We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, trying to offer something special and different”
Review of Baja Beach Club

Baja Beach Club
Ranked #14 of 73 things to do in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Baja Beach Club in Rethymno is a unique seafront complex located on the seafront of Platanias beach, in Crete.Baja Beach consists of an outstanding outdoor Beach Club and the luxurious Votsalo Restaurant.The visitors can relax, swim, slide, enjoy a variety of watersports offered or have a light lunch accompanied by fresh cocktails in the snack bar.As of this SUMMER 2014, a new feature will be brand new Gazebos that can be reserved in advance for unique privet beach-front experiences.Our cabanas feature power supply, free wifi, offering comfortable and offer comfortable and pleasant moments by the beach, whichever hours of the day the visitors choose to stay there.
Patras, Greece
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice, trying to offer something special and different”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Very nice place, only few kilometeres from the center of the city. Large parking lot however with almost no shade at all. Nice sun beds, either simple (3 Euros) or wooden with large pillows (5 Euros each offering water and not very big towels). You can also find large pillows to chill out or beds (rather expensive, 30 Euros). We visited the place several times, 5 or 6 if I remember correctly. The music was nice, but sometimes a bit loud. Coffee and drinks are of good quality. We also visited the restaurant which I would characterize decent, nothing really special and expensive thinking the quality of the dishes served. Kids loved the pools but when we visited the beach club during the weekend the pools were not clear because of the large number of visitors. On the whole, a good choice, however rather expensive for a family of 4. I can’t remember if they had lifeguards at the beach or the pools.
PS. A not so funny incident...some visitors had their own snacks while using the sun beds (which they had paid 10 Euros per couple) and the waiters told them that it was forbidden to eat them, which I found at least silly if not inappropriate...like there is a law or something.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BettyR951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baja R, General Manager at Baja Beach Club, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Betty R,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write this kind and thorough review for our Baja Beach Club.

We take our visitors' comments very seriously and would like to answer any questions, but most importantly get better according to your needs and requests.

We would like to inform you that there is always a lifeguard on duty, present on a daily basis during the operational hours of Baja Beach Club.

In regards to the incident you mention, for someone that was using the sunbeds, bringing their own snacks, we are very sorry if our Team member did not express politely. There is no law that forbids that. However our complex has a snack bar, a restaurant, a coffee shop as well as a number of waiters that are always available for bringing to the visitors whatever they wish.

Again, thank you for your review. We will be very pleased to welcome you and your family again and wish you a great summer time!

Warmest Regards

Yannis Siamitros - General Manager
Baja Beach Club & Votsalo Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    90
    39
    21
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place but...”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This place is very nice but it could be much more better. We have been there many times, last time in this summer Baja was not very clean, in the pool was lot of hairs and other debris and I told that to the stuff and they did not do nothing.
The beachside is very beautiful and there is many very nice place to relax, like large pillows and nice sun beds.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MaKri_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baja R, General Manager at Baja Beach Club, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear MaKri_11,

Thank you very much for choosing Baja Beach Club for your entertainment during your vacation and for taking the time to review our premises.

We appreciate your kind words for the beachside and we value your input and comments for the pool.

We would like to inform you that cleanliness is one of our most important goals and we have already taken all necessary measures so that such incidents will not happen again.

We wish you a nice summer time and hope to have the opportunity to offer you our services in the future.

Your Sincerely,

Yannis Siamitros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small paradise”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I have been there first day when I arrived in Crete. There are big sunbeds covered to keep you from the sun. You can sleep properly without burning, so calm an chilling place. And the service was great. The staff was so competent and friendly. The prices really good for this quality. The person who made it knows what does mean Details. For me this complex is a golden idea very well working. Of course I came back and bring some friends with me. All of them surprised positively.
Thanks Baja team for the great time!

Radi

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank radi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great fun”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

When it is windy in Rethymnon do not go to the beach- try to go to Baja. This place is ideal when you have children. There are two swimming pools and two water slides.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank toniadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ski, Norge
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

An awesome place just a few kilometers outside central Rethymnon, it`s not hard to find. On the beach you can choose different kind of sunbeds. You`ll get at very comfortable sunbed, umbrella, towel and a bottle of water for a few euro. There`s also cabanas, daybeds and beanbags at the beach. I think there`s an area of free sunbeds as well (?).

You can order food and drinks from the friendly crew at the beach, they`re never far away and are always helpful.

On the beach there are a lots of space and you can relax, it`s so much better staying here than the crowdy beaches outside the hotels. If you`re a tourist; rent a bike, grab a bus or a taxi and go to Baja instead - it`s so much more comfortable than the citybeaches. You even get free wifi on the entire area.

If you don`t want to stay at the beach, you can get a nice sunbed in the lovely garden. There are pools for kids and adults and two water slides. There`s a kids club as well. The beach is a bit rocky so with children the garden probably is a better option.

I`m very glad I found this place after spending the first two days of my vacation on the narrow, crowded beach outside the hotel! My best recommendation for all who visit Rethymnon and areas close by. This beach club is also a nice place in the evening. Check out their website, you`ll find a lot of information.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank raca1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baja Beach Club also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Baja Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing