We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional villa with a warm atmosphere in a...”
other travellers have booked this property
25 sqm ecological swimming pool with sun beds
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
25 sqm ecological swimming pool with sun beds
Outdoors - garden and pool Outdoor dining and sitting area under the grapevine!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
25 sqm ecological swimming pool with sun beds
Outdoors - garden and pool
Outdoor dining and sitting area under the grapevine!
Sitting area right next to the swimming pool
Outdoor dining table under the grapevine!
Tastefully decorated spacious indoor open plan area
Open plan living, dining and kitchen area
Living room area
Dining area
Fully equipped antique style kitchen
Smeg retro-style refrigerator adds a taste in the house!
Smeg retro-style oven in the kitchen
Bedroom on the first floor
Bedroom with private bathroom on the first floor
Bedroom on the ground floor
Bathroom
Enjoy relaxing in our garden under the grapevines..!
The swimming pool within the beautiful garden of the villa
There are plenty of outdoor sitting places in our garden
The entrance of the villa from the garden
Sitting area with great view - feel the Cretan nature!
One of the best place to relax or sunbathe..!
Traditional wood oven, there is also a sink and a gas hob in outdoor area
Our garden is full of grapes in the summer to taste and relax under that
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sarah m
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional villa with a warm atmosphere in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I and our 3 children aged 8,7,and 4 spent a fabulous 2 weeks at Villa Dimitra. We had a very warm greeting and a glass of raki with the owners on arrival in the courtyard infront of the villa under a grapevine laiden with fruit.There was no demand for a deposit or expectations that we`d pay for cleaning at the end of our stay which was refreshing. The garden around the villa is beautiful and so tranquil and the children were in the pool within moments of casting their eyes on it. As the villa is on the edge of the village it is not overlooked and the garden area is very private .The villa itself is tastefully decorated and wonderfully spacious.The walls are decorated with old paintings and tapestries making it feel cosy but lending a sense of history and authenticity to this once family home. The fridge was stocked with essentials and we were encouraged to help ourselves to the ample supply of raki ( home made) and the organically grown produce in their gardens below.
I enjoyed cooking in the outdoor kitchen and we ate many meals in the courtyard surrounded by the sounds of cicadas. Our children loved this place and my husband and I very much enjoyed the romantic setting.
The village of Amnatos where the villa is situated has a little shop where we bought our fresh bread daily. The lady who runs the shop clearly adores children and our 3 became very keen shoppers after she regularly rewarded them with lollypops and sweets. The taverna opposite is charming and serves a range of Cretan favourites on tables situated outdoors. A mobile greengrocer and fishmonger drive through the village daily declaring their presence with loud music.
We spent our days at various beautiful beaches on the North and South shores, interrupted with the essential trips to Knossos, Rethymnon, and Chania, and a day spent at a waterpark for the children. The villas location is ideally positioned for exploring the Island.
We have stayed in many villas but this is easily the nicest and by far the richest in sense of history and atmosphere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden areas are really well thought out and maintained. Using the vegetables and herbs in the garden for cooking spurred me on to cook most evenings for the family.
Liked least: The drinks fridge freezer cabinet door regularly hit me on the head which became a bit of a joke in the end really.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PerryAlex...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4
people found this review helpful

I've stayed in thousands of places in more than 100 countries around the world but Villa Dimitra is unique -- for its charm, and the exceptional warmth and extraordinarily generosity of its hosts. I've truly never stayed anywhere like it, and plan to return often.

The house is an old family home in the medieval village of Amnatos, owned by Vangelis and Joanna Stefanakis, and their son Petros and his wife Maria, and (now) baby Joanna. Amnatos is small -- a cluster of stone houses with walled stepped gardens on a sharp rise, like an Italian hill town -- with one basic shop and one rather fantastic taverna whose dining room, brilliantly, is the street. Villa Dimitra is on the southern edge of Amnatos, up a tiny, steep lane next to the church, with a clear view of the mountains and, from its upper terrace, the sea.

Vangelis, Joanna and Petros were on hand to greet us with a glass of raki when we arrived (more than two hours late). They'd also bought a giant supper for us from the taverna. Once they showed us around, it was clear that they'd stocked the two fridges and food cupboards and wine rack with enough food and drink (including homemade raki, jam, wine, and some very fine parmesan-like cheese and so on) to keep us going for days. Then Vangelis told us we should help ourselves to the tomatoes, aubergines, courgettes, grapes, chillis and herbs growing in the garden. (We did -- that didn't stop Vangelis occasionally turning up and picking some more for us, or dropping off a tray of Joanna's stuffed and baked peppers and courgettes flowers; or a box of Rethymnon honey cakes; or, when we left, Vangelis giving us a set of 10 prints of 17th century paintings and draftsmen drawings of the town and Joanna adding another box of wicked chocolates. Like I say, their generosity was quite stunning.)

The house is a restored cottage of several hundred years old, with three large bedrooms -- all with double beds -- plus some day-beds, sofas and large dining tables scattered around what are four living rooms. There's a small garden, a courtyard with an outside kitchen, wood-fired oven, bbq and large table under the vines, where we did most of our eating and playing backgammon etc. Two of the bedrooms have large and private terraces. And there's a round and reasonably sized pool -- more a splash tank than for serious swimming, but beautifully tucked into the garden.

Inside, the house is stuffed with a collection of very personal and rather precious antiques and family memorabilia which give a real sense of being part of the community. That's an impression only confirmed when you step outside the door and take a walk around Amnatos, which turns out to one of those places that most of us have only experienced in novels, where everyone knows everyone's name, everyone is a friend and, when you are in the company of any of the Stefanakises, you will find it impossible to pay for anything at all, even a dinner at taverna.

Despite all the attention, the family take care never to be intrusive. On the other hand, they're only a phone call away for advice on the best fish restaurant in Rethymnon (Zephyos, by the way), the best beaches in the north and south, a good local store, a good butcher etc. Our stay ended up becoming one of those rare experiences where what begins as tourism and a summer holiday transitions into true travel. Very, very special indeed, and a week in Crete that none of us will ever forget.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lb62
Calais
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto V
Garbagnate Milanese, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: musica greca attraverso una raccolta di cd
Liked least: nulla
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$153
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing