We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B in beautiful Rethymno - management is excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avli Lounge Apartments
Ranked #2 of 177 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Avli for 5 nights on our honeymoon. The Avli is located in the heart of Rethymno, which is a beautiful town on the coast with pedestrian-only streets and tons of shopping, restaurants, and gelato! The Avli has its own restaurant (which is gorgeous!!!), and our room was in a separate building next to their wine shop. We stayed in the Champagne suite, which was beautiful and spacious and has a jacuzzi in the bathroom. A bottle of raki (made by Avli) was in the room waiting for us. The management was excellent - they helped us find a rental car to drive around Crete and made excellent suggestions regarding places to see. They are also very accommodating and make sure that their guests are happy. Breakfast at their restaurant every morning was also very good with plenty of options and fresh juice! I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buttercupjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2010

The Avli Lounge Apartments was our last stop prior to heading back to the US from our two week vacation in Greece. As this trip was my husband's first to Greece and my family is from Greece, I wanted to make sure that this vacation was as perfect as possible for him! Our stay at Avli was absolutely wonderful! Our room was beautiful & clean, the food at the renowned Avli restaurant was simply devine (there is no other word for it!), & the staff was unbelievably helpful to us. The hotel manager, Thanassis Frangidis, was so kind & helpful, offering us suggestions on local attractions that were must-sees! He also booked us a bus trip for the next morning for us to hike the Samaria Gorge, an absolute must-do if you're into hiking when you visit! If we had any questions or concerns, Thanassis took care of us! I simply just can't say enough about the amazing level of service that you'll receive if you stay here! On our last night, Thanassis was amazingly kind enough to allow us to stay in their penthouse suite, a charmingly romantic room! Everything about our stay here was first class, and I highly recommend the Avli Lounge Apartments, a beautiful trendy boutique hotel located in Crete.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ireneblanchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

My Wife and I went here for our honeymoon. This was our first island. After a long trip from Newark, NJ to Athens to Crete, we were invited with a warm welcome. After being dropped off, the hotel staff greeted us at the street and helped with the bags. We were offered refreshments before being led up to our room. We stayed in the Brown Suite which is located up 2 flight of stairs (no elevators). The rooms are wonderful. Very romantic and has a somewhat authentic touch. The only odd part of the room is that the shower/tub is in the bedroom. If you want to shower, you must do so in the middle of the bedroom. I guess this contributed to the romantic feel. The staff here is wonderful. You should note that they do NOT have a WIFI network in the hotel. I had my iphone and I could not access any wifi network. They have one computer in the main lobby which is usually not occupied but no wifi network. The manager did all that he could to help me with the wifi. That night, he invited my wife and I to have a drink with him at the restaurant. We sat and chatted with him for a good hour or two over complimentary wine and dessert. It was nice to see a manager that is so involved. His passion for taking care of the place was evident. If you are into Boutique hotels, this one is worth a try.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaiB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvliManager, Manager at Avli Lounge Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2010

We thank our guests for such positive and wonderful review of our establishment . A few clarifications.....The Shower/tub is actually an open plan Jacuzzi whirlpool Tub and it is placed inside the bedroom intentionally. Some guests may feel uncomfortable or find it odd and in rare cases we can accommodate in another suite, where the same Jacuzzi whirlpool tub is placed in a separate room (bathroom)

Regarding the WIFI comments we would like to explain that we have not been able to offer wireless connection due to the thick walls (9 feet thick) of our 15th century Venetian building. Our suites are wired and we offer free internet access by providing a wire or welcome them to access free internet and computer use in our reception area (the reason nobody used the computer is because it is dedicated to our guests) ...and yes there are no elevators by strict order of the Archaeology Department due to the antiquity of the building itself and- to preserve its authenticity.

Sincerely
Eva D.Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We can't say enough about the hospitality and quality of the Avli Apartments and Restaurant. We arrived after having a rough day travel-wise and found travel advice and sympathetic ears at the Avli. We stayed in a beautiful suite which mixed old world charm and ultra modern conveniences. The hotel and restaurant are right in the old city, exactly where we wanted to the be for late night and early morning strolls. Parking was a short walk away. The restaurant at Avli was the best meal we had on Crete and we would have gone back multiple times if we had had the time.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anitaesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We arrived late after ferry trip from Santorini and a long ride from Heraklion. We entered into the beautiful outdoor seating in the restaurant and proceeded to have a great meal. The management made us feel instantly at home, with very personal service. After a delicious meal we proceeded to the rooms.

Wow, one room was nicer than the next . We had the penthouse (brown room) with great decor and two balconies - one better suited for the morning and the other for the afternoon. The location in the old town was great, the manager was very helpful in planning our touring, and bottom line , this is one of the nicest small hotels we've ever stayed in. In out travels, it is onlyl exceeded by the Gritti Palace in Venice.

We can't wait to come back

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We were pleasantly surprised at the uniqueness and the charm of the suite at the beautiful boutique Avli hotel. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by hotel manager Thenassis who invited us to relax at the court yard with fresh squeezed orange juice while he checked us in. The personal service we received throughout our stay was exquisite. Their renowned Avli restaurant is anything but more than the excellent review we had heard prior to our arrival. Dining in the famous Avli court yard made the cuisine more savory. It is an experience every visitor to Crete should acquire. We would not hesitate to recommend Avli to our friends and relatives.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmoothJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We came to Greece to get a break from German winter and enjoyed the warm weather in Crete. Avli turned out to be the perfect place for us as we were looking for a bit of luxury and personal service.
We received a very warm welcome from the owners and staff and got fantastic tour recommendations every morning. All in all, this is a place we can highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McMurphy_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 177 in Rethymnon
657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 177 in Rethymnon
619 reviews
27.7 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#3 of 111 in Chania Town
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pepi Boutique Hotel
Pepi Boutique Hotel
#5 of 177 in Rethymnon
629 reviews
4.3 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
70.7 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avli Lounge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avli Lounge Apartments

Address: Xanthoudidou 22 & Radamanthios, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#4 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#5 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: £70 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avli Lounge Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small boutique - only ten suites - hotel in the middle of the old town of Rethymno. Each suite ranges from 375 sq.feet to 645 sq.feet and each is decorated differently using a color scheme. Two junior suites and one penthouse suite feature an open plan Jacuzzi tub inside the room and two junior and the two executive suites feature same Jacuzzi tub in a separate area. All suites are equipped with a refrigerator/mini bar, satellite TV, stereo, safe deposit box, internet access. The penthouse suite features two balconies, one executive suite features a Romeo&Juliet balcony and the second executive suite features one balcony. The building itself is a 15th-century Venetian mansion that was renovated in 2006. The suites are served by an award winning restaurant - considered one of the best in Greece - featuring a wine cellar with over 400 labels of wine and a courtyard where guests can enjoy their a la carte breakfast (included n the price of the suite). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avli Lounge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avli Lounge Apartments Hotel Rethymnon
Avli Lounge Apartments Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing