We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”
Review of Astali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Astali Hotel
Ranked #9 of 165 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Convenient”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

By no stretch of the imagination could this hotel be described as any more than fairly good but it certainly wasn't bad. The room was clean but the air conditioner was extremely noisy. On the plus side, it was within easy walking distance of the old town and, at 40 Euros a night for two people, was very reasonably priced for a town centre hotel. No car parking here, you have to park on the side of the road (if you're lucky enough to find a space).
I would be happy to return but would ask for a room with a quieter air conditioner.

Room Tip: Ask to see several and check air conditioner noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    61
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
41
248
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Back again for the fifth time, excellent as usual. Very clean and comfortable nothing too much trouble for the owners. Reasonable variety on the breakfast buffet and no limit as to how much you can eat. If you have an early start for a trip before breakfast is served they are only to willing to give you a packed lunch. Met up with some of the regular visitors and have now become good friends. Rooms on the front very quiet when you shut the balcony doors. Jean, Tony and Ian.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This was our first holiday to Crete and choosing the Astali and Rethymnon was the perfect choice. On arrival we were given a room at the front on the second floor but felt we wanted a quieter room. After raising this at the reception to which was most accomodating handed us keys to several available rooms. We chose room 101 that had a patio has big as the room. Throughout our 11 night stay we found it to be a most friendly run hotel 24/7 most helpful at all times. Our room was cleaned daily as was the hotel in general. Rooms and shower were a litle on the small side but were adequate for our needs. The breakfast was a very good Greek style buffet breakfast with choice of tin and fresh fruit, cereals, cheeses, tomatoes, boiled eggs, bread and toast etc, fruit juice, good coffee and the gorgeous Greek yogurt and honey. The courtyard patio garden at the front of the hotel was a nice cool place to relax and have drink,chat, plan or reflect on the day. The hotel is perfectly placed in the centre of Rethymnon just 2 minutes from the sea front, old town and bus station 20 minutes walk away with regular bus services to Hania and Heraklion witth stops in between and services to the south of the island. We can recommend the family run Astali and Rethymnon with its beaches, long promenade, old town its many excellent eating places...................the perfect choice.

Room Tip: Ask to see avaiable rooms and then its individual choice. Quieter rooms are at the back. For to know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PETER W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OLDHAM
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Once again a perfect place to stay to enjoy all that is great in Rethymno.
Family run friendly people with an understanding of the needs for a relaxing holiday.
Just can't find any faults.
We'll be returning no doubt.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DEN-ONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Have just returned from a 7 night stay at the Astali in room 305. This was our first visit. This is an excellent 3* family owned hotel. You get an excellent greek style buffet breakfast, but don't expect an "English fry-up". The couple in the next room to us were on their 21st visit which says a lot. The owner and her family were very welcoming and the rooms were spotlessly clean. The bathroom was a little small but we managed. The hotel is in a good situation for visiting the Old Town, 5 minutes from the beach and very handy for the open top red bus tour (90 minutes and very good). We also went on 2 trips on the yellow road train which were very interesting. Lots of good places to eat close to the hotel. If you like a damn good ice cream try a place called "Muai" next to "chocolat". When you leave the hotel turn right down to the sea front, then turn left .It is a few yards further along on the left hand side. Ther are many places to book up day trips and the prices were much lower than those quoted by our tour operator.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Staffsgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Just back from another great holiday. Thanks again for a great time food and hospitality first rate very friendly family run hotel would definately recommend it for a relaxing and friendly stay as always we will definately be back soon John & Barbara


  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojonat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We recently spent a week at this hotel which could only be described as excellent. The family running the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly. It is well positioned for both the beach and the old town . We took 2 trips . First to Knossos - 32euro which I would recommend since to do it yourself would cost about 25 euro and you would need a guide to give you information - our guide was first rate. The second trip was to Matalla - also 32 euro which was to the south of the island. We also caught the bus to Chania 6.20 Euro each way which was also well worth doing. We ate several times in the old port and found that the meals and drinks were no more than in the town but the setting is perfect.
One final thing about the hotel - there were several different couples who had stayed there year after year which should in itself be a good recommendation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.2 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#8 of 165 in Rethymnon
1,037 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 165 in Rethymnon
588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 165 in Rethymnon
529 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 165 in Rethymnon
542 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 165 in Rethymnon
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astali Hotel

Property: Astali Hotel
Address: 1 Papandreou Georgiou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Astali Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Astali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astali Hotel Rethymnon
Astali Hotel Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing