We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Ranked #16 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Firstly, the location of the hotel is great, not in the busy town but not far from all the action. Plenty of caffes and tavernas around the hotel, I recommend Gavalas for something very very Cretan experience

The hotel itself is great, with nice decorations, close to a boutique hotel

Excellent service, from the parking guy up to the Guest Manager and General Manager. Friendly with kids, they have a club where our kids had fun, safe, they have a small water park.
Delicious food, try the Cretan table with local specialties.
Overall, wonderful vacation

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CostinMandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

A lovely welcome with fresh local orange juice and a quiet lounge before signing in. Good room with sea view and vista of the pool and surroundings. Room and balcony very nice but noisy from above ((clacking heels at all hours from a pair of young women)
The food (all buffet in the main dining room) was excellent and varied. 2 specialist restaurants available at extra cost. The dining experience was spoiled in our second week by various feral children who ran in and out of the tables yelling and dropping food-even kicking it about. No control by the parents. One child even brought a scooter to the dining room and zoomed around on that!! And no one seemed available to do anything about it, even though the very pleasant waiting staff were increasingly frustrated.The children even ran around shoutin through the evening entertainment. 'Child friendly' and how!!!

Room Tip: Top floor and sea view so you dont have anyone above to keep you awake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRJM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

It's not a complete 5 star hotel:
1. The rooms are not sound proof, you can hear everything from the outside or from the hallway.
2. The wifi is terrible, almost no connection at all.
3. The hotel can use some renovation (a good paint job).

For the rest:
1. The personel is great.
2. It's a child friendly hotel.
3. Nice garden, pool and beach.

It's a good hotel, but not 5 star.

Room Tip: Try the bungalow and the room. We heared it's less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pieter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My mum and I stayed here for a week in May and had a wonderful time! We arrived late on our first night to a lovely welcome (smiles, cold drink, hot towel) and were automatically upgraded to a junior suite with full sea view, followed by the offering of a late dinner in the restaurant. Great first impression.
The hotel rooms, foyer, pool and restaurants were all beautifully designed and the beach area was nice a clean with plenty of sun beds and a nice bar. The service was impeccable, nothing was too much for the staff, especially the reception staff and maître d's!
We were half board so ate breakfast and dinner in the Buffett restaurant which I was a bit dubious about but it exceeded my expectations. At breakfast there was a massive selection including smoothies, fruit, continental & Greek selection, cooked breakfast, pancakes, made to order omelettes which were all great quality, and the best bit....smoked salmon and bubbly every second day! Dinner was also exceptional with a great selection of different themed dishes each night including local specialities and freshly carved meats. Yum. The only aspect that could have been better were the desserts which mainly consisted of sponge gateaux's and fruit.
Entertainment wise I thought it was a bit dull but this could have been because it wasn't yet high season. Spa and fitness facilities were really nice.
The location is about a 45min walk from the Rethymnon harbour but there are bars and restaurants about 20mins walk away and taxi's only cost 7euros.
Lastly, I should mention there were hardly any other Brits in this hotel which was as shame as we didn't really meet anyone during our stay. The majority are young Russian families and older French and German couples.

All in all, we had a lovely stay and I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emmikinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Make you feel welcome from the time you arrive. Lovely staff which try very hard to do their best. Good selection of greek food. Very clean rooms and good entertainment. Real lovely for children. Beautiful beach and close enough to walk to Rethymnon. Will go there again.

Room Tip: Try for the seaview on the west side. There are some beautiful sun sets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hermann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Paid extra for sea view room and yes technically you can see the sea but only standing by the one-half of the patio door that isn't blocked off with a concrete wall or on the balcony. Our member of staff was supposed to check back with me after seeing whether they had a better room but never did. There is no bedside light on one side of the (double) bed. There are only two plug sockets in the entire room. It is a little tired (broken vent cover showing bare rough brickwork in the vent shaft in the lavatory) but clean. Altogether a disappointing beginning and not 5 star service. Also find it a bit disconcerting that there is no adequate mains sewage.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giorgos S, General Manager at Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear fibna,

my name is Giorgos Skoulaxinos, I am the General Manager of Grecotel Creta Palace.

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor, from which I understand that unfortunately you were not satisfied with your vacation at the hotel, especially with the room accommodation.
It is true that the sea view rooms in the main building do have a very nice view to the Cretan sea,
but of course this could be better if the balconies were built with glass front and not with the present construction, which is different due to the architectonic design.

It is our desire to comply with our clients wishes and additional needs (like extension for a plug socket, additional lamp or anything else the guest may wish), which cannot be found in the room.

We hope to be given the chance to prove that these incidents are not representative of our high quality service that has attracted many guests to return year-after-year.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again, please do not hesitate to contact me in advance at my email address georgios.skoulaxinos@grecotel.com, in order to assist you personally with any wishes you may have.


With best regards

Giorgos Skoulaxinos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The swimming pool is a reasonable size with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas available.

Breakfasts are the usual Greek fare but orange squash not fresh orange juice available. We didn't have meals at the hotel as we prefer to try different restaurants and there's plenty of choice nearby. We recommend Mr Gyros which is just across the road.

The beach is less than 5mins walk but as we hired a car we didn't use it although did walk down to have a look - very nice - plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas for hire.
A nice clean hotel in a central location which is good value for money. I would certainly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
1.8 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
2.6 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#11 of 175 in Rethymnon
956 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49.1 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,189 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
2,320 reviews
2.5 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 175 in Rethymnon
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel

Address: Missiria, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#3 Spa Hotel in Rethymnon
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#11 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#11 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#23 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: £102 - £645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Creta Palace Rethymnon
Hotel Grecotel Creta Palace
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing