We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect beach hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlantis Beach Hotel
Ranked #26 of 167 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect beach hotel”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Hotel is located at a very attractive place, just a few meters from a BlueFlag sandy beach. Distance to the old Rethymno center is quite reasonable, just enough for a evening walk. The room was very comfortable and we felt very relaxed there. Really clean, spacious, great beds. Yummy breakfast with a generous choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NatalieP75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    107
    18
    14
    4
See reviews for
106
164
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingoer, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed a week at Atlantis in August. The location is very good: Within walking distance (20 min) to the city centre.
The hotel is nice and clean. The hotel manager (Mr Lagodakis) and his staff are all very friendly and extremely helpful.
The aircon turns off when you leave the room, but as the hotel manager explained, this is because of the individual aircon which will cool your room in a few minutes when turned on. Actually I must admit that this concept worked fine.
As noted in other reviews the beds are quite hard. However I did not find this to be a problem at all and slept very well.
Pros: Cleanliness, helpfulness, location, view from the restaurant terrace
Cons: Payment for sunbeds at the beach, payment for vault - no box in the room (approx. 10 EUR for a week)

Room Tip: Chose a room that does not face the see as the other rooms are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrik_Winther61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
165 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at the Atlantis Beach Hotel for a week in mid August. Following a warm welcome from the reception and a raki from the manager, we settled into the clean and well maintained surroundings. The pool area is perfect and the rooms are spacious and clean. Importantly, the air conditioning worked perfectly and was nice and quiet.
We went for half board, and all meals are served on the front deck overlooking the beach and with a great view up to the fortress for epic sunsets. The breakfasts are varied (fruit, breads, eggs and hot sausages or bacon). For me, the included dinner was a little bit too "canteen" like - plenty of food and big selection but would rather a smaller selection and more interesting food. That said, the Greek night (Wednesday) was the highlight and had all the greek fare one would want (souvlaki, moussaka etc). Christos the head water was extremely friendly and did his best to please the nightly crowd.
Central Rethmynon itself is a bit of a tourist hole (bar/restaurant strip with touts), and it is nice that Atlantis is located far enough away to be peaceful and away from the muck, but close enough to foot falcon in for a look. Plenty of car parks are available out front should you hire a car, which we would highly recommend to get out of town and see the real Crete!.
Some other upsides - Interenet everywhere, and free.
Nit picking downsides - Bar prices at dinner are a little high - 5€ for a pint at dinner and €5 euro a glass of wine - seems to be a good little earner going on! Internet a little fragile at key times, which may irritate anyone looking to do a bit of business or megabuck share deals. As others have said that beds are on the hard side.
In conclusion it was just what we needed for a relaxing week to recharge, and after having a snoop around town we would suggest it's probably up there with the best place you could stay in Rethmynon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MylosReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
german
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Thanks to the fantastic animation team of Iberostar and the quality of the hotel, we had a very good holiday at Iberostar Creta Marine.
We had a very nice family suite with seaview en the room was very clean ;-)
At the reception the staff is very service-minded

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karl-heinz j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Atlantis Beach Hotel for a week during June. The hotel was really great, the pool was clean and not too crowded, the staff were really helpful and the rooms were really high standard. The breakfast was varied and pretty decent with a choice of hot, continental and cereals. We never ate dinner at the hotel as there was a choice of restaurants outside of the hotel. The only down side was the beds were quite hard (but I believe this is quite common in Greece), We were also the only English in the hotel and most of the people who stay there are slightly older than we were so sometimes felt a little out of place. Other than that it was a really great hol!

Room Tip: We had a garden room view which is cheaper and I think much better than pool or sea as was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SallyPike1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I've had the pleasure of staying at Atlantis Beach Hotel for a week and the hotel and its employees far exceeded my expectations in service. The people serving you are really nice, relaxed and pay an interest in you stay.

We ordered both breakfast and dinner and that is also something that I can recommend. In Rethymnon there are lots of tourist restaurants with boring food so it was nice to eat healthy great food at the hotel. If you want real Cretan food, you should go to the town centre where the natives are dining. Avoid the beach tourist restaurants.

The only thing negative is the beds. They are way too hard...

Room Tip: If you pick the rooms with ocean view be prepaired for some noise from the road just outside the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Me, my husband and our 1-year-old had a wonderful week in this hotel. I can recommend the family suite when you have kids. Our family suite was situated at a quite side of the hotel (not @ the pool & no seaview, perfect!). The room had a balcony with 2 doors, so when our boys was napping, we could still use the balcony without 'disturbing' him. The fridge,TV and AC were just fine. Even with our little boy and all his luggage + his stroller, we had enough space in the family suite.

We were glad that we had no sea view suite, because this rooms are also situated at a quite busy road. There's also a terrace (breakfast, dinner and special nights), so lots of things to see, but also a lot of things to hear. Most of the staffmembers were really nice, friendly and helpfull.

The swimmingpoolwater was a little fresh, but clean and had there was a bar with cool drinks and good snacks/lunch.

The big breakfast buffet was good and every day there was something new (/greek) on the buffet. We really enjoyed trying this local dishes. We had dinner (buffet) twice and it was also good. A lot of nice restaurants are close by and also really nice to try. We had so much fun @ Manolis Place, just down the street. Every time people ask for the check, Mr. Manolis will drink some Raki or Ouzo with the paying guests. So for the most fun, grab a bite at the end of the evening ;)

It's about a 15-20 minute walk to the old city center, really nice to visit this small little streets with so much shops! You can also catch a 'Yellow Train', that's much cheaper (€10-€17,50) than an excursion of Tui/ Arke/ Holland International. The frontdesk employer can help you book a Yellow Train Trip! The supermarket is nearby, so you can fill your fridge with some drinks and some bites. This fridge is not a minibar by the way, so it's empy when you arrive.

Room Tip: We had family suite 102, the room above the quit side entrance. If we visit this hotel again, I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ptje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.7 mi away
Kriti Beach Hotel
Kriti Beach Hotel
#29 of 167 in Rethymnon
216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swell Boutique Hotel
Swell Boutique Hotel
#24 of 167 in Rethymnon
106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bio Suites Hotel
Bio Suites Hotel
#23 of 167 in Rethymnon
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 167 in Rethymnon
523 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#9 of 167 in Rethymnon
997 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kyma Beach Hotel
Kyma Beach Hotel
#54 of 167 in Rethymnon
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Beach Hotel

Property: Atlantis Beach Hotel
Address: Ari Velouchioti Street 28, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#18 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#31 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis Beach Hotel in Rethymnon is an A category 4 Star hotel. Built in classical bungalow style with a main house and 6 smaller buildings, two stories high, ATLANTIS Beach Hotel is situated at the Rethymnon beach promenade. The hotel has been fully renovated in 2008. With its private sandy beach opposite of the large front terrace, with its 90 comfortably furnished rooms with balconies and sun terraces, large gardens and swimming pool, bars, restaurant, sauna, fitness room and a large enchanted children's playground, the hotel offers its guests comfortable accommodation in Rethymno at reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantis Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Beach Rethymnon
Atlantis Beach Hotel Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing