We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Charm Suite and Oh-So-Rare Exquisite Personal Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avli Lounge Apartments
Ranked #2 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We were pleasantly surprised at the uniqueness and the charm of the suite at the beautiful boutique Avli hotel. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by hotel manager Thenassis who invited us to relax at the court yard with fresh squeezed orange juice while he checked us in. The personal service we received throughout our stay was exquisite. Their renowned Avli restaurant is anything but more than the excellent review we had heard prior to our arrival. Dining in the famous Avli court yard made the cuisine more savory. It is an experience every visitor to Crete should acquire. We would not hesitate to recommend Avli to our friends and relatives.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmoothJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2010

We came to Greece to get a break from German winter and enjoyed the warm weather in Crete. Avli turned out to be the perfect place for us as we were looking for a bit of luxury and personal service.
We received a very warm welcome from the owners and staff and got fantastic tour recommendations every morning. All in all, this is a place we can highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McMurphy_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

This gem of a hotel is buried in the charming, cultural heart of Rethymno. The AVLI caters to all the senses: beautifully decorated rooms with rich colors, tastefully designed patio with lush plants, charming music, and a fine restaurant offering some of the most tasty dishes Rethymno has to offer. The service was very accommodating, and it has a great location, although the entrance was a little tricky to find in the one way cobblestone streets only accessible via foot or bike. If you are looking for extreme luxury with all the amenities, this might not be the place... but if you are looking for a charming, authentic experience with great people, food, drinks, and music, this is your place. I think the photos I've attached tell a better story than I could ever write.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicktrujillo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2009

Very accommodating staff. After asking for a more comfortable mattress, the management had one put on the bed that day. Great location, in the heart of the ancient part of the city. Lack of elevator was no problem whatsoever. Management had our bags carried upstairs upon arrival and downstairs to our car upon ( a very early) departure.
Restaurant food and wine was most enjoyable. You won't feel isolated whether dining indoors or outdoors.
A car is a good idea to have in this part of the country.
A great pick.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TKlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank feliciahemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsgnr33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2008

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DREAMGIRLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.0 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 175 in Rethymnon
615 reviews
4.3 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 175 in Rethymnon
627 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#16 of 175 in Rethymnon
736 reviews
37.6 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avli Lounge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avli Lounge Apartments

Address: Xanthoudidou 22 & Radamanthios, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#4 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#5 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: £55 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avli Lounge Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small boutique - only ten suites - hotel in the middle of the old town of Rethymno. Each suite ranges from 375 sq.feet to 645 sq.feet and each is decorated differently using a color scheme. Two junior suites and one penthouse suite feature an open plan Jacuzzi tub inside the room and two junior and the two executive suites feature same Jacuzzi tub in a separate area. All suites are equipped with a refrigerator/mini bar, satellite TV, stereo, safe deposit box, internet access. The penthouse suite features two balconies, one executive suite features a Romeo&Juliet balcony and the second executive suite features one balcony. The building itself is a 15th-century Venetian mansion that was renovated in 2006. The suites are served by an award winning restaurant - considered one of the best in Greece - featuring a wine cellar with over 400 labels of wine and a courtyard where guests can enjoy their a la carte breakfast (included n the price of the suite). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Avli Lounge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avli Lounge Apartments Hotel Rethymnon
Avli Lounge Apartments Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing