We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place!”

Thavma Coffee Drinks & Cretan food
Ranked #1 of 339 Restaurants in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: STAY INFORMED WITH THE LATEST NEWS AND EVENT ALERTS, ON OUR FACEBOOK PAGE! Welcome ! Choosing THAVMA for a short getaway, or for your holiday, you will discover a fantastic destination of stunning natural beauty that combines all the elements that will fulfill your dreams. Maroulas, is one of the finest historical villages in the majestic prefecture of Rethymnon , where our place is located. Thavma, is characterized by its stunning views, offering visitors the unique opportunity to escape from their daily routine and experience happy moments with their family and their friends. Taste pure local treats, accompanied by home made Raki. Enjoy your coffee or drink and "feel" the relaxing peace that surrounds our place, silence which is occasionally interrupted by the singing of the birds. Taste our Cretan traditional home made food, accompanied by home made wine. In case you are charmed by all the mentioned above and want to stay, a wonderful apartment is at your disposal as you can see on our website ! Our place THAVMA is only 15 minutes away from Rethymnon on the way to Maroulas from the western side. You are more than welcome ! Maria Bounialetou
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

A gem up in the mountain well worth a visit. Not only to view the marvelous sunset but to enjoy a lovely greek dinner at a local taverna with no fuss. Just love for people and food.

Helpful?
2 Thank Trigger05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria-Bounialetou, Owner at Thavma Coffee Drinks & Cretan food, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi! Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review! We are so glad that you've enjoyed everything here at Thavma, our dishes, the sunset, the views and the quietness of the environment...
Hope to see you soon again ! Take care...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    64
    21
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I always look at reviews before venturing abroad but I've never actually written one. Thavma was so incredible, I cannot praise it enough. The food was excellent, some of the best i've had out. The family were wonderful and there was a genuine warm welcome. Perfect views too and a little space for kids to play. Absolutely incredible experience.!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria-Bounialetou, Owner at Thavma Coffee Drinks & Cretan food, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi! Thank you for this wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that although you always look at reviews, as you say, before venturing abroad, this is the first time you felt the "necessity" to write a review! We really thank you about that, we are glad that you enjoyed our food and your kids enjoyed our little Thavma-land !
Hope to see you again next summer! Take care...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We celebrated my wife's 40th birthday here and will never regret doing so. The passion with which this restaurant is run flies through everything from the food to the service. Thank you Maria (and you lovely parents) for making this a truly memorable evening. To top it all off the view is breathtaking.

Helpful?
1 Thank Snarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria-Bounialetou, Owner at Thavma Coffee Drinks & Cretan food, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello! We thank you so much for your wonderful review! We would like to wish once again to your lovely wife Happy birthday and many many returns! It was a great honor for us to meet you and have you with us! We really appreciate it that you have chosen our restaurant for such an important event for you! That's why we are so happy that we've managed to offer you a very special evening for a very special woman! We can't wait to see you again next year...Take care...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This restaurant is breathtaking in so many ways, after a long day hiking in Crete Thavma was just what we needed. The menu had a lovely selection of food, snacks and drinks as well as there being a serial picturesque view to die for! Maria and her mum were absolutely wonderful and genuine, nothing was too much to ask for and they did everything with a smile. We will definitely be visiting Thavma again when we come back to Crete next summer.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaMonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria-Bounialetou, Ιδιοκτήτης at Thavma Coffee Drinks & Cretan food, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hi! We thank you so much for your lovely review! It was so nice to meet you and have you with us! You are so kind and polite... We are so happy because you've had such a nice time here enjoying our food! We thank you also so much for your wonderful photos! We can't wait to see you again next summer...Take care...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a discovery!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Thanks to previous reviews on TripAdvisor for Thavma, we decided to give it a go on one of our last nights in Crete, and we were not disappointed. WIth our two young children in tow, Maria and her mother could not have been more relaxed, welcoming and friendly. We enjoyed beautiful views over Rethymno, a gorgeous sunset, tasty homecooked food and the children were kept amused with lots of toys and colouring crayons . A great experience and one that we would thoroughly recommend. Keep up the good work Maria and family!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slf1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria-Bounialetou, Owner at Thavma Coffee Drinks & Cretan food, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hello! We thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure for us to have you in our restaurant! We enjoyed your lovely kids playing here and we are so happy that you've had a nice time here! We are also glad that you enjoyed our homecooked food! Hope to see you again ...Take care...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thavma Coffee Drinks & Cretan food also viewed

Platanias, Rethymnon
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Thavma Coffee Drinks & Cretan food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing