We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Rethymno...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Achillion Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Achillion Palace
Ranked #43 of 167 Hotels in Rethymnon
Hoersholm, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Rethymno...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for four nights.

We arrived by car first of all, and there are no parking spots or carpark nearby - somehow, after unloading the luggage, we managed to find a spot for our car.

At check-in everything went fine, and the receptionist seemed nice and gave us the most necessary info at the time - we had arrived a bit too early for our room to be ready, but it was no problem at all, since we were just left to hang out at the pool on the roof (6th floor).

When we did get the key to the room (the old system with key and magnet for electricity), we went to the room only to find the floor in the bathroom extremely wet from the washing. Anyways, we unpacked, had a shower and returned to the swimming pool again for one of the nicest views of Rethymno city.

They have free wi-fi on all floors, but I only experience it as "unstable".
The pool area is basically never crowded, which is just fantastic! Including the great view from up there.

Breakfast is from 7:30 am till 10 am. It's not the typical I'm-never-gonna-eat-this breakfast, it's actually quite varied and good.

One REALLY annoying thing though is, the pool area is open from 8 am till 8 pm - the bar doesn't open before noon, and since they have this crappy rule about how you're not allowed to bring your own beverages and/or food to the pool area, don't go there until noon, or you'll dehydrate.

The cleaning is a bit so-so, since they keep washing the floor with half the Aegean ocean, so it's completely wet every time they're done in your room.

I'm not sure if I'll return again, because the selection of hotels is so wide in this area, but then again - if I need a good and quiet pool area with the best view, then I'll definitely come back!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frederik Alexan... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    110
    46
    14
    8
See reviews for
37
131
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed here for one week in July, and it was an average experience. Did not except a 4 star hotel even if they claim to be, 2* or 3* is more suitable.
Ok breakfast, with nice outdoor area on the positive side.
No view form hotelroom, and odd smell now and then from the bathroom. cental location to beach and old town is good.
All in all ok, and as expected.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trolljegeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We had booked a 7 night stay at the hotel thinking we had booked a sea view room.
On arriving at the hotel the staff were not at all welcoming, the hotel reception looked very dated & gloomy. We were given a key for room on 3rd floor & asked if it had a sea view,where told no sea view rooms available, but we went to have a look at the room anyway.
Not nice at all outlook at all onto old buildings, & an overgrown garden. Rooms very dated & could do with a good clean.
We returned back to reception & said we were not happy so they then gave us a key for room on 5th floor which said had a view if the port.
On taking a look at this room it was just as bad as the previous room.
We returned to reception & said we were not staying. This hotel is not a 4 star more like a 2 on a good day. We picked up our bags & left, staff did not seem shocked at us doing this. We found a fantastic hotel on sea front called Steris

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at the achillion palace:" a 4 star, recently renovated modern hotel, close to the centre of Rethymnon.." I don't know how this hotel can be classed as anything more than 2 star. The hotel is terrible, reception dark and dingy, one small lift for the full hotel, corridors to rooms are reminiscent of a scene from the shining: dark, old fashioned, dirty carpet, paintwork and walls in desperate need of renovating and a good clean. Our room, on the second floor, was the same, old fashioned, dirty, dingy, and again very much in need of renovation. The bathroom, was unbelievably bad! Smelly, dirty, rotting door, hand held shower which was held together with a piece of plastic, was worse I have ever seen. The hair dryer was like something from the 60 s that took forever to dry your hair, and burnt your hand whilst holding it. Our balcony overlooked rundown, scruffy buildings. We asked to be moved to a renovated room,( hotel is advertised as recently renovated) with a view over the garden . We were offered a room on the 5 th floor, next to the pump for the roof top pool, so was noisy most of the day, as we went in, the room stunk! , was even worse than the one we had, so we declined.
I know star ratings are worked out by facilities, this hotel had none! The roof top pool was small, dirty, not cleaned in the 10 days we were there, sun beds: there was 25 beds for a 72 double roomed hotel, so often people could not get one. The roof bar did not open till 12:30, so from 10:00 breakfast, you couldn't get even a bottle of water for 2 and a half hours! The bar downstairs was never open, so you couldn't get a drink in the hotel at all , likewise, you could get nothing to eat at all, apart from breakfast.
The only positive thing was its location, right next to the old town.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hartlepoolanonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its location, close to the beach and old town, although the view from the terrace was bad, as the hotel is facing a dusty street. Also most of the stuff are kind and professional, especially the girl at the reception and the man with glasses (I am sorry, but I don't know their names). The room was nothing special, but decent and cleaned daily, with air con which worked well. In fact, I must say that as our room is concerned the maids did the great job. The breakfast was more than adequate, with lots of variety to choose from.
As for the bad things, I would say that almost all of them have to do with the bathroom, which was extremely small. We didn't have hot water for two days (other guests told me that one day they didn't have water at all, luckily we spent that whole day in Chania). Our towels were not changed regulary, but again the maids were kind and always gave us the new towels, after asking for them. The worst thing was the behavior of the person working at the pool bar, who was extremely rude. Although we used pool area only for a few hours during our 10 days stay in the hotel, one day we were warned not to use separate sun umbrellas, although it was a plenty of them free, but instead to lie under one umbrella. What would happen if someone is in a single room? He/she could not use the umbrella at all.
All in all, I would not recommend this hotel, as it seems to me that for the price paid, you could get a much better acommodation in Rethymnon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belladona72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

This hotel is terrible; the reception/conceirge area is dark and dingy and old fashioned.

The lift is small and horrible.

The corridors to the rooms are dark patterned carpet and dark and dingy corridors.

On entering the room, we found the following:-
• Too hot – rubbish air con
• Terrible views (overlooking backs of tatty building sites)
• Dark old fashioned furniture
• Dirty looking beds/bed linen
• Bathroom small and very unwelcoming, peeling wood off bathroom door, yellow (AND I MEAN YELLOW) water when you run it. Dirty toilet, horrible shower over bath.
• The balcony was horrible and small with cheap plastic table and chairs and a bucket catching the drips of running water from the air con pipe.

Needless to say, we checked out after being there a couple of hours and glad we didn’t have to stay, however they still made us pay for one nights stay even though we didn’t even stay there for more than a few hours as it was so horrendous.

Just glad we didnt have to stay there for the 3 nights which we had booked.

This hotel is terrible.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire_daniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

This time we staid 14 days in Rethymnon and choosed this partly due to its good situation towards the old town - not too long from there where the main evening restaurants situate. Our room was on the 5th floor with a beautiful sea view. The room itself was not too big but we enjoyed it.
Lots of hotels were still closed during this period.
The hotel is clean and they changed the towels and cleaned the rooms every day.
The staff was very friendly.
The morning buffet was very good with many kinds of different things to eat.
During our stay the season had not started yet, which means that the beach was not open yet. Due to this we stayed a lot of time by the pool of the hotel and luckily we were the only persons to enjoy it. The pool is not big but big enough if you want to have a swim.

Room Tip: From the 5th floor you have a direct sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heikki m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Axos
Hotel Axos
#2 of 20 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.6 mi away
Minos Hotel
Minos Hotel
#23 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bio Suites Hotel
Bio Suites Hotel
#22 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence
0.5 mi away
Fortezza Hotel
Fortezza Hotel
#30 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achillion Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achillion Palace

Property: Achillion Palace
Address: 27 K Giamboudaki Str, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Achillion Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to ACHILLION PALACE, the most comfortable and friendly hotel in Rethymnon.It is situated in the most beautiful quarter of the city, just a breath away from the seafront and very close to the entrance to the old settlement, whose narrow streets lead to the imposing medieval castle and the picturesque Venetian port.Modern and well-organized, it perfectly blends unique comfort with the traditional Cretan hospitality and aspires to become the ideal base for your activities in the city or your escapes in the greater area.ACHILLION PALACE heartily welcomes you, ready to make your stay truly memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Achillion Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Achillion Palace Hotel Rethymnon
Achillion Palace Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing