We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful days in autumn”
other travellers have booked this property
The pool, the garden, the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The pool, the garden, the house
The groundfloor sitting-room, the dinnining area , the open-plan kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
The pool, the garden, the house
The groundfloor sitting-room, the dinnining area , the open-plan kitchen
The double-bed bedroom of the groundfloor with the en-suite bathroom/WC
The en-suite bathroom/WC to the previous bedroom
The second groundfloor bedroom
Another bathromm/WC of the ground floor
The veranda of the upper level; the view is majestic!
From the veranda you enter an independent bedroom with an en-suite bathroom/WC
The bathroom attached to the independet bedroom of the upper level
The veranda with the view again
The spacious main room of the upper level and the mazannine
The sitting under the attic;a wonderful view;the two sofas can accomodate two persons for sleeping
The two beds on the mezannine can be brought together
The bathroom/WC accessible from the main room of the upper level
The sitting corner of the upper level main room and the entrance to kitchen and bathroom/WC
The pool
The inner courtyard, the stairway to the upper level and the veranda
The inner courtyard
It's getting dark...beautiful!
Our village,  Gonia; the Skalidis house at the heyday
The main square , the church, the coffee-shop in the  shade of the huge tree
The old town of Rethymno, 9 km from our village. A public bus runs appr. every hour
An ottoman mosque on the venezian fortress of Rethymnon
The Preveli palm-beach, 28 km
Aghios Pavlos beach 30 km
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Klaus V
Witten, Germany
1 review
“wonderful days in autumn”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

After last year we spent again wonderful days in Gonia. The accommodation was very comfortable and cozy, the hosts as always very warmly. A right place for those who are looking for real cretan life. If you want good tipps for excursions ask Mr Skaldis. He is professionell Tour guide and knows the wonderful island very well. We felt very comfortable and at home again and wie plan to travel next year to Gonia.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky S
Woodford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Beautiful...”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I can honestly say that I did not want to leave - I had a tear in my eye as Konstantinos and his wife Fotini waved us off. We had an amazing 12 days in this villa - two families - 4 adults and youngsters ranging from 18 to 11.
We were greeted (at close to midnight) on our arrival by our hosts who were thoughtful enough to provide us with a very much appreciated light meal (and local wine). The villa suited us perfectly, it has been beautifully modernised whilst retaining a lot of character. The pool and gardens are immaculately kept by our hosts and are lit up at night with gourds decorated with coloured glass - just magical!
There is a gas barbeque in the courtyard and a larger coal barbeque in the garden area - the kitchen is also well stocked with plenty of crockery.
Our hosts were often on hand to answer any questions or give advice about local beaches and culture and also provided us with tomatoes and cucumbers from their garden which were perfect in a Greek salad.
There is a local café (good Greek coffee) and taverna within walking distance and a village shop which was able to provide most things to get you through (and also supplied bread better than most of the local bakers!)
I cannot recommend this villa and it's hosts highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, the location & tranquility
Liked least: That our holiday was not longer!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The combination of a lovely villa in a rural location - the real Crete.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jakub K
Darłowo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beatifull villa”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful villa. Very friendly and helpfull hosts. He gave us many ideas what
to see. Beatiful surroundings. Recommendable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and view.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyMannT...
2 reviews
“Ideal holiday villa for a family”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The property has absolutely everything we needed as an extended family of 8 staying on Crete. All modern conveniences and yet the historical character of the building shows through and makes for a much more interesting visit. The pool area is surrounded by citrus trees bringing welcome shade. The village of Gonia is rural and quiet, just how we hoped it would be. It has a well stocked village shop and an excellent taverna, both within easy walking distance of the house. We enjoyed excellent beaches nearby on both the north and south coasts.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus V
1 review
“a real place to relax”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The apartment is placed only 6 kilometers from the beach in the North, in a small village named Gonia. You can enjoy real greek life. The next bigger town Rethymnon, it
is about 8 kilometers away with a pretty old area. The apartment is renovated in greek style, beautiful and very comfortable. We felt very relaxed and enjoyed the view from the terrace over the beautiful landscape. Our host family was very open minded and gave us many tipps for our excursions. It is a very good place, where you can come to rest and forgot your daily routine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni...
Bergamo, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beatifully renovated cretan house”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We didn't quite expect it to offer so many amenities and were surpised by how well they have been integrated in such an old house. The decoration of the interior is reminiscent of Crete . We also made use of the pool in the garden, which is really nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing