnon is a town not yet geared up for tourism, very nice and quaint but mainly a place for Cretans to relax and shop. We would go back but after a couple of years, we would reccomend the pepi if you love traditional greece. overall a good holiday but a bit boring if you stay in Rethymnon. (even had a day at Malia) to liven things up. Hope this helps Ian (42) Elaine (52)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaineian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.1 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 165 in Rethymnon
588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 165 in Rethymnon
529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 165 in Rethymnon
593 reviews
4.2 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pepi Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepi Studios

Property: Pepi Studios
Address: 22 Tsouderon Street, Rethymnon, Crete, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#24 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pepi Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pepi Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepi Studios Rethymnon
Pepi Studios Hotel Rethymnon
Pepi Studios Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing