We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in the center of old Rethymnon”
Review of Palazzo Rimondi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palazzo Rimondi
Ranked #63 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The building is beautiful, and the garden with the swimming pool is really nice. The hotel has two buildings, the new one across the street is actually much nicer than the old one (which surely has been a top place back in the 90s..). Personnel is really friendly and welcomes you with some grape jam and liquor while checking in. To be noted for sun lovers, there is a quiet sun terrasse on top of the old building with deckchairs. Nevertheless, you can see that the rooms in the old building need refreshment, despite the amazing balcony and view over the swimming pool. There is a small kitchenette that is actually absolutely useless in a city full of tavernas and coffee bars; and it takes a vital place that could serve the bathroom (which is really too small).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MIv78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Rimondi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

My wife and I spent a week at Palazzo Rimondi for an Easter Break (03-10/04/12). We stayed in the new Rimondi Estate Building opposite the orginal hotel. Very comfortable accommodation in a well-developed hotel design. Subtle but attentive Staff provided excellent advice and helped with our needs for both local and general holiday information; for eating locally and for tours in our hire car. Breakfasts taken outside in courtyard were tasty, well presented and delivered. The Hotel arranged for a Thai Massage for me and a pedicure for my wife in our room. Highly recommended as a base for an independent touring holiday in Crete - you can easily range to both extremes of the island and back in day.
Notable points : From our arrival Rethymnon reminded us of Venice - with narrow streets..only missing the water. Beware prices of fresh fish dishes at the "Venetian Harbour" restaurants - the food is excellent - but you will pay dearly for it. Advice is to get a quote before commitment - to avoid a shock at the end of the meal. Parking was found at the Old Town Car park - drive around the Fortezza and follow signs after passing the Dockside Car Park and bearing to the right (overnight guarded car parking costs about 10-12 Euros, where roadside parking could cost dear if you get side-swiped... which there was lots of evidence of). On the roads - best to quickly adopt the local custom of driving well to the right (half way over what looks like a "cycle lane") to help maintain good traffic flow and avoid becoming a victim of road rage, but keep an eye out for rocks fallen onto the side of the road, goats and cows (we saw the warning signs but the only actual sighting of a cow was on my dinner plate!).....

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kospegr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

lovely quiet hotel right in the center of the old town.warm ambience spacious well decorated room,friendly and helpfull personel....great breakfast.....

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peter866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

What a beautiful hotel. What a gorgeous room. Dramatic 2 story living room. And staff that tries to take care of your every need. And the location is in the middle of the old town, convenient to restaurants. And for Carneval (Rethymnon has the best Carneval in Crete), it was all only 2 blocks away, but my room was a quiet haven.

Room Tip: Room #1 on the new/luxury side has 2 story living room, and loft bedroom
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We spent three days at this hotel and found it very comfortable and the staff very friendly. It is located in the most interesting part of Rethymnon. If arriving by car, check ahead to see what street to park on since there is no parking right at the hotel (this did not prove to be a problem--the staff was very helpful in moving the car which we originally parked too far away).

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wvhhrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My wife and I ( both 60) enjoyed a very relaxing two week break in this Hotel late last month. The staff are very friendly and helpful and deserve the highest praise for the way they discharge their duties.

We would agree with the positive comments about the accommodation and the ones less so about the bathroom. Considering the general standard of the accommodation they did detract from the overall package of amenities.

The other point we would like to make is in realtion to the bedrooms in the original section of the hotel. When we booked we were not informed that the main living area would be on the same level as the entrance but the bedroom would be up some steepish wooden stairs.

This did not make any real difference to us but other travellers could find it difficult to negotiate.

Nevertheless, the overall setting, the above average breakfasts and especially the genuine friendliness of the staff amde us glad that we selected and booked this hotel.

Room Tip: See main comment about location of the bedroom in certain accommodation.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gallipoli007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed at Palazzo Rimondi on recommendation, and we weren't disappointed. The original part, where we stayed, is due for refurbishment this winter - although it is delightful as it is, it is probably due for one, although the only niggle I had was that the hairdryer hose was falling apart. The beds were very comfortable, which is unusual for Greece. We had a look in the new annex which opened this year and it is very stylish. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, especially Eleni and Ange, and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie5010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.0 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
636 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence
0.1 mi away
Antica Dimora Suites
Antica Dimora Suites
#37 of 175 in Rethymnon
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fortezza Hotel
Fortezza Hotel
#31 of 175 in Rethymnon
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#6 of 175 in Rethymnon
602 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#3 of 175 in Rethymnon
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Rimondi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Rimondi

Address: 21 Xanthoudidou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#31 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: £77 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Rimondi 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palazzo Rimondi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Rimondi Rethymnon
Palazzo Rimondi Hotel Rethymnon
Palazzo Rimondi Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing