We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic hotel, friendly and caring staff, a place with genuine integrity and a soul”
Review of Palazzo Rimondi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palazzo Rimondi
Ranked #59 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I cannot fault this hotel. I wanted to stay somewhere which felt like our own apartment, a place that was quirky, had character and reflected the Venetian Greek feel of the town. But it also had air-con, discreetly tucked in a corner. Perfect.

We, my wife and I, were not disappointed. The room was wonderfully appointed, clean and spacious, oooozing character. The courtyard entrance literally took my wife's breath away, it's little plunge pool reflecting back at you when you arrive and each time you pass through, or as you take in the myriad of features and sup your coffee or beer.

The staff are delightful. The perfect balance between accommodating, a genuine interest in us and our care BUT also able to judge the time to leave you to it. It is, after all, OUR holiday and they hosted us like a generous relative giving us the keys to their pride and joy of a home, rather than a hotel.

It's situation is perfect, amongst the windy streets and with many, many, many amazing restaurants just feet away.

Stay here. I would return time and time again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank st7ckolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

After staying a week at Palazzo Rimondi I was absolutely satisfied by my period there. Amazing hotel, accompanied with excellent services and hospitality, placed at the most beautiful place of Crete. Definitely worth the price. Thanks Palazzo Rimondi for the unique experience. Looking forward to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oretziol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I think the people who give this hotel a low mark just don't get it. This is one of the nicest places we've stayed and it really was a holiday.
We stayed in room 107 and loved the seating area, the bedroom was lovely and the balcony was a good size. The quality of the furniture was good and the room was kept very clean. It was also nice to get a fridge. The bathroom was a bit small though.
The staff make this hotel and especially Eleni, Maria and Angela (the red devil) made our stay fantastic.
The breakfast was nice and we made a couple of requests that Eleni helped with.
We would defiantly want to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: 107 was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 9RussellHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The combination of being situated in the absolute centre of Rethymno (3 mins away from the fountain), the cozy and quaint rooms, the courtyard with its unique atmosphere and the friendliest staff I've ever encountered resulted in an extraordinary stay.


If I am ever to return to Rethymno, I will not hesitate - even for a millisecond - to book Palazzo Rimondi yet again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kasdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Maybe just a bad room but this was the noisiest place we have stayed in. Not overlooking the pool but facing narrow backstreet busy all night with motorcycles and garbage bins. At the level this hotel should be at, shower was inadequate, others of our party had no hot water, breakfast was ordinary, pool looked grubby, and having been told laundry would be back by evening if lodged at breakfast - Wrong, which was really inconvenient. On the upside, greek hospitality as usual was excellent, friendly and charming. The Palazzo is located deep in tourist territory, but also in the heart of the old city, convenient to everything.

Room Tip: Maybe request a quiet room? And add to breakfast at many restaurants in the viscinity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellesay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We booked a special offer through their website so got a good price but would be very annoyed if we had paid full price (€120) for the "superior" room we were given.
Location is very good (in middle of old town laneways) and front desk service is friendly & efficient but the room was a massive disappointment.
Based on their website (and reviews here), I had planned on a quality, romantic hotel for our last night in Crete. Unfortunately the room was very tired, poorly designed & maintained (though clean).
Tiny, outdated bathroom with loose fittings, no fan, shower too small to turn or stand up straight in. 30yr old, tiny tube TV bracketed to the wall, with very little reception. We hadn't planned to use the kitchenette, luckily as again it is very tired, 30yr old appliances with a fridge that didn't work. Beds were very uncomfortable with 2ft thick, rock hard pillows.
I know this is standard in many places & I maybe should have asked but a hotel that specifically markets itself as romantic/boutique should offer the option of a double bed in your superior room, not too bloody singles with separate linen which you have to push together in order to sleep with your partner.
Also the room window overlooks the courtyard/pool which you might think is nice but you are literally feet away from the heads of people sitting in the courtyard so you can't really open your curtains/shutters. The people outside would be watching your staticy TV (and you getting changed, etc)!
Overall, due to the disappointing room which bore no resemblance to the rooms described/pictured on the website, this place is anything but boutique/romantic. I would equate the "superior" room to the private rooms you sometimes get in traveller hostels. Which is great for €30 a night but not if paying €100 for a boutique hotel room. I would not like to see a less "superior" room. If you get a 50% deal on their website as we did and realise what type of room you are getting, fine but don't expect luxury (maybe in their swankier sister hotel, Rimondi Estate, across the laneway). We were staying just one night but I would not have stayed longer in that room anyway.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank begley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We had a wonderful time, thanks for quality service and nice hospitality, we assure that this place is could be in top 5 "to do list". We can reccomend this lplace as a "must"..We will deffinately come again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ukircan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antica Dimora Suites
Antica Dimora Suites
#36 of 175 in Rethymnon
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fortezza Hotel
Fortezza Hotel
#33 of 175 in Rethymnon
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 175 in Rethymnon
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 175 in Rethymnon
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Rimondi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Rimondi

Address: 21 Xanthoudidou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#31 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: £83 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Rimondi 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo Rimondi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Rimondi Rethymnon
Palazzo Rimondi Hotel Rethymnon
Palazzo Rimondi Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing