We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasanat hotel”
Review of Astali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astali Hotel
Ranked #7 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very pleasanat hotel”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Usually I don’t write reviews, but the staff in Astali hotel is so friendly and nice and did their best to make our vacation really pleasant, so I had to.
Hotel has great location- 5min walk to the sandy beach, 10min walk to the Venetian port. It is situated in a relatively quiet street, but many restaurants, tavernas, bars are nearby. Big supermarket is also close and a bus station is only 5 min away (and the bus no 20 stops right in front of the hotel).
Hotel is very, very well maintained, rooms are cleaned every day and bed linens changed every other day.
Free Wi-Fi access is provided in rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms that oversee the street can be a bit noisy due to traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KijaraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    61
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
42
259
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Clean rooms, excellent location (close to the beach and old town) great price and the nicest staff we have ever met!

It is so good to see staff that loves their job.

Thank you for a great stay, greetings from Norway!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Th0m_A2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WALES
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed at the Astali Hotel for two weeks in june/july 2013.
Our stay at this hotel was very nice with excellent and friendly service.
Our room was cleaned every day to a high standard.
The location of the hotel is ideal being near the beach and the old town.
The hotel is an easy 15 min walk to the main bus station.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaiBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed at the Astali from the 18th to the 28th of July 2013, the Family who run the place are very friendly and helpful the rooms are cleaned every day and towels and sheets are also changed every day. The guys who looks after the reception on nights was amazing a really nice bloke who made us feel very welcome when we first arrived. Pity the actual resort of Rethymnon didn't match up to the Hotel, it's restaurant based no entertainment and very very pricey in one of the few bars managed to find we were charged 10 euros for two small bottles of their local beer, another wanted to charge eight for a pint of John smiths out of a can! needles to say we won't be making a return visit, it has put us off Greece altogether.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter rooms ate front are great for people watching.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff_binney_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WALES
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

stayed 11/18 july.all i can say is absolutly fantastic place.Start by saying about the room we stayed in was of highest possible standard of cleanliness throughout,bed linen and towels changed daily.we would go for breakfast and by return room was made up.cleaner was great!breakfast wasgood with variety of cereals fruit jams etc.very laid back and plenty of room.no rushing to get a table.We had a few nights sitting outside for a nightcap,and yannis(barman)was great nothing to much trouble.as for the family themselves i cannot emphasise how warming and homely they were.they even offered to call for a doctor when i became ill.The hotel is in the center of town,altho abusy road NOnoise can be heard for sleeping because of the double glazed patio doors(room305). you are a 5min walk from the beach wch was very clean.People we met at the hotel were very friendly and soon became aware why they returned anually.we will definetly be beack next year for longer.thank you Crysanthi,marios,yannis for a wonderful welcome.Oh by the way my wife still wants that job behind the bar.ha ha. ron and gaynor

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RONANDGAYNOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My wife and I have just returned yesterday from a two week holiday at the Astali. It is the second time we have stayed here. The other reviews say it all.....what a fantastic family, they will do anything to help you enjoy your holiday. The hotel is spotless throughout and the sheets and towels are changed regularly. The breakfast is good with cereal, breads, Greek yogurt, preserves, fruit etc. At night time we closed the double glazed doors and put the air conditioning on, this kept the traffic noise out. The hotel is located at a busy crossroads but only a five minute walk downhill to the large beach to the right and towards the Old Town to the left. There are dozens or restaurants all along the sea front and in the Old Town.
We have only been back home for a day and are missing the Astali, Rethymno, and Crete already.

We thank you all, Chrisanthi, Marios and Yannis for a wonderful stay and hope to see you all again in the future.

Love, David and Denise Watson.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveoutwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Just returned from 10 day stay at the Astali , late deal through Thomsons and proved to be a great choice. We have holidayed around the Greek Isles several times, usually self catering so know to expect that accommodation can be small and basic, beds generally hard, showers very small! The Astali is good 2 star family owned accommodation, the welcome was warm and friendly, and everyone we met on the team was extremely helpful. Our first visit to Crete and Rethymnon, and location of the hotel was good for us, handy for beach, old town and bus station. We had a front room so had traffic noise but as said by others, double glazing and air con helped, and we did not have any disturbed nights. Our room was small and comfortable enough for our ten days, and kept spotlessly clean throughout. Breakfast choices suited us- not regular cooked breakfast eaters. Only small criticism I would make is regular serving of canned peaches in syrup - it is not difficult to make a fresh fruit salad with healthy syrup........ But a very minor point.....
Rethymnon old town offers some historical interest, nice atmosphere, and plenty of places to eat. Harbour front restaurants more obvious and more pushy, but also plenty of places to eat along the beach front going right from the hotel.
The long, long beach is two minutes from the hotel, sandy , clean and safe swimming. Beach volleyball matches also kept us entertained daily, teams playing late afternoon onwards.
On previous Greek isle trips we have usually hired a car, this time we travelled by bus to sight see. The bus station is about 15 minutes walk away, Marios gave us a timetable and once we had this sussed we ventured to Chania, Hereklion, and Knossos, have to say better public transport experiences than at home!
Although we like to try new places when we travel we would consider a return to the Astali if we ever wanted a short foreign break in familiar surroundings! The warm and friendly welcome makes the difference!

Room Tip: If easily disturbed request a room at back of hotel. We had twin room on first floor at front, ample...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosep132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.2 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#9 of 175 in Rethymnon
1,066 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
602 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#6 of 175 in Rethymnon
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 175 in Rethymnon
540 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 175 in Rethymnon
597 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astali Hotel

Property: Astali Hotel
Address: 1 Papandreou Georgiou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Astali Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Astali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astali Hotel Rethymnon
Astali Hotel Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing