We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not for the faint hearted”

Mount Ida (Psiloritis) Tour With Green Tour
Ranked #12 of 36 Tours in Rethymnon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Psiloritis, the highest mountain range on Crete, rises to 2456m. The mountains are home to numerous myths about Zeus origin, have been a refuge for rebels throughout various battles and wars, whereas today they are the natural home of shepherds and endemic wildlife. Many walking routes are available right at the heart of the Cretan countryside. Included in the UNESCO's Global Geoparks Network, Psiloritis offers an amazing experience to those who try to know it better by walking its many paths, peaks and wild landscapes - large caves, deep gorges, small plateaus, pine and oak woods and bare alpine zones. MYGERO - PSILORITIS SUMMIT (TIMIOS STAVROS) TRAIL INFO Duration: ~6 hours Distance: 10 km Ascent/Descent: 800/800m Difficulty: 3/5 IT IS NOT SUGGESTED TO HIKE THE HIGHER TRAILS OF PSILORITIS WITHOUT PRIOR EXPERIENCES OR WITHOUT A GUIDE. The area offers many tempting alternatives even for the less active walkers. Suggestion: A visit to the Shepherd's Shelter at Krana for exploring the local culture, taking part in seasonal rural activities and enjoying Cretan cuisine.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“not for the faint hearted”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

the paths are neglected and difficult to follow. it took us 8hrs to get up and back from the abandoned visitors centre and my husband is a mountain leader - thankfully

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank rika p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Greentour guided walk to Mount Ida (Psiloritis)”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This was definitely the highlight of our visit to Crete. We considered hiring a car and doing the walk ourselves but we decided to go with Greentour. Good decision. They were incredibly flexible, they agreed to take me and my wife to Mount Ida even though it wasn't on the schedule for the day.

James was our driver and guide. He picked us promptly from the hotel, helped us with kit (poles, etc) and proved to be both knowledgable and good company for the day. The drive itself was almost worth the fee. Beautiful views open up around every corner.

The walk is exhilarating. You will need boots, probably poles and a reasonable level of fitness. James was very considerate and matched his pace to ours. As we climbed, Griffon vultures wheeled above us and ravens and choughs could be seen. The views just got better as we got higher. There was time for a rest at the summit where there is an interesting church. There were views to both coasts.

Back at the starting point James provided a Greek salad. It was a brilliant day. We would highly recommend it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Go for it”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Reaching the top of the Psiloritis was my personal highlight in 2012. You do not have to be a sportsman to reach the top but you should dress with the suitable footwear.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MJAEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“literally in heaven”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Wow what a drive heading from panormo to mount ldi we were heading to the south coast but stopped off in some lovely villages for snacks. We did not attempt the walk up its serious hiking stuff, so we drove as far up as possible amazing views and the roads a bit scary we eventually got to Fotini beach to cool off.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Blackmaisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great summit to walk up to”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I made a 3 hours ascend to the top of the highest summit of Crete. This is a great excursion into a barren mountain landscape, even on hot summer days, because it gets cooler the higher you get. I booked a giuded tour with Greentour from Rethymno (Giampoudaki 11-17, Tel +30 2831020476, www.greentour.gr) and can highly recommend them.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nils A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Ida (Psiloritis) Tour With Green Tour also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Mount Ida (Psiloritis) Tour With Green Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing