We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow”
Review of Astali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astali Hotel
Ranked #10 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Thank you so much to the Astali . Excellent holiday . Family run and they are amazing . Very clean hotel its the second time we have stopped there . All the staff a credit, warm and friendly. If you are thinking of booking you will not be disappointed. Great location for the beach and town. Fantastic restaurants in the old town. Crystanthi , Marios and Yanis woderful and thank you .

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking road .
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AnnandPhil3055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
There are newer reviews for Astali Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have been staying at the Astali Hotel for many years and latterly twice a year. There are many other guests who return year after year, we think this speaks for itself and is because of the hospitality and friendliness of the owners, Crysanthi, Marios, Yani and also their staff.

The hotel is kept immaculately clean with the bedding and towels changed daily. The Astali offers the personal touch where you are known by name and not by just a room number as you are in larger hotels. At the Astali you are friends.

The room sizes are adequate as we are only in there to sleep so do not see the point in having a massive room. The balconies are a good size for sitting with an early evening drink to relax and people watch prior to going out for dinner.

The buffet breakfasts are always fresh and plentiful, offering top quality foods.

The hotel is ideally situated in that is a 5 minute walk to the beach and about an 8 minute walk to the old town and the multitude of excellent restaurants.

There is a bus stop outside the hotel where you can catch the local bus into the station and visit other parts of this beautiful island.

We would not think of staying anywhere else in Rethymnon and are looking forward to returning later in the year.

Clive and Pat Saunders

Room Tip: If you like people watching ask for a room on the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile


My boyfriend and I booked a two week holiday to Greece, we were a little nervous about what to expect but we were so happy with everything. It was truly a fantastic holiday and we would not change a thing.

The hotel had a five star service. The family were all friendly and easy to laugh and talk to. They contributed to our fantastic holiday.

The rooms were spotless and were cleaned thoroughly each day. The air conditioning was a life saver and worked really well. The room had a good hair dryer and plenty of storage. The fridge was handy to have, we stocked it up with bottles of water to take to the beach.
Our room was on the main road which wasn't a problem as the doors blocked any noise at night. We even had a sea view!!! - the wonderful beach is literally down the road!!!!!

The hotel was situated in a great spot, smack bang in the middle of the new town and old one. To the left you have the beAutiful old town and harbour which is full of shops, bars and restaurants and to the right there were lots of other places to eat. We are a young couple and the town provided us with so many options such as a quiet meal and then a few cocktails in a bar.
There is a really nice noodle bar to the right and a great family run restaurant called 'Maria's' a few meters from the hotel. It was delicious!!!!! In fact all the places the hotel recommended were lovely.

All of the Greek people were soooo friendly and there is just lots to see and do.
I would recommend this hotel and town to anyone and hope to go back some day soon.
Thank you again for everything.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Francesca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel does exactly what it says on the tin - it is small and friendly, and is excellent. It is important to remember that it is a 2 star hotel. Having said that, there are things included in the price that are charged as extras in most bigger hotels. One is Wi-Fi, which is really good no matter where you are in the hotel. The other is the fridge that is for personal use. I am fed up with hotels providing a fridge stocked with over-priced small bottles of drink and nibbles, with no room for any personal items.
Yes, the rooms are small, but are perfectly adequate for a holiday where you spend most of the time out exploring the local tavernas, restaurants and beaches.
Breakfast may be the same every day, but there is a wide choice and it is great to be able to decide what you fancy at the time. And of course there is unlimited tea and coffee .....
The family and staff are very friendly and always happy to spend a few minutes to chat (when they are not too busy serving breakfast or welcoming new guests).
There are several people who return every year, ourselves included, as we look for a holiday that is relaxing from day 1 and know that we will always get a warm welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cm324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

The Astali is a small friendly hotel in the centre. It is in a fabulous location for the beach and old town. The rooms are very clean and ok size. The only issue I had was the bathroom. Showers to small and your head butting the sink. The breakfast is continental there is lots of choice. There is a bar that serves most beverages. For the price its great and the staff are very friendly. Highly recommended if you are not into all inclusive complexes.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Billy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Rooms in this Hotel are really small. The balcony has 2 plastic chairs and a small table. For 2 people to sit out there, the table has to be moved inside or it is impossible to step onto the balcony. There is just enough room to walk between the end of the bed and the wall and between the side of the bed and the bathroom. The other side of the bed has slightly more room to walk but not much.

The bathroom is very small, with small shower, vanity and toilet.

There is a designated space at the bottom of the wardrobe to put one suitcase only. I struggle to think where a second case could be stored; thank goodness we only had one!

On the positive side; rooms are clean, breakfast is very good and the outdoor area is a pleasant place to sit and have a drink whilst watching the world go by. Hotel is in a good location, close to the beach and the Old Town, restaurants and cafes.

However in the end we moved Hotels as we found the rooms to be too small for enjoyment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank free2wander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

When I chose a hotel for my vacation a few months ago, Astali was one of options. Although it is a two star hotel and the price wasn't high, I've found very nice comments about it, and now I may say that all of them are true :)
The hotel is much more above expectations. It has everything that you need, even more. The room was small, but very functional and very clean. Towels are changed every day, there is hot water in showers any time, wi-fi is free... They even have their own radio station with nice quiet music.
The location of the hotel is also good. The beach is near, and the city center you can reach by foot for 20 minutes. Owners are very nice and polite, you can easy agree with them about any issue.
So, I gladly recommend this hotel, it is very good choice for Crete.

Room Tip: Ask for bigger room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Primavera F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.6 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
633 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 175 in Rethymnon
556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#9 of 175 in Rethymnon
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#6 of 175 in Rethymnon
601 reviews
0.5 mi away
Minos Hotel
Minos Hotel
#21 of 175 in Rethymnon
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Achillion Palace
Achillion Palace
#41 of 175 in Rethymnon
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astali Hotel

Address: 1 Papandreou Georgiou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#9 Best Value Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: £41 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Astali Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astali Hotel Rethymnon
Astali Hotel Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing